We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for beach and sun holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eri Beach & Village
Ranked #139 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed there with my sister for the typical beach/sun holidays, and for that purpose it was very good. We had a special offer, so we didn't pay much for the trip.
The hotel is located next to the beach and the 3 pools are very cool. For other purpose, I'd say that the location is not that good, because it takes a long time to travel to the points of interest.
The food quality was very poor, but I'm afraid that's often the case in that kind of All Inclusive hotel. It's possible to ask for a take away lunch, but it's simply terrible.
The rooms were good, pretty clean, but nothing incredible. The staff was friendly when you were nice to them.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank odalys48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 729 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

Been to Eri Beach June 2010. Weather was over 40 whole week and if you're lazy at such a heat, just use one of the 4 pools that hotel offers: non-salted water for children and 3 others with sea water. Cleaned every day and always plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds for everyone, even if hotel is totally full.

Don't be scared of terrified rewievs by others given earlier -- just be prepared for a 3*-hotel level and don't expect marmor baths :) Staff yes, doesn't speak fluent english but try to help you anyway.

Rooms do look a bit old-fashioned, old TV with few channels and empty minibar -- just for your comfirt if you want to keep smth cool of your own food. Bathroom is shabby indeed and looked as renovation was made switly just 30 min before our check-in: pains on the ceeling and shower head was nowehere to set exept tub floor. But -- view at the sea+own balcony is good .
Towels changed and sink-floors tried to be cleaned as much as maids could.

Food is enough, breakfast, lunch, coffee-break and dinner is enought to get you by the end of vacation few kg! Yes, people tend to arrive to restaurant door just on time to get mostly fresh fruits and hot meals, but assure you -- everyone will eat. In AI package drinks were included for free (till 23) .

Drawbacks:
1. No entertainment -- any entertainment on Eri beach territory is a music at pool-bars, TV for men and couple of billiard tables.
If you want a disco - go to nearest Star Beach, but prepare to pay about 6 EUR for entrance per each visitor. Securoty guides - so don't be caught while trying to sneak for free :P If you want water sports - buy ticket at Star beach again.
2. Beach has VERY short and narrow sand line: mostly everyone just lays on sunbeds and jumps straight to the sea from the hotel wall or goes to the only acceptable entrance: stairs to open sea.
3. As hotel is distant from the capital and in a 10-15 min walking distance you can walk along trading street nearby + parallel to it by seaside. Well, typical souvenir-shops, (cheap!), bars, restaurants, cafe's, plenty of fur shops (!) and one supermarket in the end.

In general, if you want just to get sun, sea, food and won't be very picky- have a go.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

again we were one of the many english families who had booked the eri sun village for the slides for our five year old daughter, told approx 3 week before travellering that hotel not open(reading trip advisor it has never been open). yes room was cleaned every day in a fashion. food awful we ended up eating out for our daughter, food not suitable for children (who eats cake for breakfast). no entertainment. we had to pay to use the star beach facilities which is why we booked the sun village. noise from star beach not so the music but the swearing, must say rep really good. hotel 4 star rating dont think so. pleased to see not in first choice brouchure for next year. spoilt what could of been a good holiday

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our holiday accomodation got changed from Eri village(closed down) to Eri beach, we find it very nice, rooms were clean and the staff we found very friendly, they don't speak much english at all, the food was fine, we have a a 5 year old and 11 year old, and both quite fussy, and they both found something to eat, my 5 year old loved breakfast little hot dogs and cake, she was happy, the free drinks are only beer not bad wine, not drink able, and ouzo and raki, no vodka or other drinks, only from a beach bar and you had to pay for them, we like the pools, freewater pool the kids didn't like as too salty, but rest were fine. All in all we had a good time, there is a waterpark next door which we told was free as we had booked it with our other hotel, however, it is FREE to walk in but to go on any rides to have to get a band and it costs 10 euro's each per day and 4 euros for sun lounger and 3 euro's for umbrella, so we didn't bother and stayed in the hotel pool.

Never went to the entertaiment as all in german, if you are going like us just for a rest to spend on your own, and when the kids go to sleep early just chil on the balcony, this would be for you, it you are looking for kids entertainment during the day and night, this wouldn't be for you.

hope this helps

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-Still
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was the first hotel I booked without consulting tripadvisor before hand., That was a big mistake!
It is by no means a four star hotel by the standards I am used to. First of all, the doorknob came off in my hand when I entered the room. The sheets were too short for the bed exposing a moldy dirty mattress. The bed was never made properly. The bottom sheet was placed leaving me to put the top sheet and cover blanket every night. The towels were old and stained. The sink had a back run of water flooding the top sink area every time it was used.
The elevator ran only to the second floor which meant we had to walk up two flights of stairs to our floor. What made matters worse was the elevator did not always work and there was no light in the staircase. When we informed the receptionist of this being a dangerous situation especially having two children with us, the woman behind the desk offered to buy us a cigarette lighter to use.
The worst part was the slop they passed off for food. INEDIBLE, We took the all inclusive package and ended up eating out everyday every meal. Even Breakfast! The beverages were greek knock offs of coca cola and sprite. They were so bad my girls refused to drink them. Having to get up and refill the tiny glass they offer was annoying as well.
After our first day at the hotel restaurant we ever ate there again. Many other guests complained of the same situations as we did. Eating out in Greece, we later found out is cheap and plentiful. I would not recommend the meal plan at all!
The entertainment was scarce and we did not enjoy being in this resort . Luckily we rented a car and travelled on our own. We found beautiful beaches with deep blue waters, lovely little towns and even took a ferry over to Chrissy island. Had we stayed in this hotel we would have come home with an awful impression of Crete.
The one good thing I can say is the pools are enormous and well kept. They also enjoy a strategic location overlooking the beach. But, that alone is not a reason to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brooklyn310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We booked this holiday as a part of a package which was advertised as a 4* all inclusive on Opodo.com. The main reason for selecting this particular deal was that the accommodation consisted of a two-bedroom garden apartment whichprovide space for myself, my husband and 5-year old daughter.

We arrived late at night and when we were shown to a room with hole punched in the wall and the curain lying on the floor. We refused to stay in this room as it looked like a prison cell. We were then shown to another equally dreary apartment (outside area looked directly on to a 6ft grass bank littered with rubbish, the air conditioner was only in the "kitchen" area, the towels were worn, the furnishings were straight from the 70's...).

We were moved to a room above ground level the next day but it was as shabby as the first but at least we had daylight.

We have not been on an All Inclsive holiday before so we were expecting to line up for buffet style servicemfor our meals. In the case of the Eri Beach hotel, the whole process was akin to a canteen in the former Soviet Union. It was impossible to have a meal together as a family as the "restaurant" was heaving with people all in line to get food which would frequently run out. The food rarely varied and was bland in flavour. By the end of day 3, we ate out every lunch and evening try and achieve some sense of relaxation and enjoyment.
The swimming pools were lovely with plenty of sun loungers, although the very loud music at one poolside bar was quite intrusive. The whole hotel had a down-market feel:so we frequented the pool at Star Beach.
I am so annoyed that this hotel is advertised widely on the web as a 4* establishment as it did not even meet 2* standards.
Based on this experience, I would never go to Opodo to book a holiday, and never visit Crete again as you do not get what you are expecting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susannewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Went to this Hotel with Olympic Holidays....never going with them again....Only good thing about the Hotel is the Pools, there are three of them and are cleaned daily so thats good.
Clientele-Every nationality except British- so no chance of conversation or getting to know people.
Holiday Rep - worst one we have ever met - not interested, never around, saw him once in a fortnight, Didnt turn up to inform us of our departure times..left a typed sheet in the company folder with wrong information about place of pick up...letter of complaint going in about him.
Food - Not too bad but most of it on floor in Restaurant due to greedy people piling up their plates after pushing in front of everyone ahead of them..
Rooms - Okay, but very basic - towels changed and sheets changed on a daily basis by the maids
Entertainment - Dreadful, non existent - In a fortnight there was 1 night which was a Greek night.
Only good thing to say was at least we only went for a fortnight and the weather was great

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanH027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 172 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#62 of 172 in Hersonissos
580 reviews
18.5 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Diogenis Blue Palace
Diogenis Blue Palace
#13 of 36 in Kato Gouves
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#81 of 172 in Hersonissos
845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#40 of 58 in Heraklion
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eri Beach & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eri Beach & Village

Address: Beachfront, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $78 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eri Beach & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 769
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eri Beach & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eri Beach & Village Hotel Chersonisos
Eri Beach And Village
Eri Beach Village Hersonissos
Eri Beach Creta
Eri Beach Hersonissos
Eri Beach & Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing