We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Minos Palace Hotel
Ranked #56 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Neukirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK hotel, great staff”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed in the hotel end of Sept. 2009, but I cannot select that particular time range in TripAdvisor.

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted by a nice and attentive staff. There's plenty of stairs to the hotel lobby and no ramp or lift, but once the bus drops you in the front of the hotel there's someone to help you carry the luggage. One evening the kitchen staff was leaving and a busload of elderly tourists just arrived. Without being summoned by anyone, everybody left their stuff at the reception and rushed to help the newly arrived guests.

Location: The hotel is a bit away from the main street (some 5-10 minutes climb). This might be a disadvantage to elderly or people with disabilities, but the whole Crete is hilly, so a bit of training does not hurt. There's not much to do on a 20 min walking distance from the hotel, with the exception of a few bars. The core of the resort is about 30min walking distance, most of it on a decent promenade. The hotel itself is a compound built by the model of a "cretan village", with one main building (reception, restaurant, bar, rooms) and several smaller houses. Connection between the houses and the hotel is done via a large "street" and many narrow staircases. Again, someone will helpfuly carry your luggage to your room, should you not be hosted in the main building. But it's definitely not something for people confined in wheelchairs or single mothers with baby strollers.

The rooms are large, offering the possibility to chat with your buddies without having to scramble to place them somewhere, but otherwise there's nothing special about them. My in-laws were accomodated in the main building, which seemed to be a bit more noisy (from the kitchen and restaurant) and had centralized A/C with predefined "on/off" hours. Our room was about three "levels" below, in one of the houses. At night it was a tad more noisy due to being closer to the main road, but the trees and cicadas were cancelling out the noise. <grin>

The restaurant was large enough to always offer a seat, but you could not always hope for a place on the terrace. A couple of times, though, the waiter came to us a few minutes later to tell us that there's a free table, should we wish. The food itself was good, a few things were really memorable (like the yogurt and the honey, a few dishes), but, on average, I would have been happy to have a more tasty food.

The animation was in a muted tone, a few sports activities (like tennis, voleyball etc) and a few fun games, nothing rude or to be ashamed of participating. No one was pushed to join, if you were looking like relaxing, even your neighbours were approached in a low voice.

The pool was relatively large, even if not huge, and seats were never a problem. The beach was a bit more problematic: to reach it, you had to either cross the main street (quite wide and driven by daredevils), or duck through a tunnel (about 1,30m height) and then cross a smaller road. Not something you'd like your kid to do alone. The beach, however, seemed to be the only one around offering sand and a decent entry in the water, the rest were really stony and hard to negociate. On the beach you could rent chaise longues and umbrellas from the beach bar (not related in any way with the hotel). End of September was great, it was a bit cloudy and warm enough. The only totally clear day we went on the beach we had to literally run for the water, so hot was the sand.

As you have noticed, the staff keeps on being the recurrent subject in this review. I read other reviews before booking the hotel, but I understood the meaning of "bending backwards to please you" only a few days after we were there. From chef to waiter, from reception to cleaning personnel, everybody was similing and willing to help. And not the usual, bought, "I smile so that you pay my rent" kind of smile, but you could really relate to the people and we started knowing about half of the team by name. In how many hotels have you been able to do this?

Things to do around: trip to Knossos, hike to the Koutouloufari village (quite picturesque). Further: go to Agios Nikolaos, extremely nice; Lashiti had no windmill (as in the picture), the water pumps seem nowadays to be driven by electricity, is not really a must.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank taconsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    116
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
86
179
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Just finished a 23 day vacation and this hotel was the first stop on the islands we were to visit. Read the reviews before booking and the good ones were right on, but know one talked about the fabulos breakfast spread and a even better dinner. The menu was buffet and nothing was left out, everthing one could image for breakfast and even more for dinner. The setting on the veranda was very enjoyable early mornings and great in the evening. Service was beyond our expectations with every need provided. Would highly recommend this place just for the food! John&Donna Calgary Ab. Canada

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DirtyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed at King Minos Palace for two weeks during the summer with my fiancee and 13 year old daughter and could not have felt more at home. The staff was attentive, friendly and had a wonderful sense of humor. They really went out of their way to make you feel at home. Moreover, this was the first trip for my fiance to Crete and he absolutely adored the hotel, from the breathtaking view (we had a view of the Cretan Sea), to the lush foliage, well maintained throughfares and delicious food. He still talks about the fresh Greek cheese that he enjoyed every morning! Such a great place to visit, we'll be staying here on our next trip to Crete!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grknurse1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST BROMWICH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Our stay at the King Minos Palace Crete.
We had a sea view(not very private balconies but great view) room which was quite spacious and clean but not so happy with bathroom. The shower was hanging on by one screw my husband reported it on the evening and someone came next day to mend it by tightening the screw. The second day they put two screws in. The shower was low on the wall and in the middle of bath and there wasn’t a lot of room, also didn’t spray too well. Sink not A1 Not a bathroom I would say was a four star.
After reading good reviews about food was a little disappointed felt it was more geared to continental cuisine. Not enough choice for breakfast no english type sausages or bacon, eggs left to cook too long crispy round the edges beans looked anaemic just very thin slices of tomatoes. No queues for the toast simple because it took forever to cook so no one bothered. Did enjoy boiled eggs you cook them yourself.
Dinner was poor the slow cooking mostly consisted of pieces of fish no meat. Potatoes and chips were very scares and only one choice in soups. We have stayed in 3 star hotels with much better food. My husband celebrated his birthday why we were there and they brought him a lovely birthday cake which was very nice. We also celebrated our anniversary the same week but decided to eat out for that. All the Dining staff were fabulous especially Patricia, Irini and Yannni.
The rest of the Hotel was quite presentable, very friendly and courteous staff the entertainment staff was great fun during the day can’t say about evening went out has drinks cheaper in town. Location ok if you like walking or climbing steps. Didn’t like Hersonissos much not my idea of Crete beaches not very clean, loved it more in Agios Nikolaos a lovely bus ride away.
Overall couldn't say it was a 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAZZWestBromwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We spent 2 weeks in August 2010. The staff was absolutely superfriendly. Nina in the reception was very helpful. In the restaurant, Jenny, Athina and the headwaiter was always very friendly. The animation team, Anita and Paulo, did a great job playing with the kids and entertaining the adults with different activities.
The room was OK, with some minor issues.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuneMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My wife and children stayed at the King Minos Palace for two weeks this summer and we shared a vacation to remember. The hotel has the friendliest staff that I have ever encountered. From the front desk to the wait staff, within two days, everyone knew us by name and went out of their way to help us in any way that they could.

The property itself is breathtaking...views of the Cretan Sea are incredible and within a short, lovely walk from the property. The food in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner were included with our package) was better than any taverna we experienced and the dining room hours were convenient for our young kids who were usually asleep by 10pm. This is important to know since many tavernas in Greece don't open until 10!

The pool, kids club, soccer field and volley ball court were used daily and the entertainment staff did a phenomenal job getting people involved in scheduled activites...the bar-b-que is a must, complete with traditional Greek dancing and broken plates!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaFrank_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is not the first time we stayed at the hotel. We always feel welcome.. The food is delicious ,the rooms quiet,the service impecable. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiota44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#60 of 171 in Hersonissos
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dimitra Hotel
Dimitra Hotel
#89 of 171 in Hersonissos
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Minos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Minos Palace Hotel

Property: King Minos Palace Hotel
Address: L Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#46 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Minos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Minos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Minos Palace
King Minos Palace Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Crete
King Minos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing