We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We arrived 1am small room very noises got up complained,ask for another room. But was told fully booked,would we go to a”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #60 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We arrived 1am small room very noises got up complained,ask for another room. But was told fully booked,would we go to a”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We arrived at 1am small room and very noises,could not sleep so we got up 6am asked at reception to get a larger room,but told to go back at 11am so we did,they said fully booked but to put in another hotel if we liked,so we did and liked,told us we could go back in 2 days ,we decided to stay as it was a new hotel and very quiet,very clean and staff were great,,now for the good points,as we was AI we could eat at both hotels,so we had breakfast at the one where we slept,food at G.B was good always something to suit,hotel was spotlessly clean,staff were real friendly could not do enough for you,Manager was always walking about to ,make sure things were ok,over all we had good holiday after the first night,We would recommend this hotel,but it is not child friendly as Swimming Pool is very small and deep,so we went to beach but we had to pay for umbrellas and sunbeds we had to have them as it was so hot so it was quite costly,the bar is ok but have to buy drinks after 10pm cocktails not good plenty of ice so no taste .

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RED1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    168
    102
    66
    18
See reviews for
99
343
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here with friends for a week in June, the hotel is beautiful and clean, the staff amazing they couldn't do enough for us - only 2 slight niggles. First you had to walk back to the hotel for drinks on the inclusive from the beach and the food at dinner was not great. Would we visit again - YES. Loads of lovely places to eat locally so would opt for B & B.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just back from the Golden Beach and have to say we had an enjoyable time and were well looked after. The hotel is stylish and the reception staff were warm and friendly as were the bar staff. Treat people with respect and it makes a big difference! Some of them work so hard and get little thanks for their efforts - yet still manage to be polite and friendly. Eva, Briggitta and Tony were stars in the restaurant, hard-working, very attentive and friendly at all times. Eating space outside is limited but certainly the best way to enjoy your meals, overlooking the beach and sea. Inside it is quite hot and a little bit like a school canteen as has been alluded to in other reviews but I despair of some reviewers who say the food is inedible and even dangerous - libellous in my book.

The food is limited in choice maybe, but there was always something to eat unless one is particularly fussy. When in Greece eat Greek - don't expect English bacon (or is it Danish :0)?) and British sausages - instead enjoy the beautiful fresh Greek salads, souvlaki, dolmades, taramasalata and tzatziki. There was generally a fish option available - we particularly enjoyed the fried whitebait. Occasionally the food was not piping hot or a little dry but this is one of the downsides in most restaurants of a buffet style service which is served over a few hours. Wait for it to be replenished if you want it hot!

Our rooms was outstanding (Room 511) and very spacious. Efithea looked after us really well, making sure our room was spotless (Ευχαριστούμε!). It was on the same floor as the pool (although much further along the corridor) which meant easy access to that area. The sunbeds provided were comfortable but be aware that the pool area is small and the Cretan sun does become almost unbearable in the middle of summer. The pool is not child-friendly in our opinion, or indeed for the nervous swimmer, as it is all one depth (1.8m) and the pool area lacks any refreshment opportunities unless your room is along the corridor and has drinks in the fridge! For most it meant a trip down to the reception bar and back up as a consequence of which the stairs tended to get somewhat slippery. As a result we eventually resolved the situation by walking along the beach area and finding some peaceful, shaded coves. Absolute bliss!

The all-inclusive drinks on offer were satisfactory for us but others may find the choice limited. Suffice to say the gin and tonic (I got plenty of ice but needed to ask for the "slice") and beer were good enough for us and we also tried some of the cocktails on offer.

Beyond the hotel we enjoyed the walks along the coast-line behind the town but, as tends to be the problem with Greece and Turkey, one gets pestered to go into restaurants and bars. Easy to say "NO" but it gets so repetitive after a while, particularly when they feign an interest in you and your background and walk alongside! Jamie from Manchester invaded my body space so much that I feared I might need a visit to an exorcist on my return home.

I'm not sure whether we would visit again but that is not the fault of the hotel - we just didn't like the town and area by Star Beach. For others the area might be what they are looking for with crazy golf, karting and other activities for kids - and if that is the case we would recommend this hotel as good value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor is near the pool and, even if overlooking the main road, fairly immune from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubleorquits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent at Golden Beach two weeks of great holidays. The hotel was fully booked though out our stay and full of visitors from places around Europe and Russia. We were upgraded to a sea view room with a bid double bed and free wifi. The staff is wonderful, all of them! The hotel is a small boutique hotel, very elegant decorated and centrally located. We had a great stay, we will go back !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena_garcia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This wonderful hotel offered great vacation to me and my friends. We stayed there for one week and only good things to say about this wonderful hotel! Rooms are very nice decorated with very comfortable mattress , the bathroom was a bit small, there was wifi free in the whole hotel. The food was delicious with a big variety and the restaurant staff is just wonderful ! Golden Beach is centrally located , the only negative thing was the small swimming pool, but we did not mind as we visited the gorgeous beaches of the island !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra_p663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedernhausen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We just got back and I have to say it was nice. The staff were so wonderful. I had a problem with my air conditioner leaking. They tried to fix it but there was still a problem so they immediately offered me another room. They people were very friendly and always smiling. The food was ok and really not much to choose from but there was enough. If you wanted to get a beach chair go and reserve it around 10 in the morning. Put a towel there and it is yours for the day. Only 8 Euros so not bad. The room key controls the electricity so it has to be in for the air conditioner to work. It is also control, (the air condoner by a white remote, which was the first time for me) so just keep that in mind. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and travel places to fit everyone's needs. Walk about 10 to 15 minutes and you can have fish clean your feet. I really enjoyed my time in Crete. One more thing, the bathroom is very small, almost like a 1/2 bath with a shower. There is a roof top pool but the pool for everyone, meaning kids, is next door at the Star hotel. I really liked this hotel; but I think next time I might stay at the Star Hotel, which is right next door. I have to say the restaurant right in back of the hotel, actually attached, is a wonderful place. The staff is very very friendly and they make you feel like you are the most important person. I can say that ever place did make you feel very welcomed.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are very worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrottop1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Again, like some travellers I read the reviews and was preparing myself for the worst.
My boyfriend and I arrived around one am as our flight was delayed. Check in was smooth and easy and we dumped our bags in our beautiful top floor room and headed to grab some food.
The hotel food is lovely and there is a wide choice. It also stays warm if you use the large heated plates at the far end of the food counter. We watched many guest piling food on tea plates to our great amusement.
The bar staff were lovely as was Mary on reception, Eva in the restaurant and the cleaner with the long dark hair on the top floor.
We had no problems at all during our ten day stay and I have the most restrictive diet due to a severe food intolerance and I managed to eat.
I can say that given the chance I would return. It's the classiest and best presented hotel that we saw. Two others came close.
My advice, you won't be disappointed!
Oh, another small point, the manager is both polite and helpful.
It pays to learn just the basic greek too. Learn to say please, thank you, yes and no. You'll be amazed at just how much more friendly and helpful the locals (and staff) will be!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#10 of 171 in Hersonissos
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#61 of 171 in Hersonissos
512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#71 of 171 in Hersonissos
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glaros Beach Hotel
Glaros Beach Hotel
#78 of 171 in Hersonissos
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#53 of 171 in Hersonissos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Beach Hotel
Address: 191 Eleftheriou Venizelou Street | Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous holiday resort of Crete, Hersonissos, just few steps from a sandy beach.Golden Beach has recently undergone a change of appearance achieving a beautiful balance of comfort and style, featuring 162 rooms, many of them enjoying blue views.Our outstanding friendly service and carefully crafted design that our guests enjoy are elements that achieve a relaxing stay in Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hersonissos
Golden Beach Creta
Hotel Golden Beach
Golden Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing