We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annabelle Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Annabelle last November for 3 nights, four woman ages 18-22.
The hotel is well designed, clean and easy to manage. The rooms are nice and contemporary. The staff speaks English well but were not very friendly, sadly.
The hotel is located very close to chersonissos center, taxi was about 8 euros from the hotel to the market which is also close to a nice area with bars, restaurants and clubs.
I think our two issues with the hotel were just the fact the staff wasn't so friendly and the food was just ok. There is a pretty large selection at the dinning room and snack bar but it wasn't so good for a 5 stars hotel.
The beach and the pool area are clean and well organized.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadasv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely hotel. We arrived, three Mums, with three teenage daughters. We where all inclusive and on late arrival the hotel had prepared cold dishes for us...nice! As we where AI it was local drinks only, the wine either red, which was always cold and the white were both horrid, I couldn't drink either, although my two friends liked them both. There was not much to choose from on the AI drinks to be honest so I stuck to mojito's which although on draft, were drinkable. The food in the main restaurant, was OK. but the snack bar by pool was awful, chips(cold) pizza ( dry) and pasta every day, oh and curled up sandwiches. Most of the restaurant staff are very miserable, although the management are very helpful. First morning, I got up at 8am and considering there are two big pools and a beach, NO BEDS!! All had towels on. I spoke to a lady who said you have to get up at 7am to claim a bed, even though there are signs all around stating you can not do this. Oh well, if you cant beat them and all that. So for the rest of the holiday up at 7am I was to get our beds by the pool...trust me people are doing this at 6am. The hotel animation team where FANTASTIC! Patryk and Renato where the favourite with us. Lots of games around the big pool to keep you entertained by day and shows by night. location was great as on beach but nearest shopping place is Hersonisis 7 euro in taxi one way. it is worth the trip out. We also took two buses to the market...NOT worth the trip trust me. All in all a good holiday. Wouldn't rush back though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmillsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this with Thomas cook the hotel was great and the staff were fantastic and
The animation team were brilliant the food was very good pools was clean daily the only down side was nothing to with the hotel is was with Thomas cook rep never saw anyone the two weeks I was there all in all I'm going back next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sihart75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Why go to the Carribbean? This hotel is really good,The food was of a good standard.We went half board.Previous bad experiences of all inclusive put us off but this would encourage us to try it again.Last time we did it was in Barbados and it was poor but this hotel is far better.The staff are friendly and conscientious in the main.The sea view and breeze were great.However, the waves were generally too strong and there is a lot of rock under the water so it is risky.That said, if you walk 5 mins to your right out of the hotel as you hit the beach you arrive at St Georges which has dead calm Carrib seas and crystal clear water and caves.I swam there every day.A great stroll to it and a wonderful place to swim while kids played at the pool.We also did day trips to the 2 water parks which were excellent. Hersonissos is a bit tacky in places but ok.Get a boat trip for the morning /afternoon down at the harbour.We got guys to take us out.The captain was called Yani(incorrect spelling I am sure).It was an excellent trip.Great entertainment for adults and kids.Cant recall what they called themselves but there aren't that many down there- it was E250 for about 4 hours but well worth it.Will definitely go back to Crete and would recommend this hotel to anyone.WARNING : DO NOT TRY TO DRIVE TO THE SOUTH OF THE ISLAND - THE LAST 30 MINS IS GENERALLY A CORKSCREW ROAD DOWN A MOUNTAIN WITH SHEER SIDES! A VERY UNCOMFORTABLE EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: Stay as close to beach as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulMcMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked this holiday at fairly short notice in Sept 2013 and there wasn't a great deal of choice based on our preferences so we were really happy to find that the hotel, it's location (on beach) and the staff all added to us having a great time.

Location
The hotel is about 3 miles from Hersonisos and is right on a small beach (Anissaras beach). The beach is more shingle than sand but we didn't have to use beach shoes although lots of people did.

There isn't too much near the hotel (a couple cafes / bars / small shops) but Hersonisos is a large town with plenty entertainment & shopping. We walked in to Hersonisos once and it took about 45 mins (a little too far when its hot). There is a bus that goes into town from the hotel and a taxi is 7 euros.

We got the bus into Heraklion as well. This takes about 1hr and costs 4 euros.

Hotel Facilities
The Hotel has 3 pools and a paddling pool for kids.

Two pools are by the main building and has a swim up bar. We didn't use this so can't comment on it but it was always busy.

The other pool was by the beach and was the main pool where most of the activity was centred. There is a café down by this pool plus a beach bar.

There are sunbeds on the beach but these tend to go by 9.00. There are many more sunbeds around the pool and you can generally find a couple free ones together although they might not be in the best place or have an umbrella.

There is a small onsite shop that sells cigarettes, bottled drinks, snacks and gifts.

In the main building there's a large restaurant for meals and a bar plus indoor pool and spa.

Food
We don't normally book half board and were sceptical when we saw that all meals were buffet. However, the quality of the food was fantastic and there was no reason why couldn't find something every meal time.

Most people were All Inclusive but there were was no difference in food for us as Half Board.

Bar
The main bar has a terrace where most people gathered after dinner for evening drinks. There were a large selection of drinks and we tried many believe me! Now it's unfair to pick out any member of staff for particular praise because they were all great but because we spent a lot of time by the bar and so we got to the know the bar staff, Yvonne & Pantelis, very well. They fantastic and looked after us making us feel like part of a family.

Important question - Would we go again?
Definitely!

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach and main pool are further from the restaurant with two sets of stairs in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevepayne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Annabelle with mixed feelings about our one week stay. No complaints about complex , staff,clean facilities, weather, but food offered was un-inspiring, barely warm in a canteen like eating area. The sun beds were well past their sell by dates sagging and uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time, and found the young ( I wish I was again) noisy inspiration team around the complex an intrusion on the peace/silence it would have been nice to experience. I think the Annabelle was trying to please all age groups and in this respect failed where with a little bit of thought (no real evening entertainment for adults) (certainly not the failed X factor lot) would have made all the difference.
Bearing in mind the economic state of Greece it seems unfair to make too many negative comments .What suits one may not suit another. Still a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Lovely garden areas down to beach but crowded. lots of steps. need a car or taxis to see the areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallace1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were at the AKS Annabelle for 10 nights in August and we all thought it was absolutely wonderful, one of the best hotels we have stayed at.
The hotel grounds slope down to the beach. The reception, main restaurant, huge lobby with inside and outside seating areas and upper pool with pool bar are at the top of the complex. There is also a small shop and a kids club. Many of the rooms lead of a central walkway running down to the lower pool / entertainment area which is very spacious with pool, bar area, outdoor theatre, games are and grassed area. There is also a snack bar (daytime) / restaurant (evenings) by the pool which runs table-service themed evenings (fish/Greek/Italian). The hotel is separated from the beach by glass (Perspex) windbreaks.
The grounds are a delight to walk through and never felt crowded. Two service roads run down the outside of the hotel and these are used to ferry luggage and supplies using golf-type buggies. This is just as well really because it has to be said there are a LOT of steps separating the two ends of the hotel (I counted over 60).
The main restaurant has a large open section with fantastic views over the sea. We thought the food was really good with plenty of choice and all dishes were kept stocked up right to the end of service. There is beer and wine on tap in the restaurant. The only drawback is that you can spend a bit of time hunting for a laid table – although the staff were very good at clearing tables once asked.
We found all the hotel staff to be really helpful and genuinely keen to make sure guests were happy. The hotel manager was often out talking to guests and at least one of the other managers was always on duty at mealtimes. I know there have been some comments about the speed of service at the bars but I didn’t really find this a problem considering most drinks are mixed. The girls serving at the lower pool bar each evening were unbelievably cheerful.
There was constant entertainment for those who wanted it and the Animation team worked really hard. Many activities seemed very popular – especially the pool exercise sessions / water polo / beach volleyball etc.
The nationality mix when we were there was mainly German (the majority), Russian, British and Italian.
Our transfer wasn’t until 7.45pm so we paid €40 to extend the room for the day which wasn’t bad considering this included AI all day including dinner for 4 people. Having said that we were lucky in that our room was available – this might not be the case at peak times.
We hired a car from Traffic to see a bit more of Crete. The hotel is a few Km from Hersonissos and there is nothing locally. However, a taxi into town only costs around €7-8. My advice for anyone hiring a car is avoid the coast road to Hersonissos as it’s SO narrow and windy. Also, make a note of landmarks when heading out. I pride myself on my sense of direction but we got hopelessly lost between the main road and the hotel.
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending the Annabelle to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Anissaras
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Anissa Beach Hotel
Anissa Beach Hotel
#40 of 172 in Hersonissos
266 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 172 in Hersonissos
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anna Maria Village
Anna Maria Village
#39 of 172 in Hersonissos
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annabelle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annabelle Beach Resort

Address: Anissaras beach, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $102 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Annabelle Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Annabelle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabelle Village Hotel Chersonisos
Annabelle Village Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Hotel Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Crete
Annabelle Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing