We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hersonissos Blue Hotel
Ranked #144 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed January 26, 2009

got this very cheap so was expecting the worst .but it wasnt .very basic but very clean.enjoyed every minute,we are in our late 50s.no noise .would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldbirdNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 86 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

This place is such a dump. Yes it may only be two star but the music thumps right through the night until 6 or 7am and people run up and down the corridors shouting and banging doors. If you are going on a mad drinking holiday then it is grand, you need to be completely out of it to get any sleep. It is not the spot for couples or families. It isn't that clean and the resort itself is expensive. Malia is just down the road and it much cheaper and better pubs and clubs. In Hersonissis it is one big rip of. Lots of cheap shots and bad drink, and all over priced. Eating out is also dearer than most other resorts. The Averinos is cheap but for a reason, very rough, give it a wide berth unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irishrose1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

oh my god, why is everyone complaining so much? it's a 2 star hotel for crying out loud what do you expect?!

on holiday all you need is a place to sleep unless you're planning on staying in your room the whole time.

i went with one girl mate and had the best holiday ever. the barman was brilliant and loved the nightlife.

if you want a basic place to stay, stay here! you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sez9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

me and my boyfriend went the rooms are basic but what do you expect for the price. Jennsen and Jason were great! we had a great first week going on a drinking bender. you wont get to sleep at night !! its all good ....roeyyyy !! if your about18-24 its perfect and you like drinking ..

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty1989Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Wow.... What a fabulous holiday!!!

We were greeted by some basic rooms but f or the price we paid, they were clean and more than what we had expected.

The staff were all really welcoming and friendly. Rick, Jason and Jannesson made our holiday what it was by always welcoming us back from a messy night out to drink the night away in the hotel bar! They are also more than willing to provide you with some cheeky morsels at whatever time you got hungry from their 24hour menu! LOVING THAT!!!

The poolside did get a bit shady by the afternoon but there is a bar called 'Cheers' just across t he road with lovely food and beautful sunshine all day long by their lovely pool. And it was FREE!!

I honestly don't think I could have had any more fun if I tried. We went at a good time of year too because it was before all of the big crazy groups got there but was still good for a long mad night out. We didn't encounter one bit of trouble the whole time and had t he most wondeful holiday, I would recommend it to anyone who wants a fun filled holiday where you can still relax and see a bit of traditional Greece if you want to.... Lov' It!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn_Hersonissos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Great Holiday for the Young and singles. We went to Averinos fearing the worst given that it was the cheapest place we could find. However we were very satisfied with what we got.

The rooms were very basic just beds,wardrobes, desk,chair and bathroom. The shower was not great and the bathroom was a bit small. Apart from this the hotel was very good. The bar area is very clean and is always lively and as it is open 24hrs a day it is always somewhere u can go for a drink and good company.

We met alot of class people on the holiday including all the staff, however beware the older of the two cleaners can be very wicked if you mess the room right up lol.

The only bad thing about the hotel was the breakfast (what breakfast) it consisted of toast and jam with orange juice or tea. After waiting up after a night out expecting a big breakfast we were not gonna let the staff off lightly and gave them an earful.

however the hotel is great always busy with life about it and in an excellent location I would definetly go back for a boys holiday. I'd give the hotel 8/10.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Barry_Connel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

How this place can be called a hotel by the travel agents is beyond me. This would make Fawlty Towers 5*!
We were not informed that we had to pay extra for air conditioning or fans, extra for a safe deposit box and extra if you wanted anything but "toast" for breakfast (Terrible breakfast - no selection what-so-ever dull dull dull)
Pool bar seemed to be aimed at keeping the barman and his crones happy not the residents, especially in their taste of music.
Our cold water tap in the bathroom didn't work and when I tired to plug in a fan the whole wall socket came out in my hand. Our bedroom furniture was tatty, dated and I daren't look at the pillow underneath the pillow case.
Would go back to Heresonisis, but you couldn't pay me to stay at the Averinos!

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank TresDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
601 reviews
3 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
2.6 mi away
SunConnect Zorbas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Blue Hotel

Address: Vitsenso Kornarou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Averinos)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range: $34 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hersonissos Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Averinos Hotel Chersonisos
Averinos Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Blue Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing