We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday! Great hotel! Fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Annabelle Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked this holiday at fairly short notice in Sept 2013 and there wasn't a great deal of choice based on our preferences so we were really happy to find that the hotel, it's location (on beach) and the staff all added to us having a great time.

Location
The hotel is about 3 miles from Hersonisos and is right on a small beach (Anissaras beach). The beach is more shingle than sand but we didn't have to use beach shoes although lots of people did.

There isn't too much near the hotel (a couple cafes / bars / small shops) but Hersonisos is a large town with plenty entertainment & shopping. We walked in to Hersonisos once and it took about 45 mins (a little too far when its hot). There is a bus that goes into town from the hotel and a taxi is 7 euros.

We got the bus into Heraklion as well. This takes about 1hr and costs 4 euros.

Hotel Facilities
The Hotel has 3 pools and a paddling pool for kids.

Two pools are by the main building and has a swim up bar. We didn't use this so can't comment on it but it was always busy.

The other pool was by the beach and was the main pool where most of the activity was centred. There is a café down by this pool plus a beach bar.

There are sunbeds on the beach but these tend to go by 9.00. There are many more sunbeds around the pool and you can generally find a couple free ones together although they might not be in the best place or have an umbrella.

There is a small onsite shop that sells cigarettes, bottled drinks, snacks and gifts.

In the main building there's a large restaurant for meals and a bar plus indoor pool and spa.

Food
We don't normally book half board and were sceptical when we saw that all meals were buffet. However, the quality of the food was fantastic and there was no reason why couldn't find something every meal time.

Most people were All Inclusive but there were was no difference in food for us as Half Board.

Bar
The main bar has a terrace where most people gathered after dinner for evening drinks. There were a large selection of drinks and we tried many believe me! Now it's unfair to pick out any member of staff for particular praise because they were all great but because we spent a lot of time by the bar and so we got to the know the bar staff, Yvonne & Pantelis, very well. They fantastic and looked after us making us feel like part of a family.

Important question - Would we go again?
Definitely!

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach and main pool are further from the restaurant with two sets of stairs in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevepayne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Annabelle with mixed feelings about our one week stay. No complaints about complex , staff,clean facilities, weather, but food offered was un-inspiring, barely warm in a canteen like eating area. The sun beds were well past their sell by dates sagging and uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time, and found the young ( I wish I was again) noisy inspiration team around the complex an intrusion on the peace/silence it would have been nice to experience. I think the Annabelle was trying to please all age groups and in this respect failed where with a little bit of thought (no real evening entertainment for adults) (certainly not the failed X factor lot) would have made all the difference.
Bearing in mind the economic state of Greece it seems unfair to make too many negative comments .What suits one may not suit another. Still a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Lovely garden areas down to beach but crowded. lots of steps. need a car or taxis to see the areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallace1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were at the AKS Annabelle for 10 nights in August and we all thought it was absolutely wonderful, one of the best hotels we have stayed at.
The hotel grounds slope down to the beach. The reception, main restaurant, huge lobby with inside and outside seating areas and upper pool with pool bar are at the top of the complex. There is also a small shop and a kids club. Many of the rooms lead of a central walkway running down to the lower pool / entertainment area which is very spacious with pool, bar area, outdoor theatre, games are and grassed area. There is also a snack bar (daytime) / restaurant (evenings) by the pool which runs table-service themed evenings (fish/Greek/Italian). The hotel is separated from the beach by glass (Perspex) windbreaks.
The grounds are a delight to walk through and never felt crowded. Two service roads run down the outside of the hotel and these are used to ferry luggage and supplies using golf-type buggies. This is just as well really because it has to be said there are a LOT of steps separating the two ends of the hotel (I counted over 60).
The main restaurant has a large open section with fantastic views over the sea. We thought the food was really good with plenty of choice and all dishes were kept stocked up right to the end of service. There is beer and wine on tap in the restaurant. The only drawback is that you can spend a bit of time hunting for a laid table – although the staff were very good at clearing tables once asked.
We found all the hotel staff to be really helpful and genuinely keen to make sure guests were happy. The hotel manager was often out talking to guests and at least one of the other managers was always on duty at mealtimes. I know there have been some comments about the speed of service at the bars but I didn’t really find this a problem considering most drinks are mixed. The girls serving at the lower pool bar each evening were unbelievably cheerful.
There was constant entertainment for those who wanted it and the Animation team worked really hard. Many activities seemed very popular – especially the pool exercise sessions / water polo / beach volleyball etc.
The nationality mix when we were there was mainly German (the majority), Russian, British and Italian.
Our transfer wasn’t until 7.45pm so we paid €40 to extend the room for the day which wasn’t bad considering this included AI all day including dinner for 4 people. Having said that we were lucky in that our room was available – this might not be the case at peak times.
We hired a car from Traffic to see a bit more of Crete. The hotel is a few Km from Hersonissos and there is nothing locally. However, a taxi into town only costs around €7-8. My advice for anyone hiring a car is avoid the coast road to Hersonissos as it’s SO narrow and windy. Also, make a note of landmarks when heading out. I pride myself on my sense of direction but we got hopelessly lost between the main road and the hotel.
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending the Annabelle to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

just had a week in a family room with our two girls, along with a double for our parents. what a great stay. good rooms, fantastic gardens and brilliant food, probably the best food we have had in an all inclusive hotel. the staff are very friendly and willing to help and take time out to have a chat. the hotel and gardens were very, very clean all of the time without you noticing who was cleaning up. the daytime family entertainment was good but not so good in the evening. young children were catered for but not the older kids and adults.

the only negative was the sea and the beach. sunbathing on the beach was great but getting in and out of the sea is hard. this could be down to the power of the waves, which may just be down to the time of year we went.

one of my parents has a slight mobility issue and it was hard to encounter all the steps some days. we did have a ground floor room but to get to reception and dinner you do have to climb around 50 steps (it could be classed as good exercise)!.

the resort is close enough to the town of hersonisos (7 euros in taxi), and the old villages up in the hills are well worth a visit (10 euros in taxi).

overall a very good holiday and would go back.

Room Tip: the family room was a decent size, and you only have to ask if you want a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mablecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were very impressed with the standard and hygene of this resort. We had interconnecting rooms which were spotless and the pool areas were great. Having the beach on site was excellent and there were plenty of activities if you cose to participate. We were all inclusive and the food was plentiful and drinks were easily accesible. The only thing that was lacking was the evening entertainment as we have two teenagers who like us would of prefered a little more adult entertainment, such as tribute singers etc. That said we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hinksy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are a family aged 38, 44, 16, 12 and stayed at the Annabelle from the 13th to 28th August.
We booked two rooms and at check in we were allocated adjoining rooms which were great.
This is a lot smaller than most other all inclusive hotels and this is what really makes the hotel. You can eat in the restaurant without it feeling like a school canteen! However, after a week the food does become a little samey so we did go out a couple of times in the fortnight.
The staff at the hotel were always friendly and smiling and always willing to help out, when booking taxis or lunch out etc. If you go on a day trip out the hotel will provide you with a packed lunch which is amazing and comes in a proper cool box!
As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is set in lovely grounds which are continuously being maintained.
The pool and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard.
Pool towels can be changed daily.
The holiday for us was made by the animation team, especially, Renato, Patryck, Oliviwa and Andrea. They all work incredibly hard to ensure that everyone has a great holiday - but they were not pushy and didn't force people to join in.
The only negatives are: Wi-fi - this is rubbish! Which didn't really bother me but if you do have teenagers then they want wi-fi. We paid 5 euros per week for the code but it was still pretty hit and miss.
Drinks: Despite what it says in the brochure and on your all inclusive information sheet on arrival, drinks are NOT self service at the athina bar or pool bars. The only place you can pour your own beer/wine/soft drinks is in the restaurant. We did find this a bit of a faff, especially around the lower pool as you had to queue for drinks around a cirular bar and it was always a bit hit and miss as to who would be served or how long you would be there. Also the lunch time athina taverna, again you had to queue for a drink which was also the same queue for food so not really very practicle.
Sunbeds...... the usualy really, you have to be up very early to get a good sunbed! We were up at 6.30am in order to get 4 together at the side of the pool, however, this again isn't really an issue for us as it is becoming standard procedure at most hotels these days!
Overall, this is a really nice hotel, set in beautiful grounds with nice staff.
The only thing that would put me off going again is that we had such a good time with the animation team and they will be different people there next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 111/113 are interconnecting rooms on ground floor in a quiet location yet near to the lower po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louby_lou1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is one of the best holidays I've ever experienced. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and on the beach. Management & staff were always available to assist and help if needed, and a high level of customer service was always evident. We spoke a couple of times to the general manager, his priority was to make sure his guests were happy and having a good time, nothing was too much trouble for any of his staff. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day, and we were lucky enough to have a sea view room, which boasted stunning views. The food was delicious. plenty of choice and all nationalities catered for. Would like to thank the GM & his hardworking, happy and conscientious team for making our holiday so special, we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
1.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 184 in Hersonissos
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annabelle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annabelle Beach Resort

Address: Anissaras beach, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $117 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Annabelle Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annabelle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabelle Village Hotel Chersonisos
Annabelle Village Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Hotel Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Crete
Annabelle Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing