We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff shame about the apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun
Ranked #151 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed September 2, 2009

If you are on a budget and don’t mind staying in a very basic hotel this is the place for you. Its location isn’t ideal (right next to a busy thoroughfare – very noisy at night) but is ideally situated for the beach and main bars and restaurants plus the bus stop is only a few yards away. Costas the barman is great and very nice and chatty on the 6.00pm – 2.00 shift. We also didn’t have a problem with security as some people have….although whilst we were there a woman did have her handbag pinched off the beach whilst she was having a bit of nookie.

My only bad comments are that this place could really do with being refurbished…some of the fixtures and fittings are right out the 70’s and are looking tired and worn. Considering these are self-catering apartments the kitchenette facilities are non-existent. The plug in grill kept turning itself off and there weren’t even spatulas or other cooking utensils. The bathrooms are very very small and if you are lucky enough to get hot water then you’ve done well.

There is only one cleaning lady who does really well considering there are so many rooms to clean but it is probably the dirtiest apartments I’ve ever stayed in. I had to ask for sheets to change the bed myself half way through our two week holiday and these could have been changed at least a couple more times before we left. Towels were changed on a similar rota and were filthy and definitely ready to be changed by this time, although she did empty the bins every three days or so which was a bonus.

Overall the location is great….I’d definitely come back to Hersonissos and particularly to the villages up behind the hotel (Kouloutafari, Piskapiano and Old Hersonissos) were all very pretty and some lovely restaurants and bars, Nostos Café in Piskapiano has really lovely, friendly bar staff.

I wouldn’t stay in the Vasso again but would definitely pop in to visit Costas who was great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

If you want just a base, a place to stay whilst you look around the island then this might be the hotel for you. Although, I suspect there would be other such bases of better quality.

The hotel is run by a man and a woman (they look like they could be mother and son) and comprises about 20 rooms, over three floors. We stayed on the third floor which was rather nice as it is on the roof so we had lots of private space in the sun with some sun loungers. Our room had two single beds, a shower/toilet room and a small kitchenette. The lights in the kitchen did not work. The toilet was clean, the shower was right next to it so whenever you took a shower the whole toilet (and in fact the floor) was soaked with puddles that wouldn't dry for about three days.

We never used the kitchenette, but there was a plug in stove with two hobs.

The rooms were very basic, which is fine when you just need a base to stay whilst you travel around, no frills. However, I think we both would have appreciated a little more from the cleaner. She would come in once every two days and sweep the floors but would not leave us clean bedding or towels for days until we had to literally strip them off and place them in a pile. Even then she never took the hint, so we asked reception.

The only other downside to this hotel is the air conditioning situation. It costs 40 euro a week (more than the hotel!) to use, but as I had a sore throat i asked for a fan which I was happy to pay rental for. He told me to come back in twenty minutes to pick one up, which i did, He then told me he only had one fan inthe whole building and it didn't work. Doh! But on my way back to the room I saw five or six fans behind the desk...

Lastly the owners of the hotel were pretty tough going. They were not the politest of people, the man especially with his sarcastic sense of humour, which wasn't really humour as much as it was rudeness which he treated everyone with.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazzlecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in. My hotel room and others room was robbed by the owner, I lost everything and funny enough they didn't want anything to do with it. The Manager/owner is the dodgeyist person ever do not stay here, your room will never be cleaned and you will for certain have your things stolen by hotel staff and management. The male hotel staff are also the sleazyest ever and will try it on with any girl they see fit, even underage. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooney1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The rooms are VERY basic but has most things you need!! When we first steped into our room we laughed as the bathroom was SO small (i'm not joking when I say you can sit on the loo and have a shower at the same time!!!) But you do get aircon for a extra fee when we stayed it was 40 euros with a safetly deposit box well worth it as the rooms do get stuffy and the mozzies dont like the cold.
The hotel when we stayed was FULL of teenage Irish boys who woke everyone up every night at around 5 or 6 in the morning and with the halls made of marble the sound travels so sleeping was made impossible, and the lads were so rude if you asked them to shut up.
The good bits about the hotel are the staff, so helpful and friendly. Mary is a star - she works from 9 till 6 and cooks some basic but lovely food!! Then come Costus at 6 till 2 - he always has a smile on his face and if you get any problems with the rude Irish lads hes the man to see and also makes some fantastic cocktails!! When Costus finishes next come Demitrius who is so nice - poor lad has to put up with the drunken Irish lad every night and trys his hardest to shut then up but at the end of the day would you go upto a group of drunken teenage lads on your own - I know I wouldnt!!
Overall I had no real complaints (apart from the Irish boys) we had a great holiday and was sad to leave mainly down to the staff and the people we met while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

where do i start... Lets just say that it could not be worse even if they tried!! The hotel reception/bar was open 24 hours. It was full of yong Irish teenagers getting drunk all night long and sleeping during the day at the swimming pool! We both couldnt sleep at night with girls crying and fighting in the hall. The hall floor was made of stone and you could hear everyone walking up and down and bangging doors. Making a complaint was a waste of time and the rooms were so warm and with no curtains, so that as soon as the sun rised you would wake up with the light , so we had to cover the windows with towels. The only good point there was the clean towels and bed sheets changed daily. This is not a place to go on holiday, and you should get paid to stay there, I WOULDNT EVEN RECOMMEND THIS TO MY WORST ENEMY!!!! On top of that across the hotel there is a bunch of bushes that are full of bugs... If the teenager wont stop you from sleeping the bugs will!! Dont be suprised if you get in the appartment and you find yourself a beetle in you bed making a nest!! who ever said this is more than a 1 star hotel was one of the stupid teenagers partying all night outside my door!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlaJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

well what can I say...this place is a total nightmare. we were there from 5th August for 2 weeks and have never stayed in a place quite like it. the apartments were basic but clean but the the managment could not have cared less!

we had no sleep in 2 weeks, it was full of crazy drunken irish teenagers for the whole time who had absolutely no respect for their fellow guests. they were allowed to roam all night banging doors screaming, singing and playing lound music.

I am not against the irish, it would have been the same had it been scottish or english louts. I say have a fabulous holiday but have some respect for people who want to have at least a few hours sleep.

Rep did nothing, management did not care....basically if you are over 25 and want to have fun but also a relaxing holiday do not stay here!!!! (especially in August) you will go home even more stressed and tired than you were when you arrived.

Ag nik is the place to go, we even booked a hotel out there for 1 night to get away from it all and a good nights sleep..and absolutely loved it.

Stay away at all costs unless you are 18-21 and want to party all night.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank ally66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

we booked a two week holiday here at a cost of nearly a thousand pounds, there was no mention of a 24hr bar or the age group catered for on Dawson and Sandersons website when we booked, they had our ages,(47 and 44) so they knew what we were! it was a thomas cook holiday and everything went well. UNTILL WE GOT THERE? arrived at about 5 in the morning and went to bed, i find great difficulty in trying to describe to you how bad it was and how rediculous the behaviour of the young irish brats that were staying there was without using tottally abusive and inappropriate language! We love lively we love fun and music but this was acctually pathetic, smashing the pool table off the floor to get the balls out for free all night , 20 plus kids partying in a room then downstairs for more booze before back up to another room. when challenged they just kicked our door everytime they passed after that! quite intimidating? next night was even worse, they made a point of screaming out on the landing every time there was a lull in the noise, this went on all night and i mean untill 9am? after two nights i could take no more and told my wife to pack while i sorted it out. the rep was excellent, thanks to damien who admitted we had been wrongly sold the holiday and quite quickly got us better accomodation elswhere, but at a cost of 15 euros for the taxi and 360 euros for the appartment? we went on to have an excellent holiday, well away from this place, and spoke to many people who had heard reports of the unacceptable behaviour of these youngsters on tv before they had even left ireland. in nearly 40 foreign holidays i have never once complained or used the services of a rep, allways making the most of what ive got even if not ideal, but the behaviour of these young people was beyond acceptability, so unless you are a teenager with a mental age of nine and taking to much fizzy pop and other "e" numbers from various things, DO NOT GO WITHIN A MILE OF THIS PLACE! i would personally nuke it? come to think of it malia and the whole of hersonissos should probably be nuked! the world would be a better place. thanks for listening, and to all you children who are guilty of these crimes and find this post funny. GROW UP.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank barbaryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.6 mi away
Blue Island Hotel
Blue Island Hotel
#98 of 184 in Hersonissos
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#121 of 184 in Hersonissos
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#20 of 33 in Amoudara
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#87 of 184 in Hersonissos
852 reviews
5.2 mi away
Triton Garden Hotel
Triton Garden Hotel
#5 of 23 in Malia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun

Address: 6 El Venizelou Str, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Vasso)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range: $26 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasso Hotel Chersonisos
Vasso Hotel Hersonissos
Vasso Hersonissos
Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing