We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but room for improvement!”
Review of Semiramis Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Semiramis Village
Ranked #119 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good hotel but room for improvement!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we had booked this hotel for our honeymoon and we saw the reviews we were absolutely terrified that it was going to be horrendous but it was actually quite nice. We have decided to explain our stay in terms of positive and negatives to prevent future guests feeling the same dread when they look on here... so..

Positives;
Excellent views from the high up location (We had an amazing balcony!)
Lovely service- the staff couldn't do enough for us. We arrived early hours of the morning (starving) and they had a plate of food waiting for us! Very thoughtful!
Pool area- Plenty of sunbeds, nice sized pool!
Cleanliness- The hotel and the rooms were well kept; clean and comfortable.
Quiet location- You are not too far from the town centre but your not kept awake at night either!
Games room- We had so much fun on the ping pong table- worth a visit
Bar- The bar is well priced and stocked.

Negatives;
Food- The food was awful! Not nice at all, we were half board and we refused to eat there- just take extra money for food and you will be fine!
Walk- We counted the steps to our room and there was 100, this also didn't include the uphill walk to the hotel itself- just see it as daily exercise and you will be fine.

You will enjoy your stay as long as you don't go expecting The Ritz!

A word of warning- my suitcase had some items stolen from it during our journey home or stored in the luggage cupboard! Make sure you lock and double lock your suitcase so you don't have any issues to spoil your holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    89
    91
    68
    86
See reviews for
82
178
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel entrance is quite nice, the pool area is nice enough, unfortunately the bedrooms need updating they are clean but quite old fashioned. The all inclusive deal is not what we are used to, cheap wine rose or white, then you have lager on tap which is not bad at all, a selection of soft drinks and then Ouzo, Raki or Greek brandy. Food, hmmmm! Well, nice Greek yoghurt with honey for breakfast, cereals, nice selection of breads, hot breakfast was unbearable, lunch nice Greek salads, beetroot, soup and rolls, then you had some hot selections not of very high standard, same for dinner really. The hotel standard I would give it a 2 star. We met a few Brits at the hotel most were happy with pool and location not so happy with the food or drink side of things. We were lucky to have a first floor room a couple we met were on the 6th floor and had 95 steps to climb to get to their room. Next door was the Grand hotel a good four star hotel the difference was incredible and the Nana Beach hotel a 5 star down the road was exceptionally good although more expensive by far well worth it. To sum it all up if its a good luxury four star hotel with good food and drink this is certainly not the place for you, if you want to go to Crete on a small budget without any frills consider this hotel. Location up a hill in between Hersonissos and Stalis bus stops outside the Nana Beach hotel for Hersonissos and directly opposite for Stalis both locations cost was 3.60 euro's for two persons for a single journey takes about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the first floor or you will have to climb a lot of steps 50-100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from Crete having stayed at the Semiramis Village. The location is good if you want to be near the sea, have nice views but don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of things, watch out for the very steep hill when walking back though:-). The staff were very friendly, the food was pretty basic though and the bathroom had a funny smell which was a let down. Another couple we spoke to had the same problem too so it wasn't just our room. If they could get that fixed I would recommend it as everything else pretty much met our requirements.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IS_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Didn't believe the poor reviews before we went and it turned out every bits of them are true. No wi-fi in room,only in the lobby and it was hopeless.Bathroom was a wet room, messy after each shower.Charged 10 Euros for the use of the tiny fridge in room and it wasn't cold at all.Staff and visitors not particularly friendly. Took 1/2 hr to walk to the nearest centre every time so needed a car to go anywhere. Foods edible, more or less the same the menu every day.The only good thing was probably the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Believe the reviews.If you have to go,choose the highest floor at least you get a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived, and found that many of those who had just arrived were complaining to our representative and wanted to be moved hotels. We stayed for a week, as it was marketed as a 3 star hotel, it was more like a 2 star hotel. The room was okay, but the service wasn't great, and the food was below average, the drinks were watered down and food consisted of pasta and chips almost every night, we found a lot of Russians stayed at the resort, and didn't make the restaurant a pleasurable experience . Would not recommend for all inclusive, only self catering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Phillips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Semiramis, back the 4th time. For me it is like comming home. Again i had a great time there.
It is not only good service, good food, good rooms or the clasical hotel characteristics; it is more the frienly atmosfere, the positive energy, to see the same old team in good mode as allways. Thank you my dear freinds from Semiramis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed the day overall
- Food was great & delicious (enough quatities & fresh)
- Number of people was almost good & not that crowded
- The hotel was safe for enjoying the day
- Service was awesome, waiters are helpful and ready anytime
- The overall spirit was very delightful & related to the event

Suggestions:
The weather was hot that day so extra fans were needed to cover the whole area.

Thank you very much for your efforts & wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.1 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#39 of 58 in Heraklion
394 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#66 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#74 of 171 in Hersonissos
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
214 reviews
19.3 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#27 of 32 in Amoudara
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#62 of 171 in Hersonissos
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiramis Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiramis Village

Property: Semiramis Village
Address: Drapano, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Semiramis Village 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Semiramis Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village Hersonissos
Semiramis Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing