We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I've Ever Stayed In”
Review of Adams Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adams Apartments
Ranked #94 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Ill keep my review to short and sweet points:

Firstly the hotel is filthy, the rooms are never cleaned, bed sheets were never changed and the toilets were absolutely disgraceful (ive put a picture up, not pleasant to look at, but proves my point).

The staff are rude at first but if you try to get to know them they may acknowledge you every now and then.

When we stayed there was a a very bad bug going round, probably to do with the hotels hygiene standards, this made our holiday a nightmare as it caused severe nausea and diarrhoea.

As for the mix of Dutch, English and German, we had no issues and got on with all other guests.

The restraunts, clubs and bars on the main strip are very tacky, offering no Greek culture at all.

The only positive to come from the holiday was the old village at the top of the hill, the people there were all brilliant, great food, good views, a traditional Greek town.

One last thing, you have to buy your own toilet roll as the hotel doesn't. provide this

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

it was great this is my second time at the hotel i loved it. i went with my mum dad and cousin and we all had a great time. as soon as we got there we had a drink on the bar for us as they knew who we was already. we arrived in the afternoon about two. a soon as we arrived we went down to our apartment and unpacked. our apartment was 2 bedroomed that sleeps 5. the kitchen has 1 bed in it and then a room with a single bed and a room with a double bed in it. it was really spacious.

The best place for something to eat is Greek Corner the food and service is amazing!! i think we went there about 7 times within two weeks.

the pool is quite big but is good to wake you up in the morning. we had a good time over there and also met a few more friends. Chris and adonis are the brothers thatr own the apartments and we are still in contact with them. My dad helped them with the barbeque the last sunday we was there and irt was amazing the food was georgous. A wide spread of meats.

The night entertainment is alright but if you would like a good night out visit the bars in malia they are amazing. in the hotel its good just to sit and have a laugh around the bar with the brothers.

This is the second time that we have been to adams apartments but was the third time weve been to crete. We enjoyed it that much weve already booked it for next year but in september. So see you next year chris and adonis..xx

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KaTii3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Walked into travel agent 1130 in the morning, on a plane to Crete 2100! I must admit a little nervous as the pictures weren't great and it looked extremely basic. However, cheap, late deal can't be too picky.

We arrived early hours of the morning, very tired only to find that no one knew we were coming! we booked very late! But Cosmos were excellent and still looked after us, as of course we had paperwork. The manager of the apartments came down at 5am to make sure we had a room.

The travelling time from airport was 30mins.

The apartment was on first floor there was a lift. Yes, it was basic but clean sheets and towels so happy with that. We had to pay for aircon and safe which came to (I think) 42 Euros for the week but worth it! Especially the safe, one of the apartments was broken into during our stay ( I have to add that we felt secure, we believe they left the window open so like anywhere people will see the opportunity)

The apartment was a really good size, double wardrobe, en-suite little cooking area, kettle, two hobs. However we didn't use the "kitchen" so can't comment. But we knew two other people staying and after 4 hours their eggs still hadn't boiled! Another couple though said there hob worked a treat so guess it's pot luck. The was a laundry facility available, obviously at cost, if I remember rightly 1kg was 12 euro.

The staff pleasant enough.

The pool area was really lovely and as there were no kids! excellent, plenty of room for us all. Can understand though in peak seasons there won't be enough beds. The bar seemed to be always open and it was right by the pool.

The location was just excellent for us. It was a little way out of town up the hill so you didn't hear the noise from the bars etc. However, it was a 5 min walk to them so best of both worlds.

To eat go up the hill! just the best restaurants and views, definately recommend Olivas right through the first village, just excellent food and the service was tiptop the staff we really friendly without being sickly!!!! We rarely go to the same place twice but this one we did.

We discovered Star beach only on our last day and were really disappointed we missed out. Whatever you do go down there it has pools, bars, gym, nail studio, bumgy jump. it goes on and on. Excellent for kids and adults. We didn't go down there as we thought it was an area for 18-30 crowd but we were mistaken, don't miss out it looked fantastic, we want to go back just to go there!

We hired a car and went about sightseeing, it's a must what a beautiful island. Don't be fooled by organised tours! We wanted to go to Spanlonga, an island which was use to house lepers until 1957! the tour was 57 euro with cosmos, 37 euro from an agent in the town. We went there ourselves and paid 10 euro for the boat trip which included everything the other tours did except food but you could pay 16 euro if you wanted lunch!!!!!!! big big difference. Travelled all round the island and found beautiful beaches on the south of the island which are well worth the visit. Mad mad drivers though, they don't warn you of your turn off until the last minute so we missed our roads a lot and had to turn back or hand break turn! if you see the sign for you - you will turn immediately!!!! Car hire, we got the cheapest at 110 euro for 4 door, a/c fully insured!!!! for 3 days. Seems alot but their other insurance doesn't cover you for anything so be careful.

I would recommend these apartments and the location. We would go back, we may pick a better hotel next time but please understand these apartments are extremely good.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

to be honest. this is the nicest place and friendliest resort i have ever had the opportunity to stay in. this the perfect place for children, my little brother loved it. 2 mins from the beach, the water shoots and a brilliant go-karting track. The two brothers that run this place are really friendly. whoever does not like this place is mad and i cannot wait to return. love the Potter's x

Stayed: July 2005
2  Thank jamespotter87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

there were 10 of us 2 familys what can i say it was fantastic ,poppy-chris and adonnis were great hosts made us feel like one of the family. highly recommend it.going back next year.pool great food great .

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dale31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

These apartments were described as ideal for families but are far from it.
The apartment was small and basic but you get what you pay for I suppose. Sheets were clean but the covers were very grubby. All hooks had been broken off the walls and the floor needed a good wash. There was no kettle and only a few grotty utensils.
The "balcony" was a step that we had to sit in a row on.
You have to have the air conditioning otherwise the heat will be unbearable and it would have been nice to know this so as to take more euros as they do not accept credit cards.
The maid service consisted of making the beds and emptying the bin.
The guests consisted of 75% dutch groups in their late teens/early twenties who took over the pool and sun beds not to mention the all night parties and early morning returns.
We mentioned the noise and lack of kettle and were told that they had told them to keep it down but were ignored and that the kettle had probably been broken and thrown away. We did not get a replacement.
After discovering that people were putting their towels on the sunbeds the night before we asked whether there were any set rules regarding this and were told that there were but they were
unable to enforce them and that we should do the same.As a result several sunbeds remained unoccupied for days before it was realised that the owners of the towels had gone home.
Our second week was a lot better as more english arrived and the noise reduced and the pool was a nicer place to be.
Whilst on the subject there are not nearly enough sunbeds and umbrellas for the number of apartments and the area around the pool needed a good clean. The water was always clean and clear.
On the day we departed a large number of english left and hoards of dutch youngsters arrived and yet again the pool was taken over so we were glad to be leaving.
Therefore if you are looking for a quiet family friendly place to stay this is not the place for you.
Despite the accomodation we did have a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend the villages up the hill for great food and should we return to Crete we will be looking for accommodation there too.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiloLilSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We moved here from a poor apartment block elsewhere and it was wonderful - air conditioned (payable locally for only €30), large pool, better than expected studio and a shower with a shower curtain! A 20 min walk to the main resort, or 5 min taxi ride for €6. Would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
4.6 mi away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
603 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Zorbas Village and Aqua Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Apartments

Address: 20 Ag Konstantinou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adams Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adams Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Adams Apartments Hersonissos
Adams Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Adams Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing