We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saradari - a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saradari Apartments
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Just got back from another amazing 2 weeks at the Saradari Apartments. They are the friendliest little apartments in Crete, and it's all thanks to Stavros and his lovely family.

If you want 4 star luxury then these apartments are not for you, but if you want typically Greek apartments, set among beautiful gardens, with an amazing view of the sea from the upstairs apartments then, like me, you will love the Saradari.

Stavros works really hard to ensure that all his guests are well cared for. You come a stranger, but you leave a friend, You know the way in big impersonal hotels, you are just a room number, well that';s not the case in the Saradari. Stavros will know your name and make you feel like you are a friend - not just a guest.

His wife Ellie works very hard cleaning all the rooms every day, except Sundays, and they are
spotless. Sheets and towels are changed twice a week.

A large percentage of people who visit the Saradari return many times, so that says it all.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonne084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 203 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We arrived late and were greeted by Stavros who gave us bottled water and showed us to our room. All was fine, we felt a little deflated because of the rave reviews we'd read (I'd built it up in my mind to be something palacial) but it was clean and you dont intend spending much time in the room anyway, the rooms are relatively spacious except the bathroom, you can literally pee, shower and shave at the same time (you'll see what i mean when you get there) Hot water is hit and miss so shower when you can, we boiled the kettle at times and threw mugs of water over ourselves to wash.
We had a flood due to the rain so stavros quickly moved us, unfortunately it was to a ground floor room so we lost our view and couldn't keep our patio door open because the cats all came in, the room was absolutely freezing at night but we'd brought the blanket down from upstairs so we had 2. literally if you opened the door it was warmer outside. In the summer that would be fine but radiators should be supplied for the October bookings.
I think if you want a lazy holiday where you want a base and nearby beach its fine, or if you're the type to mingle around the small bar with other holiday makers and a pleasent Greek family then you'll enjoy it too. its lovely and quiet, we didn't have brilliant weather so that didn't help.
For the money we paid it was fine, when booking think of the amount you are paying and be realistic about what you will get for it, that way you wont be disappointed.
I dont want to dog the place, it just wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Top floor so the cats can't get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Checked around the internet and stumbled upon the Saradari Apartments. First attraction was the pictures and second was the amount of great reviews so there is was, SOLD.

Spent a week here with my partner in early October and no complaints. Just smiles, good chill and good memories of a boss holiday in a quaint, great, well run, friendly apartment complex.

Beaches a 5 or 15 minute walk depending which one you choose if you decide to leave poolside.

Supermarkets, shopping and restaurants are also 5 or 15 minutes with plenty to choose from in town itself. Alternately Stavros plates up some quality grub at the poolside bar be it breakfast, lunch or tea alongside great coffee.

The apartments are clean, airy (Eli does a mighty job keeping them fresh) secure and well equipped. Suitable for couples with or without one or two children.

Nothing is too much trouble for Stavros be it waiting up for your arrival, manning the bar until daft o'clock, arising to ensure you've the cooked breakfast option and more. In the back ground Eli is quietly working away looking after the apartments and never disturbs. Not forgetting them both being mum & dad to Eleni and Ardi who also add character to this impressive family run complex.

So a big thanks to the Saradari and Stavros, Eli, Eleni, Ardi xx. We could possibly see you again.

Also hello to the Bredy61 twins, it was great to meet poolside and share chat over food, drinks & sunshine. Sorry to hear of the scare on your flight back but I’m sure Stav and Eli made it all that more bearable for you both. All the best to ya xx

N&D

Room Tip: Two adults plus one or two small/young children max per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I found these apartments through Tripadvisor and I can't tell you how glad I am - it was the right choice.

Plenty has already been said on here about Stavros and his family and I reiterate all of the nice things that have been said - Stavros sorted out my car hire, was always on hand to produce a snack and one night we were even invited to the birthday party (and dinner) of their daughter - with their Greek friends and a two other guests (Sharon and Karen).

All in all, a fabulous time (apart from one day of torrential rain), will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHughes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Karen and I had such a great holiday in June we came back for October....and another great holiday ensued... On our penultimate day Stavros rang our transport company and was told the flight home the next day had been cancelled due to 48hrs of Greek Strikes... A frantic three hours were fought by Karen to sort things out in which we told the only flight back was a week later...Stavros was an absolute star !!! Very supportive with his " Don't worry Karen you can stay here and I will drive you to get food " and "Don't worry Karen, have a coffee "....foned the Insurance Company and they said it'll be ok keep all your receipts!!! bargain we thought a free week on the insurance!!! Next morning yet again Stavros helped us out when the news reached us that the flight maybe on again and our insurance wouldn't cover us if we stayed (no contact from Travel Republic or Easyjet to let us know!!!). On the flight back fifty people were missing, obviously not been told by their reps, apartments, hotels...all thinking they'll be covered by insurance, only to find that they will be out of a huge amount of money!!!

When the weather was bad Stavros went shopping.... for more beer and food !!! He couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a good holiday regardless of the weather.... and always stayed up to welcome new arrivals and offer them hot food and water.... OH YEH and blankets !!! Stavros and Eli would offer to shop for people as the local shop was shut and would ask what we wanted to eat each night if we were staying on site !!!

On 18th Oct little Eleni was six and the two couples who were left Karen and I and Liz and Mike were invited to her birthday party !!! Stavros cooked a wonderful meal for about twenty people and refused to charge any of us holiday makers a penny as we were guests (so we made up for it by helping him and Eli clear up !!!) Two new people arrived in the middle of the party and Stavros jumped up sorted them out cooked them food gave them beer and welcomed them to join the party

So the ONLY issues with the holiday were the Flight issues and the UNSEASONABLY (The locals had not seen anything like it in seventeen years!!!) bad rain and wind...first four days a wash out.... then three lovely days of sunbathing..... one day overcast and showers and the next rained (poured, tipped down, persisted down) all day... three couples left at the complex all of us ushered in to the bar by Stavros who pumped up the heating and served beer and food all night....
Stavros, Eli, Eleni and Ardi....we love you and see you June 20th 2012 for two weeks xxx

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bredy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Firstly just want to reiterate the reviews already given (the good ones that is). This place is lovely we had an upstairs apartment with views over the lovely garden, trees, pool and the blue sea on the horizen. Secondly this place wouldn't be as nice as it is without Stavro and Eli who look after them and anyone that stays there. They are so kind, when our flight was late and we arrived nearly 2 hours late (1.30am) he was waiting up for us and even offered to cook us something to eat. We are going back in April next year and can't wait.
If you go between now and April - please feed the cats!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

From start to finish Stavros and his family made us feel completely at home. The room was clean, tidy and well equipped. View from our room was great, with surrounding trees and flowers in bloom. We would highly recommend Saradari for a lovely peaceful break. Thank you Stavros!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.5 mi away
Acropolis Apartments
Acropolis Apartments
#61 of 174 in Hersonissos
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#16 of 174 in Hersonissos
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
603 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saradari Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saradari Apartments

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#22 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $101 - $1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saradari Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saradari apartments is a small and friendly property. Surrounded by a colorful garden and with a great sea view, it's an ideal place for guests who want to relax. It's situated 800m from the resort center of Hersonissos and just 150m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saradari Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saradari Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Saradari Hotel Hersonissos
Saradari Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing