We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
uoblacima
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Excellent! Everything! The staff frendly, room super, food great! Room is not "design" room, but is comfortable. Pool is great, and there is always something fun for kids to do with animators. Tip: rent a car or a motor bike, there are beautifull beaches around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jelenauoblacima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    305
    91
    22
    10
See reviews for
425
407
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This review is a little late as I stayed here with my family from 31st July to 13th August. However I feel that I have to share my opinion on this hotel. Firstly we stayed in a suite room which was well equipped and spacious. There were two single beds, one double bed, a modern bathroom, lots of storage space and a TV. There was also a patio outside room as we were on ground floor, with a table and chairs. The maids came everyday and did a good job keeping our room spotless. Now onto the pools. On the first day we we went to the fun pool which is basically a smaller version of the main pool and has two additional slides for kids. This pool was ok but for the rest of the holiday we stayed at the main pool because that was where activities were going on with the animation team + the pool was much bigger! I have to say the pools were the cleanest I have ever been in on holiday and it didn't feel crowded at any time during our stay. The animation team was amazing and worked so hard. The buffet was very good, with decent choice of salads, breads, main meals and desserts to choose from. My favourite was having those yummy pancakes for breakfast each morning. I also like the fact that they had fresh fruit available with every meal including, watermelon, pineapple and melon. There was a rule that sunloungers were not allowed to be reserved but everyone did it anyway and we always got one by reserving in the morning before breakfast. The one niggle I had though is that they should provide more sunbeds as there didn't seem to be enough for everyone. Overall this is a lovely hotel in Crete and I recommend it a lot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynseysana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights on an all inclusive deal, two adults and a 15 yr old daughter. Staff were beyond helpful without being nauseating, hotel and our room were spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 1004 by the quiet pool area. True in other reviews that by 9am all or at least most sun loungers were taken but to be honest on day two we did the same, got up and put our towels on the sun beds before 8am...no one else seemed to abide by the rule if not reserving them so neither did we!
The main pool is busy but great for kids etc, animation team work very hard. Top pool was our late find! Yes there is a shirt hill up, very short! You'd need to be really unfit not to be able to make it up to there to be honest. The dining experience overall was superb! Something for everyone. The only moaners we heard were the good old Brits!! Not enough of a fry up was a regular complaint...although I don't get why you would travel to Crete to eat a fry up on holiday when there were so many other foods available. So all inclusive finishes at 10pm, late enough for us being on holiday and getting up early to investigate the beautiful country we were visiting.
Cannot find fault with this hotel in any way shape or form. The staff again were amazing! Left or right out of the resort gives you touristy things to do, and the little shops in the town itself are fine for buying local gifts. Head down to the harbour area, great little finds down there, oh and the happy train! Well worth the 20 euros!! Would definitely stay here again, no shadow of a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Loves-loch-ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Myself and five friends stayed here in August 2013. From start to finish the staff were all very friendly and kind. The service was fantastic. Especially the restaurant staff. The food was to die for, such a high standard which was unexpected for a buffet. (especially the deserts) The rooms were simple but of a high quality. It was a short walk to Stalis, and we went most days/evenings. You can also walk to hersonissos which is half an hour. You can also get a taxi to malia for a cheap price if you want a more lively night life. But the hotel is also on a bus route so is easy to get around. There is two shops on site, a convience store and a jewellry shop. Everything you could possibly want is in walking distance. It's a beautiful hotel in an amazing part of crete!!!!

Room Tip: If you don't want to keep walking up the hill, request a low numbered room. (However the ones hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SNH1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here 5th October to the 19th October. The hotel staff lovely especially Nicki on reception, Vagellio, Maria and the male front men in the restaurant. Food was of a high quality and varied (I agree could have been hotter at times), but we were pleased with the choice. Fell in love with their honey pastries. Room very clean with comfortable mattresses. Bed linen and towels good quality. Enjoyed the professional greek dance troupe. My concern was as we had travelled out for my 70th birthday I was under the impression that the animation team finished at the end of September. I do not know if I was wrong or they were kept on longer because the hotel was pretty busy. When we arrived I was glad that as requested they had given us a room near the main complex. Unfortunately, room421 was in direct line to the animation team's loud speaker. It was louder in our room than by the pool. In desperation went to the small pool (only place no music) and found every lounger not all occupied but TOWELLED !!!!!!!!!! there was music everywhere. the slide pool, the pool bar and somewhere up at the top all competing and losing against the main loudspeaker. I felt we could not ask to move as they had given us a lower room. First two days we meandered around Stalis drinking large beers. After two days gave up and put towels on loungers before breakfast (only sunbathed 2 hours) and asked Luca to turn the volume down a little which he did. My point is that small quiet area was so popular that other people without children did not like the noise either. It was easier after 5 days as the volume of guest went down quite quickly. In fact the animation finished whilst we were there. A great place for holidaying with children. Excellent local cheap air conditioned bus service, Just make sure the bus driver knows that you want to board!

Room Tip: Over looking small leisure pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a couple we had a wonderful stay at The Grand, could not fault the accommodation, food or staff. Great variety of food, if we wanted a change we went out to the many and varied restaurants.
Our only bug bear (we stayed 1st October to 15th October) we could not get a sunbed for love nor money. Some strange people, even though there are signs saying not to reserve, had their little towels out even before 0730hrs. Some even spent a whole day out and came back to their sunbeds at 5pm and just picked them up. So I think come on guests be decent and share.
I had a holiday with only half an hour twice on a sunbed in the sun in the whole two weeks of staying their. So I think the hotel should say if not on the bed, towel goes in the pool.
Apart from the selfish people we had a great time, and unfortunately stayed away from the hotel apart from meals due to the customers.
Would recommend hotel but to get up at 6am if you want to sit by pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have a fantastic 14 days holiday in this hotel from the 4th of August. We have all inclusive. It was first travel of my daughter and I am very thankful for the personal of the hotel for all the impressions that we have there.
The rooms and the territory were very clean. And the water park was also of great value. It was the favorite place of my daughter.

The food was perfect and we never find a problem to sit in a good place during our breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The hotel is situated in a very good place. It took us 15 minutes to go to Stalis and 25-30 minutes to go to Hersonissos.

We also have some excursions to Samaria, Santorini and Spinalonga island. We bought them in the tourism agency in Hersonissos. And we went to Agios Nickolaos by bus. It took us about 40 minutes. It‘s very beautiful place and you need to see it. The bus station is near the hotel.

We are planning to return next year.

Room Tip: Our room was 314 and it was perfect....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dince2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,752 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#11 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#22 of 171 in Hersonissos
677 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Holiday Resort

Property: Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
Address: L. Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#34 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Holiday Chersonisos
Grand Resort Holiday
Grand Hotel Crete
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing