We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel, for those with (almost) no expectations. Don't recommend it!”
Review of Evelyn Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evelyn Beach Hotel
Ranked #103 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Are you looking for a top hotel in a perfect location? Then you have to look somewhere else.
What you get here is a simple hotel. Very simple.

Rooms - clean, but be aware of the so-called garden view, it is in fact a view into the neighboring apartments. Upgrade to sea view costs 10 euros per day, we were happy to pay.

Food - nothing special, sometimes very good, but the feeling is that it is always the same. After 3 or 4 days, it gets boring to see and eat the same stuff. Breakfast was my highlight, deserts were good also.
If you go on a daily trip, do not count on the lunch bag you get from the hotel - water and juice are ok, but I would advise against the chicken and the sandwiches. And do not dare to comeback earlier and eat for lunch, they will not let you; or they take away your next meal.
We went out to eat a few times and that was really great. Not far, there is a great restaurant - Veranda - they have amazing sea food (and much more).

Drinks - we had All Inclusive, meaning drinks from 11 am to 11 pm - soft drinks, juices, beer, wine, raki, ouzo, coffee and tea. Nothing fancy.

Location - ok. Very close to one small beach, where sunbeds cost 3 euros per day. There are a lot of other good beaches not far away. And if you rent a car, you can drive to some other great ones. Do it! Do not just stay on the beach in front of the hotel.

Personnel - most of them are nice, but sometimes can become unfriendly. Especially the ladies at the reception. The staff in the restaurant and at the bar are really friendly.

All in all, I know for sure that I will not come back to this hotel. Crete is an amazing place, I really enjoyed it here, will definitely return to see the rest (10 days weren't enough), but will look for different places to stay. Maybe also in Cherssonissos, but certainly not at the Evelyn Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vasileracovitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

hi we arrived at evelyn at 12 o clock on the 1th june 2013 we,d been delayed so we were thirsty and requested adrink.we were all inclusive I explained this to the guy on reception.we walked threw to the bar the bar man poured 2 small cokes and wanted 4 euros ,apparently all inc is 11 to 11 .I explained we jus wanted a drink as wed been travelling all day but he wouldn't budge,great start.our room was suppose to be gardev view..mmm it looked onto 2 plant potsand were were in an enclosed part of the hotel so there was no air at all.the rooms were basic but ok.the food was generally catered towards the Russians so it was difficult to eat at times..and a very repetitive menu.the all inc drink only consisted of lager oozo local brandy and soft drinks and wine,very disappointing.beware when you go to beach it costs 4 euros per person for a bed and a parasol rip off.beautiful place but I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazzanotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at Evelyn beach in May 2012 with my mum
Upon being dropped of the on the main road and having to walk down a steep hill to find the hotel it was better than expected from reading the previous reviews. The hotel is very tired and dated and the lift is a little daunting being so small! The room was fine though, reasonable size clean and more than enough space.
The hotel having no pool recommends to use the pool at neighbouring hotel. NEVER GO NEAR IT! ITS FILTHY AND BROWN.
Not having a pool isnt such a bad thing being so close to the beach but being rocky walking through the sea isnt exactly comfortable
Day time reception staff were brilliant! They sorted our transfer when we decided to cancel it and get the bus for like 2/3 euros to the airport!
Night time staff not so. The guy is overly touchy friendly.
The bar guy george is so nice! He's so friendly and easy to have a laugh with.
Food is so nice! especially the vegetables. Only really 2 dishes to choose from each night and one is always fish so theres never much choice
Hersonissos nightlife is great and the hotel is a great distance to be close yet far enough its peaceful and quiet.
Cheap hotel but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

i stayed at Evelyn Beach Hotel back in May, the rooms are basic, i stayed in a twin room which had 3 beds, air con, tv & bathroom. the food was not nice at all there was a lot of pasta dishes, and salad and not much else. there is no pool and the one they said we could use was over the car park the water was green there was a lot of weeds. if i was to stay in Hersonissos again i would but at a different hotel. but all the staff are helpful in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adam Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Evelyn Beach Hotel with two friends. The location is excellent, right across a small road to the beach where you can hire a sunbed for 3 euros a day (parasol 2 euros). If you turned right and walk along the headland you find some beautiful secluded coves.

The hotel does not have a swimming pool but you can use the one next door for 3 euros all day, they are really friendly and do great snacks and drinks.

The room was very basic, the air conditioning was dreadful and very noisy, really not worth it. We stayed all inclusive and the food was more than adequate with plenty of choice from salads to hot main courses and delious desserts. I do however get bored with the buffet option after a while and we ate out a couple of times. The drinks were not watered down at all.

I would definately return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank donna3271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have just returned 11th october after spending a week at evelyn beach hotel.
here is my honest review of this hotel.

On arriving were given room 108 on the first floor with a sea view. The room was very clean although basic was adequate for use, as i have a walking difficulty it was also near to the lift.
When we went down to the restaurant on the first night, there was no menu saying what was on , so people had to guess some of the food .
Over the course of the week, the food seemed to go worse, apart from the salads.
The hot food was constantly cold, many people were complaining, but the staff just took no notice.
There was only 1 toaster which did two slices at a time, therefore causing lots of queueing up.
The staff in the restaurant were quite rude sometimes, they wernt interested.
The reception staff were very good, always helpful to put any room problems right.
Location: the hotel is just across from a shingle beach, which you are charged 3 euros for a sun bed.
I dont think i would return to this hotel, but heronisis is lovely, but i would stay at another hotel.
We did ask for the air conditioning but they said they only put it on at 11pm in the evening, even then ours did not work properly, it wa so hot in the bedrom couldnt open balcony door due to mosquitos.
This is not a 4 star hotel, more of a 2 to 3, the food quality very poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on either lst or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bennett85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

At the price we found it to be excellent value. Staff very friendly & courteous. I was hospitalized for 12 days just before we were due to fly home. The Management & Staff rallied round to support my wife at a time of great stress & arranged for her to stay in the same room until my return. Plenty of choice for us at meal times and our room was spotless & well serviced. All in all great value for money and a memorable experience. If you go there to have a good holiday that's what will happen. If you go to complain then you really do need help.

Room Tip: Go for height & sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#64 of 172 in Hersonissos
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#127 of 172 in Hersonissos
413 reviews
22.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel
Alexander House Hotel
#18 of 30 in Agia Pelagia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#10 of 172 in Hersonissos
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#63 of 172 in Hersonissos
586 reviews
18.6 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#21 of 33 in Amoudara
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evelyn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evelyn Beach Hotel

Address: A. Kanakaki & 25th Martiou | Limin Chersonisou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $40 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evelyn Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Evelyn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evelyn Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Evelyn Beach
Evelyn Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing