We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mostly good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Village
Ranked #57 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
blackpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“mostly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at sunshine village from 25/06/13 to 09/07/13 with my 19yr old son. We were pleasantly surprised to find 2 salads in our fridge on arrival(approx 10pm).Our apartment was clean and functional with minature toiletries in bathroom to start us off!However, no glasses in kitchen cuboard which I remedied by taking 2 the following morning at breakfast.Food was adequate but there was always rolls and salad, staff appeared reluctant to replenish food that had been used up.I would describe this hotel as low key all inclusive in that its not all entertainment from morning to night,this suited us as we went for a nice rest!I was a bit worried about going there as I had read some worrying reviews but feel that we paid a fair price for what we got! On the whole the staff were lovely and they all work very hard.It did niggle me having to pay for air con when we were all inclusive but to be fair the brochure(first choice) did say air con was not included.The hotel is situated up a steep hill so is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irishmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    99
    58
    12
    12
See reviews for
115
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from here after spending a week at this resort and we have few complaints. We booked this holiday as a last minute deal to celebrate recently becoming engaged we had read previous reviews and decided to reserve judgement.

Firstly yes the resort is up a big steep hill however this fact wasn't hidden and we knew this before booking it so we don't get why people are complaining about it??? That's where the resort is
,deal with it or book elsewhere??!! We didn't venture out of the resort as we had been to Crete numerous times and we were there to relax rather than sight see in the blistering heat!! The advantage of being situated on a hill is that you get a nice breeze during the day, the staff are friendly and attend to your every need,animation man is great, he's a one man band and works very hard everyday to ensure guests are happy. The rooms are basic but cleaned everyday and are very spacious. We had welcome sandwiches and apples in our fridge waiting for us when we arrived at 4am which was nice as we wasn't expecting anything. The beds were.....well beds?!! its not as comfortable as my bed at home however what did i expect!! people that moan about beds and whether they have bottled water waiting for them on arrival and a kettle in there room are ridiculous! who cares???!!!!! The shower gave out hot water also!, The pool is cleaned on a daily basis and there are always available sun loungers ( that are comfortable and not cheap nasty plastic ones that burn you as soon as you sit down!) the food was nice always something different to chose from.

Negatives- the all inclusive times are 10am-10pm and the entertainment starts usually at 10pm so to avoid having to pay for drinks line as many drinks up as you can before 10pm! They don't limit you on how many drinks you can take back to your table like some places do.

There isn't entertainment every night as the poor bloke needs a rest! There is a Greek night however this is at another resort an hour away ( walking) and you pay for everything once you are there, so to me this defeats the object of going to an all inclusive so we didn't go however people that went said it was a great night if you fancy a change form the resort.

The entertainment when it was on isn't really aimed at children ( which was perfect for us as we didn't have any) I think children could become bored very easily staying here however down at the bottom of the hill there is shops,gorgeous beach,water park.

On a our last day a couples suitcase was ransacked and items were stolen, our luggage was kept in the luggage room just outside of reception with there's however it isn't locked and our luggage had been in there all day ! thankfully nothing had been stolen from ours, although they still didn't lock the room for at least another hour after the incident had happened!!! The police got involved however no further investigations were made.

I am hoping this was just an isolated incident and a lesson learnt for the hotel as overall it was a great holiday we met some lovely people and I won mrs sunshine! This was the funniest night! But I would say for adults only as the things I had to do to win my title wasn't suitable for child viewing! Another positive is that we checked out at 9.30am however wasn't getting picked up until 11.15pm that evening and we were able to keep our wrist bands on until we left, at some all inclusive resorts once you have checked out that's it you pay for your own meals and drinks until you get picked up. As we were leaving the resort we were informed it was now full and we were unable to keep our room on until 6pm ( at a small charge which we knew about) so to be fair it can't be that bad!

We would go again.

Hope this helps

Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms have similar lay out our room was 301 and we had a beautiful view however you get beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife an I have just returned from a week at this hotel. We had a fantastic stay. The service was excellent. The staff made a great effort and were very friendly. We especially enjoyed the animations.The gentleman responsible works very hard to include everyone. We were regularly playing water polo, darts and table tennis followed by five a-side football every evening.The food was good with home cooked chips served most evenings with a array of different foods every evening.The hotel served ice cream every day. In general we had a fantastic holiday and intend to return.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito spray. The mosquitos are a common problem in the evenings in Crete in general. No fau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daithi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

After reading some reviews I did have reservations about coming here, however the staff are brilliant, rooms are basic but clean and functional, the salads are fantastic and whilst not everything on offer is to my personal taste I have not gone hungry as there is always a good choice. For value for money you couldn't ask for more and yes it is up a steep hill but there is a free mini bus or taxis if you don't fancy the walk. It's not a five star resort but then it's not claiming to be, I would have no hesitation in recommending a holiday to Sunshine Village if you are looking for a low key relaxing time in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

first of all i would like to start by saying this hotel was better than i expected we are well travelled and experienced a fare few all inclusive hotels and i have to say that dispite the reviews that other people have posted about this hotel the staff were great (nicos yammis) manager and head barman made our stay all the better
would like to thank zalt animation guy as he was fantastic as he entertained my 11 year old son for the week we stayed and gave me and the wife time out alone
food was great no complaints never served the same food twice fresh bread every day
pool clean beer good very relaxing holiday
would return
apartment very big and clean
only problem was some guests spent all there time complaining about everthing and we had to listen to it for a few days we had a great time and got to know some great people on our stay
we thank you emma jay and lucas for a fantastic holiday
see you soon xxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 115jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked an all inclusive 8-day vacation for a family of 5 (12m, 15f, 22m, 22m, 49f) via Expedia. Arrived June 21 early in the morning. Already disappointed looking out of the bus window as it was approaching the steep hill - could be seen we are getting further and further away from the sea. Upon arriving we had to wait (which is normal) as we took a night flight. In the meantime we had breakfast that we all liked. All dishes were a bit dirty but OK, we have good stomach, we would survive. Quite soon they told us our room was ready to move in - they surprised us and we were happy to grab our luggage and move in so early. Reception staff was really nice. The real shock was when we entered the room. It is like summer camps in the 1970's when I was a child and went to campling-like places with our teenage peers. But this is a 4-star hotel... or said to be. Based on the photos you would never guess what you get. An apartment of 2 adjoining rooms, one of which is the hall and the kitchenette at the same time plus a very worn & torn dirty bathroom. No wardrobe apart from 2 really small shelves for your clothes. Beds done for 3. They apologized and brought us 2 other sets of linen. We looked around dumb of the shock, sat down, really disappointed. We immediately wanted to check the net and look for another hotel. You needed a code for the wifi. One of the kids went to the reception to ask for the code - the reply was you have to pay for it, it is only free in the lobby area. So we grabbed the laptop and went back to the lobby, checked the opportunities in town, chose one, asked for a taxi, went to see it, booked it immediately, taxied back to hotel and moved out. When I told the receptionists we move out they started to blame me that I should have asked for a wardrobe or put our clothes in the kitchenette (!!!), and anyway we came 5 though we booked only for 3. They showed me a paper to prove this - it was clearly written there "3 adults, 2 children" - they missed to read the second part. It was really not elegant instead of apologizing as a minimum, especially taken into account that I paid the total vacation in advance so they gained a full vacation price and we only used one breakfast:-((
Not spending there more than ca. 2 hours we are unable to rate sleep quality and others. Before booking I read all comments here and I have to admit it was my fault not to listen to those warning all potential guests not to come here. Now, staying in downtown and having chats with Greek locals (who are all really nice and helpful) it is very interesting that they all know what's going on there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nemeth_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of June 2013 with our 3 children (13, 11, 2) and it was lovely. It was really friendly, with helpful staff, a home-from-home feel and a very relaxing atmosphere.
The pool area was small but comfortable and well serviced, the rooms were typical of Greek hotels, but spacious and well-suited to a family. We had a large lounge with 2 bed/sofas, a kitchen sink and a fridge. There was a totally separate bathroom and another, separate bedroom, with a double and single beds. The bedrooms were joined by a balcony.
The whole hotel was clean and tidy.
The entertainment guy was friendly and tried hard to make everyone feel like part of things; we are not "joiners in" but he helped our football-mad daughter use up her extra energy by playing football with her and introducing her to volleyball.
The food was not fantastic across the board, but it was no worse than any other AI deal. Lunch was better than dinner.
The best part of this hotel is its staff. They were happy, helpful and genuine. Don't worry about the other reviews, they will do their best and you should have a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
6.5 mi away
Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites
23.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
45.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#11 of 32 in Amoudara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
36.0 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.3 mi away
Malia Bay Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Village

Property: Sunshine Village
Address: Seferi Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Village 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunshine Village Hotel Chersonisos
Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village And Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing