We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find - you have to be mad not to enjoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Annabelle Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great find - you have to be mad not to enjoy!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just come back from the Annabelle village. It's been a great two weeks and the hotel is great.
We hired a car from 'traffic' in Hersonisos for 5 days to sight see. They gave great service at a good price and helped us plan what to do. Parking is plentiful at the hotel.

Rethymon is well worth a visit with its picturesque habour and Venetian labyrinth of streets it has lots of atmosphere. having read 'The Island' Spinalonga was a must and was both an interesting and poinent experience. Heraklion is also worth the trip. The birthplace of Zeus is nothing spectacular but is a nice drive.

The rest of the time we chilled out at the hotel and I have to say I find it difficult to find many faults. The wi-fi is shockingly bad and there is a need for more sun beds at high season (even being up at 7 was too late for certain spots!) but everything else was excellent.

The food was the best I've had and we have been doing All Inclusive for a number of years now. I found all the staff brilliant especially the reception staff who organised a late check out until 23:30! We were also given AI throughout that day. They also chased our pathetic tour operator who didn't give us a pick up time!!! The kids club operated by Carolina deserves a mention. She was outstanding at including our shy 7 year old. The entertainment team work hard at producing multi-linguistic performances to suit the multi-cultural cliental. Some shows were better than others but our kids loved them.

The location of the hotel is about a 15 min walk from Hersonisos but we were glad of that and we weren't overly impressed with Hersonissos anyway.

If you have booked the Annabelle, you will enjoy. All the staff want you to enjoy and work hard to ensure you do.
Thank you all!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welsh_Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    327
    106
    40
    10
See reviews for
505
253
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have just returned from 2 weeks at the Annabelle and it was a truly wonderful holiday, I can honestly say I have nothing bad to say about this hotel the rooms were immaculate and spacious we had a beautiful sea view (room 206) and the maids cleaned daily provided fresh flowers in the room and clean bedding and towels. The food was plentiful with a good variety and all the staff were friendly and pleasant, the alcoholic drinks were lovely with a good variety and choice for all inclusive this is something I have had a problem with at A I in the past but not at the Annabelle, the pool areas and toilets were always immaculate, the animation team work very hard and put on some good shows. We ordered a packed lunch one day to take out and were very impressed with it, I really cannot fault anything about the place and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfur7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 2 weeks All Inclusive Holiday at the Annabelle Beach Resort, it was our first time to Crete and we are very pleased we chose the Annabelle.
The Buffet Restaurant was stocked with a difference variety of food on a daily basis. We spent most of our time at the bottom pool because that's where all of the pool games took place but if you like a quieter holiday the top pool is ideal for you.
The hotel has 3 al cart menus, Greek, Fish and Italian which are served in the Taverna, you have to book the Al Carte evenings when you go to breakfast, we tried them all and enjoyed everyone.
The Animation team which was run by Andrea work very hard not just during the day but in the evening as well by putting on the entertainment, the audience participation night was always amusing.
During the day the Beach Bar is run by a wonderful lady called Irini, please go and see her, she will put a smile on your face.
My wife and i are going to return to the Annabelle and i would definitely recommend this hotel if your thinking of going to Crete.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Memphis1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

There are good and not so good points about this hotel but I guess you get what you pay for on an island.

Good points
Excellent food throughout the day in the main restaurant and as its a Buffet you choose whatever you want and eat as much as you want.
Little shop in the hotel has all the emergency things you might need along with snacks and alcohol so you can sit on your terrace in the early evening having a drink or too
Everywhere is spotless at all times and the linens in the room are of a very high standard. Even the pool towels are soft and very usable
Bathroom in our room was better than expected, plenty of wardrobe space and hangers, we even had a fridge to store your own purchases
Top pool is the best if you want relaxation away from the animation team and the noisiest of kids
Athina at the pool bar always smiling and always working hard and main restaurant staff were always friendly and helpful


Not so good points
Wifi only works in the hotel reception and even then its bad. Don't bother signing up for 5 euro charge, just sort out your own network euro deal, far better service.
Service from Staff on reception is really inconsistent, giving you different answers all the time.
A la carte restaurant very disappointing and often the fish didn't taste fresh but frozen :-(
Not many sun beds so you need to get up early and get one or wait until later afternoon
All inclusive doesn't include international branded drinks but the rose wine and rum and cola's were ok
Check out is midday but most flights back to UK are in the evening and sadly the hotel aren't organised enough to offer you a late check out even for a fee so you have to make do with a shower room in a block of shower rooms that you cannot book in advance.
The short walk to chersonnisas is not a short walk and it's on a main road with the cars, you are better off paying the 7 euros cab fare
Lots of families and older couples go here so if you want nightlife or something busier at night you need to go out of the hotel

Finally Crete airport is tiny and despite years of tourism cannot cope with several large planes of people trying to check in and wait for their flight. Be prepared to queue outside and then again inside just to check in and then join another queue to drop off your bags - it can be very chaotic when hundreds of people are trying to do this. After security there's not much, 1 shop and 2 eating areas and not many seats for waiting but if you know in advance that it's not going to be easy experience then don't let it ruin the end of your holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Minuses

Location- semi isolated, Chersonisos 30mins walk. Take a torch with you to find your way along the unlit beach in the evening.

Sleep quality - Do not get an upstairs room with the arched ceiling, looks pretty but failed to see the use of black-out curtains on the windows when there was a 300mm x 200mm skylight in the upper arch which was not covered . So at sunrise approx 4.30am light was streaming in thro this east facing window, ended up blocking it of with a magazine & removed it when we left.

Rooms - Basic & adequate, light shining in all round the ill fitting door plus the previously quoted skylight, The high arched (3.5mtrs) ceiling may look pretty, but this make it longer for the air conditioning to be come effective as it was preset not to run below 16 degrees Cent.

Bar service- Lobby bar cant fault ,served in rotation ,polite apoligized if you were kept waiting,
the lower pool bar in the other hand unless you were brazen, pushed in & shouted louder than the Russian or paying customers, the all inclusive band on your wrist meant they could not make anything else from you so further down the waitng list you went.

Service - This varied greatly between facilities, cannot complaint regaurding room cleanliness ,maintained daily. Grounds were well maintained. Restaurant standard weekly rotation of meals which you come to expect on holiday, but again no complaints there was enough variety to get you through the week , and all the time I was there no cold or luke warm meals. The only way the restaurant could improve is by checking their crockery & glasses on a more regular basis & remove those with cracks & chips. also invest in more cutlery do not continuously lay out dessert spoons to eat a boiled egg with. Pool maintenance was slightly lacking , a fair amount of children here , & children do what children do why come out of the water when they can add to it, but at no time did I see the pools chlorine levels being checked , twice in the week we were the the pool was cleaned but being next to a shingle beach it did not take long to seeing grit & other debris in the lower pool. BUT THE MAIN PROBLEM AT THE POOLS WAS SUNBED RESERVING ON A GRAND SCALE. I went down early in the morning to do a few lenths of the pool, only to see the same people coming down with up to 8 towels , floatation aids ,even using the bags they brought them in to book a clutch of beds on both sides of the pool so they could move when they wanted or is freinds came down after lunch . Meanwhile others were force to lay towels on the grass with no shade while these beds lay unused. The signs were up and in every language that sunbed reserving would not be permitted & all items would be cleared by staff . I watched 2 sunbeds under a parasol which had been toweled at 7.00am , at 3.00pm they had never been used & poeple were looking for seating to which they had a right. I asked the attendant to move the towels as they had been abandoned. He point blank refused to do this as it would create a row if someone was watch the bed from another point in the pool area , why put up decorative signs they do not intent to adhere to themselves .
The lower pool again was regularly used by a Scuba diving company giving training lessons (not associated with the hotel ) add to this a russian water areobic team of 6 girls a lot of time you were herded into corners out of their way.

Value - Not worth the 4star plus rating it was given , tripadvisor .co.uk should put how many people from which nation use hotels annually as this hotel catered predominantly to the Eastern Block nations. As was very apparent at this location. Other signage put up for Dresscode at evening meals which was totally ingored & not enfored.

Pluses

Not many I'm afraid I went for the weather & got it 30dergrees all week , but also got weather I was not expecting, as a tour guide taking us round the ruins of Knossos described as we were continuously jolted by the "Russian Tsunami" this area is tuned to their requirements with 8 large fur stores within a mlie. Who needs furs in this temperature.

This establishment will suit a family with young children who do not want to move far for a week before being bored.

Room Tip: Downstairs room I would advise if you have children save the stair climb & the early morning ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiddlestix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Annabelle Beach Resort is located quite far out from any civilisation, which means you will stay most of the time in the hotel. Go for all inclusive. The resort is very well groomed, clean and provides with lots of options for food and activity. Russians are the main visitors and the day and evening entertainment is tailored according to their taste. The animation teams is working extremely hard and asking you to join them for dancing/water polo/volleyball/gymnastic/ping pong/football etc on a very regular basis. For us it was a bit too much. I think if you have children and want to entertain them, this hotel is perfect for you. If you are a young couple and want some adult time, then I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Near the beach is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaNusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at this hotel,Was talking to the Manager our last day ,he said `"we are one big family here",and yes it shows. Everybody so friendly,and well mannered.Having said that,we hired a car,and everybody we met whilst travelling around were the same. Such lovely people.
The hotel,rooms , food ,cleanliness,lovely kept gardens,you could not fault. Is it a 5 star,in my opinion not quite,:I would have expected proper fruit juices at breakfast,not just the machine variety.A few other small things in the dining room.Also many of the sun loungers around the pools in a bad condition ,and need replacing. The ones on the beach are ok ,as they have mattresses.
The reserving of sunloungers ,was extreme. Although the hotel does have a No reserving policy,nobody seems to try and control it. Our second week they brought a lot more loungers out,but they needed more umbrellas.
The hotel itself is built like a village,with lovely gardens,but a lot of steps down to the beach.
When on the beach be carefull in the sea,There are lots of stones,and accompanied with waves ,not so easy to get in.
The hotel is on the flight path to the airport. Good for plane spotters!!!
We were on HP .Thought should we upgrade to AI. Cost 20Euro pp per day.If you drink,and eat a lot then worth it.If not then expensive. We had a few soft drinks in the day,local wine with dinner,and never went above 20Euro`s for both of us.We like a walk out in the evening to a bar,but unfortunately only one bar,and supermarket ,near the hotel.You can go into the town. A nice walk,but a fair walk,Taxi back 7Euro.
Would I go back to this hotel,for the hotel itself,yes. ,but it is out of the way,so maybe not,for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
1.4 mi away
Anissa Beach Hotel
Anissa Beach Hotel
#36 of 171 in Hersonissos
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Anissaras
965 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
652 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annabelle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annabelle Beach Resort

Property: Annabelle Beach Resort
Address: Anissaras beach, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Annabelle Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annabelle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabelle Village Hotel Chersonisos
Annabelle Village Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Hotel Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Crete
Annabelle Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing