We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serious breach of health and safety,rude nasty. Dirty pool Cold food”
Review of Pela Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pela Maria Hotel
Ranked #70 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A serious breach of health and safety,rude nasty. Dirty pool Cold food”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed last week at the hotel Dire a very cheap hotel with bad location above a loud bar till 4 in the morning. Food cold and undercooked. Staff horrid. A/ i ends at 10pm Beer very expensive. No wi fi despite advertising it, limited drinks in plastic cups. Pls pls think twice I am currently in the process of complaining to greek health and safety.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeymik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    106
    53
    43
    64
See reviews for
60
155
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bor, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

very nice pool! the sea is very close i will come back again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ice2362536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

All inclusive - rubbish, very little choice. breakfast isnt worth getting up for. lunch is the same as dinner - all food is made to cater for russians. during the day there are very little drinks to chose from. the good drinks available 8pm-10pm only. cant move in shower its that small. dont change bedding or towels unless exetremely dirty (i.e. something has been spilt). the manager is ignorant to complaints and very much set in his ways. has his opinion and if you dont agree with it then thats tough - no comprimise. some of the staff are friendly but its only the ones who work in the bar that you have to pay to drink in. the all inclusive bar has only one member of staff on at a time who is also responsible for tidying the pool area so there were often queues. can only order one alcoholic drink at a time which causes a massive rush of people at the bar just before 10pm. the locals are very much aware of what the pela maria is like and when they recognise your all inclusive band they share their horrible experiences with you. do not go to this hotel. i do however recommend the "down town bar" which is attached to it. good drink deals with excellent service

Room Tip: i stayed in a room with a view of the pool. the entire night you can hear a cockeral chirpping off a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanafinny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

South Warnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We are in our early 60's and have travelled frequently to lots of different parts of the world, quite often going cheap and cheerful and not expecting too much, but we have had some wonderful times. I can honestly say, the Pela Maria is the worst place we have ever stayed. Please believe all the bad reviews, I didn't because I have read bad reviews about other places we've been to, and they have not turned out so bad. I just assumed this would be the case in this Hotel, but boy we were in for a shock. Forget it if you are British, you are not catered for in any shape or form. The food was a disgrace, no change, no choice and repetitive beyond belief. If you had gone with children, I'm sure they would have found nothing suitable except chips, which were on the menu every day. I CHALLENGED THE OWNER ABOUT THE FOOD BUT HE INSISTED IT WAS OK. This Hotel has it so wrong, they shouldn't be allowed to stay open unless they completetly overhaul everything. Me and my Husband are not fussy people, we did not expect too much for what we paid, but this was way, way below our expectations. We wouldn't go there again, even if it was free, please please beleive all the bad reviews, they are so,so true.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Suzyl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

my partner and myself have just returned after one week at the pela maria hotel on 12/10/2011.the rooms are very small and basic.the cleanlyness is very poor.the food is absolutly discusting and all leftovers are regenerated the next day disciesed as a differant meal.the food is always cold or lukewarm.the pool area never gets any sunshine as its totally in the shade at all times,making the sunbeds a total waste of time.the allinclusive hours are incorrect as stated.as the actual hours for free drinks is 2200 hours and not 2400 hours.you can only have certain drinks after 2000 hours,it just so happens that the soft drinks mixer always broke down at 2000 hours every evening as they had large qantities of orange left over from the days meals that had to be used before you could get a mixer of your choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmes w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

i really dont know where to start with this review, everything about this hotel is terrible and i feel very angry and annoyed that we spent our hard earned holiday money on a place like this!
we stayed in the pela maria from the 4th october 2011 to the 12th and i can honestly say i would never stay here ever again. on arrival ( 11pm ) we were told there would be no food or drink avaliable even thought we were all inclusive. our room had black mould all over the walls and was filthy. the next morning we complained and were told that there were no other rooms avaliable but suddenly after stating we wanted to be moved hotels a room became free!! this room was also mouldy and damp and was only cleaned once in the week we stayed. the towels were only changed if you physically threw them on the floor outside the room and the bed sheets were not changed at all.
the food was shocking and we had to spend all our extra money on eating out for all most every meal. the bar only runs till 10pm and after that you are charged. The staff are very helpful if you are willing to put a tip in their jar every time you go to the bar, apart from that the reception staff are very rude and unhelpful and the manager could not be any less bothered about complaints.
the pool is freezing and the sun never even hits the sun loungers so there is really no point in them being there! the whole place if filthy dirty and we saw cockroaches on several occassions. a few couples we met on the holiday also had black mould and bugs in their rooms and the hotel had refused to move them or transfer them.
please please please do not stay here, i cannot describe just how bad this hotel is and i would hate for any one else to make the same mistake as we did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charliepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

my self and my partner was at this hotel, its was basic but hey it was cheep, the staff were very friendly, we had clean towels everyday, are room was small. the food wasnt much but im a fussey eater, we have already booked for next year,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#58 of 171 in Hersonissos
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sergios Hotel
Sergios Hotel
#55 of 171 in Hersonissos
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#47 of 171 in Hersonissos
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Plazza
Porto Plazza
#91 of 171 in Hersonissos
11 reviews
19.9 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#12 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pela Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Maria Hotel

Property: Pela Maria Hotel
Address: 177 Eleftheriou Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pela Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pela Maria Hotel is a comfortable small hotel centrally located in Hersonisos, a warm and friendly Hotel one of the most popular holiday destinations on Crete. Only 40m from a sandy beach and crystal clear water, provides an ideal combination of sea, sun and relaxation. Pela Maria Hotelis a family run hotel with a harmonious and happy environment. The long experience in providing hospitality services and in focusing on every single aspect of the guests' accommodation experiences, defines the operational principle of Pela Maria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pela Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pela Maria
Pela Maria Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing