We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dire Straits (and not the band)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun
Ranked #138 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dire Straits (and not the band)”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a fortnight in August. All the other poor reviews for this hotel have already made the main points. Yes it was very dirty and in 2 weeks although we had clean sheets and towels 3 times the room was not cleaned once. (The bin in the bathroom was only emptied about 4-5 times - disgusting.) The food was indeed awful and brought in a Smart car from some kitchens down the road - photos have already been posted of the Smart car showing it's condition. No one at the bar before meal times when people were drifting back from the beach etc. because the barman was out getting the food. No desert only melon. Ran out of beer 3 times. No hot water for 2 days - thought that was bad until another couple told us they didn't have a toilet for 2 days!! Toilet rolls were like gold dust even in the public toilet. No soap anywhere. Electric sockets hanging off the walls and light fittings taped up. The hotel owner did not want to know if you had a complaint - he has no idea of hospitality. One couple were complaining and it got rather heated. The owner threatened to call the police!! He got down on his hands and knees in the bar and put his hands together like he was praying - he said if I call the police you will be like this to me!! The hotel may be in a good location in that it is only a short walk from the Strip but to get there you have to cross the busy main road outside the hotel with maniac traffic coming at you from three directions. The pool is at the front of the hotel and the entrance is straight onto this main road with no gate. Nightmare for those with kids. There was a sense of comradeship amongst the guests staying there in that we were all in the mess together - even though we didn't all speak the same language. No choice but to try and make the best of it and have a laugh. Met some lovely folks from all over who helped to make it fun - and it was awful - but funny. Would like to say that the only redeeming thing was the staff. George & Danny at the bar and Manos the manager who we felt very sorry for trying to do his best with his hands tied. They were great and understood our frustrations and tried their very best for us with the limited resources they had available to them. Thanks guys and to all the other great folks we met who had also "thrown their money out of a window".

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    23
    19
    86
See reviews for
37
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dumfries
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

why does trip advisor state over 100 rooms when they don't even have 40? Many people arriving did not have a bed we were one of the lucky ones. Hygiene food + service was almost non - existent. This was the pub with no booze and meals on wheels-really dire. DONT GO TO THESE ROOMS!!!

Room Tip: just don't use this place but rooms on second floor at the back seem best of a bad bunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

staying at the vasso hotel supposedly all inclusive? within one hour of arriving we contacted our tour operated as we were not happy with the conditions, as it was not near the standards we expected. It was very unhygienic because nothing was cleaned, the hotel was full of fleas and dirt was everywhere. During our stay our room was not cleaned once not even on arrival was our room clean.The pool was also very dirty and many people did not go in the pool because of its condition. Fellow guests at the hotel said the same. It was not worth the money to be all inclusive in this hotel since there was not a kitchen, the food was imported on the back of a car and brought into the hotel to make things worse there was no heaters for the food so if you did not eat it when it arrived it would be cold but it was uneatable anyway since it was always undercooked or very dry. the wine was served in plastic bottles and did not taste nice.simple things such as towels were not supplied in our room neither was toilet roll. To make matters worse the boiler broke down and we did not have hot water for two days.

our tour operator informed us that the manager of the vasso hotel would not return our money and we would have to pay extra for alternative accomadation, after this the manager was not happy about the complaints, he was very intimidating and he seemed very explosive towards us, leaving us to feel afraid not knowing what could happen in a strange area so far from home.we were then told by other guests that they had also been turned down alternative booking and he was even accepting bookings and there money when rooms were not available

the manager took the fuse out of the electric so we could use our air conditioning which we paid extra money for (80 euros). He also visited the rooms as he pleased this was very frighting as he did not have a set time and he did this to all the rooms.

After many complaints he tried to put things right i.e he cleaned the pool etc. soon after he became very angry and due to all the complaints he told us we have 5 minutes to leave the hotel or he was throwing our things out himself. this was on the 8th aughast.

I have been on many holidays but this has been by far the worst experience I have ever had and it even cost more than any other holiday I have ever been on since we had to buy our own food and even pay for alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: dont go to this flea pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly_nd_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the ariane hotel & got moved at 5 am in the morning jumped in this mans car to take us to vasso hotel we went into a bedroom with six beds & there were spiders & fleas all over hotel rooms have never been clean only came in once to make the beds no shower curtain water all over the place & the food was a disgrace you had to go straight away to eat it or it would be cold there was pork & lumpy turnip & potatoes what was never cooked the pool was dirty same with the sunbeds they made the wine & beer them selves & they were going to the water fountain with bottles to fill it up with the water only served drinks till ten o clock & there was a tramp coming in with black feet & long hair helping himself to food & getting vodka & beer & we weren't allowed no vodka one word JUST DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL it's a disgrace & the staff are a disgrace never helpfull at all had a great laugh with some people from Newcastle Lisa Paul & Irene don't book this it's like a prison

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomdixon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

just got back from the vasso hotel haha hotel my backside where do I start on arrival there was no room so put us in a 4 bed room well a cell really.Then told us they would move us tomorrow well sure enough they moved us at tea time the room was very basic and dirty rotten no towels the bathroom was tiny you could have a pee and a shower and was your hands in the basin at same time only plus was we had a fridge didn't work though leaked all over we never got beds changed or toilet rolls in a week luckily we were in 104 next to maids cupboard so we helped ourselves but NO bath towels. Then the all inclusive was brought in a box by a man on a moped don't know where from ! It's was 4 containers for whole hotel full of crap raw potatoes i asked what meat it was i was told PIG we got fish twice and it was RAW IF YOU DIDNT GET FOR MEALS AT START THEY WERE COLD NO HEATERS UNDER THEM JUST FILLED BOTTOM OF CONTAINER WITH WATER FROM KETTLE no snacks no puddings just melon the kettle was full of lime scale and floating bits the milk jug was a teapot with conjealed stale milk never washed out we were on best terms with the flies they loved the food oh and the Rottweiler down the road loved the food the dining area if you can call it that was rotten stagnant bowls of water on the floor the all inclusive drinks were gassy beer ,red wine ,white wine raki and ouzo which the boss made at home and brought it in all served from a plastic bottles the water was never fresh as seal broken as he refilled it we drank it never made us ill so maybe he bought large bottle and filled litre bottle to serve all not kept in a fridge just on side of bar with the flies the hotel sorry prison staff were rude except Sandra what a worker she was and pleasant. The pool well well well the pool had never been cleaned the scum around it was inches thick the sunbeds were rotten and falling apart the pool side never washed you had black and I mean black feet rotten there was also a tramp which came in on mealtimes he was stinking the staff would give him alcohol VODKA on one occasion when we never got vodka you couldn't even buy a one great location to all amenities and bars,beach etc ohh free wifi yipeeee In my opinion this needs CLOSED DOWN but met some lovely people while staying there Ruth ,Simon heather ,Tom moira and Paul we were the gang and laughed together I've uploaded some photos for evidence of all of this don't do don't book from Lisa and Irene Newcastle

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisapat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went on holiday last week staying here, my first ever holiday so was not sure what to expect. Within the first hour of arriving, we had already been told that we would not be able to stay in the hotel for the first night as they were overbooked. So we were given a room in another hotel for the night which was actually nicer. The few plus points - for the most part the staff were really friendly (Manos is a legend), very good location and the pool was nice enough. We struggled to get warm water for showers in the room we were eventually given, the shower itself was seemingly designed for a midget with how small it was, no air con without paying extra, food was disgusting, bed sheets were changed once during the whole of our trip, the drinks were warm and a much smaller range for the all inclusive than we had first been told (soft drinks, one type of local beer or a suspiciously purple "brandy" is basically all you can get). It was a brilliant holiday but the hotel was definitely not part of the reason for that. If you really have to stay here I would recommend not going all inclusive and just spending as much time away from the hotel as possible, not worth the extra cost!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

sent to another rubbish hotel on arrival as no rooms ....when he did give me a room it was dirty so I refused it then I got the room I wanted although was refused clean sheets and towels.... was told we had to buy our own loo roll from shop down the road.....a bottle was taken from the rubbish bin outside and filled with tap water for us to drink......the chicken was being microwaved.......no music no life no atmosphere no bar man or reception 99% of the time ....all inclusive is a big joke food was just bad when I said my coffee was cold he stuck his finger in it ooo its warm ok .......the pool is freezing don't get me wrong on a hot day that's good but the grime on the water level was sooooo bad made me sick.....the sun loungers are from the 70s with that amount of dirt still on them .......you will get very very black feet as the outside needs a good jetwash.....if you read all this and still stay at this hotel like we did thinking the reviews can be a little off putting sometimes but omg its all true......

Room Tip: the best rooms are 115/116 and 117 at the front pool view with balcony I got room 115 in the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#115 of 171 in Hersonissos
209 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
218 reviews
34.6 mi away
Bali Mare Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilios
Hotel Ilios
#123 of 171 in Hersonissos
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Iro
Hotel Iro
#78 of 171 in Hersonissos
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Plazza
Porto Plazza
#83 of 171 in Hersonissos
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun

Property: Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun
Address: 6 El Venizelou Str, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Vasso)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasso Hotel Chersonisos
Vasso Hotel Hersonissos
Vasso Hersonissos
Simple Hotel Hersonissos Sun Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing