We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a tranformation”
Review of Pela Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pela Maria Hotel
Ranked #72 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel was not opened when we came to Crete this year.. We did call on the second week to see all the staff etc, What a tranformation,everything upgraded and renewed. This was the reason it opened late this year. New seating in the Downtown bar and public rooms,new beds and furniture in most rooms. The staff are 100% behind the management and were raring to go..So just come and have a nice holiday at a price you will love. You will not find better service in any hotel anywhere,come to a place where they want to serve you and you are welcome..BEst of luck to all of them,see you maybe later this year.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool,you can see well out to sea as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vichagan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 426 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now,May 8th 2013 will be the fourth time. Dimitri and his staff will give you value for money.Don't come expecting 5 star for the price you paid. The food is varied as there are always a mixture of Nationalies there. As for the staff they will try thier hardest to help you enjoy your stay.. You may find some Eastern Europeans there,as in London but give and take everyone will be on Holiday same as you. If you not happy get a spare time job and try the top end of the market..I know I will be Happy with the staff at the Pela Maria..Remeber Life is what YOU make it..Have a Happy Holiday!

Beryl and Vic ..UK.

Room Tip: use the booking forms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicHagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite run down, the food was pretty poor (I usually dined at the coffee shop across the road) There were many Eastern Europeans, who weren't particularly friendly. I would not recommend all inclusive. If all you require is a bed for the night, ok, but it is in no way luxurious. It would pass as a hostel. In the UK, this hotel would probably be a 1 or 2 star.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank civileyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My first time to crete and i was lucky to have met George in phuket..so i booked this hotel and was met with Very friendly staff, nice rooms at the center of hersonisos ..Not so far from the beach..Great food at the restaurant and a very nice bar in the main street

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

well here i am with the wife back again 2nd time this year and the standard has stayed very high for a 3 star hotel ,the staff are as friendly as ever food ok nice clean rooms with towels changed daily
nothing to much trouble for the staff bus stop outside if you want to go out for the day but if you like me like seeing the island properly hire a car and go into the mountains its breathtaking and there is more birds of prey than i have ever seen even more than isle of skye in scotland.
to sum up you will never get better value for money than the pela 202 pounds for seven days THATS! FOR ME AND THE WIFE ALL INCLUSIVE. great central location plenty of shops give it a go dont listen to the bad vibes who cant afford 5 star and stay at a 3 star, nice people ps never used the stairs there is a good lift in perfect order if you dont like the food eat out, staying in the uk would cost you a dam site more

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisstockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Where do i start? i would not wish this hotel on my worst enemy ! This was the first holiday for myself and my husband where we have left our 19yr old and 16yr old at home...thank god ! cause if anyone goes to this hotel who have young children your holiday will turn into a nightmare.

The stairs are a DANGER the railing falling off, i have visions of someone having a terrible accident using those stairs. The lift only holds 2 people , 1 person with a case.

The food is horrendous...the russians seem to enjoy it however....NOT 1 TIME DID WE EAT THE FOOD, MY HUSBAND MADE AN ATTEMPT THE FIRST NIGHT WE ARRIVED AND CHANGED HIS MIND IT REALLY WAS HORRENDOUS. The all inclusive finishes at 10pm anyway and after attempting to make a cup of tea and used 3 teabags and it still looked like dish water and was told sorry we have no milk, can you get some i asked? no just drink it without i was told by the bar tender we completely gave up using the all inclusive. Our holiday cost a lot more due to this, normally you can find something to eat and drink even if you are fussy eaters but seriously neither myself of husband are fussy.... this food was really bad !

The room grotty, however.. the cleaner did her job very well, it's not her fault the room was something worse than a hostel...infact in my younger days i have stayed in better youth hostels.

The room was so small myself and my husband were literally falling over one another, balcony you ask? what balcony it only just about fit 2 plastic chairs on..literally just !

the whole place smelt musty. There is a decking area around the pool and seriously its a danger with screws missing and had to watch your feet don't go through.
The pool i would say is the cleanest area of the hotel

The hotel for british guests is very substandard, the hotel caters purely for the eastern europeans ... russians, polish etc

All in all i would not go back there and i would warn everyone off this hotel , it could very easy to let this spoil your holiday but as luck would have it we were able to hire a beach buggy for 3 days and afford to eat out the whole time.

Breakfast i would reccomend the white lion the place to go.
Evenings the saloon bar club!!! they made our holiday

There is no way this is EVER a 3 star , we had a good holiday but this was no thanks to the pela maria

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GenGenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

After arriving at this hotel i can only say i wish i had listern to other people , the hotel was very jaded to say the least , our room was clean but very shabby and the staff were friendly . the overall decor of the hotel was very bad , the pool area is decked but when you walked on it felt very unsafe , screws loose so that when you step on certain parts of it you sank down about 6 inches ,It is not a family hotel but suited for people who want to stay at a hostal how it got 3 stars i don't know , i would not have given it 1, I think the cockroaches would agree as well.

If you come from an eastern block country you will love the food but i found having the same dish 4 days running a bit much it was ,there were so many Russians there we thought we were in little russia .
For the first few days we heard no english spoken at all just russian or polish and when we said hello to people we were just glared at .

The bar for the all inclusive shut at 10 pm and you could only have sprits between 8 pm and 10 pm, and after this time the lights went off and we were told we could not sit round the poolside it was all shut .
All in all i would not go back there and i would warn everyone off this hotel , it could very easy to let this spoil your holiday but as luck would have it we were able to hire a car and be able to afford to eat out most of the time some people arn't as lucky .
THERE IS NO WAY THIS HOTEL IS A THREE STAR (GREEK RATING) IT SHOULD BE RATED AS A HOSTAL AND A VERY POOR ONE AT THAT

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lorour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#65 of 184 in Hersonissos
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#16 of 184 in Hersonissos
620 reviews
0 mi away
Sergios Hotel
Sergios Hotel
#1 of 2 in Limenas Chersonisou
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#13 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Haris Apartments
Hotel Haris Apartments
#119 of 184 in Hersonissos
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundance Apartments & Suites
Sundance Apartments & Suites
#9 of 13 in Koutouloufari
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pela Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Maria Hotel

Address: 177 Eleftheriou Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $56 - $862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pela Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pela Maria Hotel is a comfortable small hotel centrally located in Hersonisos, a warm and friendly Hotel one of the most popular holiday destinations on Crete. Only 40m from a sandy beach and crystal clear water, provides an ideal combination of sea, sun and relaxation. Pela Maria Hotelis a family run hotel with a harmonious and happy environment. The long experience in providing hospitality services and in focusing on every single aspect of the guests' accommodation experiences, defines the operational principle of Pela Maria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pela Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pela Maria
Pela Maria Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing