We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My position :))”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King Minos Palace Hotel
Ranked #55 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I spent a week at King Minos in mid September and it truly is a very good hotel. It's a very cozy place with a beautiful garden and it's located at about a five minute walk from a bus station.

I didn't spend a lot of time indoors because Crete is such an amazing island and I've tried to see as much as I could in such a short vacation, but I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet place to stay in Hersonissos.

I didn't like the resort much, there are a lot of nicer choices in Crete, perhaps Rethymno for many, but I'd choose Chania.

Still this hotel is truly a four star. It was without a doubt the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. The food is very good, I think I ate the tastiest tomatoes ever :)). Only one small problem - dinner. Nothing to blow your mind, they need a Chef to bring some creativity to evening meals.

By far the best thing about this hotel is its staff. Everyone friendly, warm, always glad to help you - starting with the cleaning staff and ending with those working at the reception.

My favorite is Michaelis, the waiter at the pool bar. He's got the best sense of humor and he just might be the most down to earth guy I've ever met.

I know that over the next years I won't be able to stay away from Crete and I'd choose King Minos Palace again. It is a very good four star hotel which still has some work to do in order to get to the level of its five star staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex13c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 382 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

This hotel is very good choice for families and couples. The food was very good and the pool area was also great. A large pool, which was lovely and warm in August, when we went. All the staff were friendly in the hotel and the service was good.The rooms were large for 2 adults and a child. The coast line is quite rugged and the hotel is on quite a steep incline about 5 min walk to beach across the road. The beach was small but nice, though sometimes quite rough for swimming. I think you can catch local buses to other towns or there were lots of quads bikes for hire to get around. There is a land train which takes you into the main town or can catch a taxi, Its about 20 minute walk. On Monday night at the village square they have Greek dancing, thats probably only in high season though, we caught a taxi there and back which was 10 euros each way, well worth it though a lots people have a meal and watch the dancing. We had an enjoyable holiday staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daffBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly receptionist and our bags were carried into the hotel and to our room for us. Impressed with the room, particularly the great view and the free fridge. Quickly found the local supermarket just at the end of the road so we were able to stock the fridge with lunches and drinks. Although we did enjoy eaing and drinking at the pool bar- especially with the friendly service and joking from the waiters.

Pool huge and very deep, ideal for swimming and lazing about on li-los. Never any problem getting a free sun lounger and parasol. Wonderfully relaxing to lie by the pool listening to the chirruping of the cicadas- total holiday sound!

Beach lovely and sandy, with sea that is shallow for a long way out so ideal for swimming and snorkelling- although tide was turning part way through our stay so it got a little rough for a few days. The rest of the time it was totally flat and clear. On one of the rough days we visited Lychnostatis http://www.lychnostatis.gr/english.html well worth a trip.

Star beach perfect place for those braver and livelier than us! Bungey jumping not our thing- but didn't impact on us, nor did any of the club nights- all club goers seemed very well behavedf and our room, as well as being a reasonable distance away, was totally sound proof. Air-con in room also very effective for those boiling nights!

We loved Koutouloufari in particular and the other villages up the hill- we always walked but may be a bit of a trek for anyone who has difficulty walking. It was nice to have the alternatives to the villages in the form of the livelier Harbour and Hersonissos town for a different kind of night out.

Staff inthe hotel we wonderful, they could not have been friendlier and always made us smile at breakfast and dinner. Food was super with a huge range of options from starter to dessert; we particularly enjoyed the theme nights which included italian, chinese, traditional greek and the barbecue night.

We did not see a cloud for the whole two weeks, weather was hot, hot, hot- perfect for us; but possibly a need for caution for some. We saw lots of sore looking burns! A little time considering a plan for skincare should solve any worries though- we were just very careful initially.

All in all a wonderful, relaxing holiday made all the better by the friendly Cretan people!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KaiteR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Just got back from staying at this hotel and it is absolutely fab. The rooms were clean and the bathroom although shower wasn't the best. The pool was lovely and all the staff were fantastic. Janetta the animation girl was so friendly and didn't pressurize you into joining in the activities if you didn't want to. My son who is 17 and daughter 16 next month, loved her. She was full of fun and even went out with a bunch of them in the evenings which made you feel safe. Plenty of food and variety. Waiter at the pool bar Michael was hilarious and very friendly, remembered what drinks you had ordered from previous nights. If I had to say anything negative it would be breakfast was to early, finished at 9.30am and they started packing away then. As Crete is two hours ahead that made it a bit early and we only just made it! We like to travel the world and go to different places but we will definitely be returning. Our kids are even planning a stay with their friends. Don't know how anyone can complain. Enjoy your stay here

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daclarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a seven nights stay at the King Minos Palace Hotel.
After a cramped four-hour flight, and another hour of transferring holidaymakers to their hotel, we finally reach our destination; the hotel is located on a hill slope, very much like the rest of Hersonissou.
Stepping off the coach blurry eyed and tired, we were presented with 25 steps to the reception entrance, the last thing you need after a long journey.
Grabbing our luggage we started to make our way up the steps, but out of the blue a staff member “Bellboy” came running down the stairs asking us to leave our luggage and he would carry it up to the reception for us. Brownie points already, I thought as we made our way to the top.

***Reception***
On entering the main entrance, we walked into a large reception Greek styled room, marbled flooring, and lots of natural lighting.
To the left on the main entrance you have stairs leading up to hotel rooms and stairs leading down to the restaurant and the hotel shop, you also have seating area, with a table of the tour operator’s welcome packs.
To our right, you have stairs leading up to the bar and pool area, and the reception its self.
Taking into consideration that we are tired. We had a warm welcome, by one of the receptionist, as we started to check in, you are asked to complete a form, asking such things like have you been here before, what you do for a profession, you agree to vacate the hotel room by midday.
As we signed the form, at the bottom in small print, there is a statement saying that the Hotel is a not responsible, for any personal belonging’s that are stolen from your room.
What did catch my attention is the additional 18 euros we had to pay for the safe deposit box in our hotel room, which you don’t get back!
I thought this to be cheeky, as we have just signed away any rights we had and now we have to pay extra for the privilege of peace of mind.

***Hotel Room***
The bellboy lead us to our hotel room, which was on the 3rd floor, we were given a card keys to enter the room, which you also use to activate the power to the room.
First impression of the room, it was clean, very minimal nothing too fancy but comfortable looking; we had a T.V. a little fridge and air con. The beds are firm but comfortable, we only had one pillow per bed, but I am sure they would of supplied extra ones if we asked.
The bathroom, again nothing fancy, but very clean, my partner said that the hairdryer was pretty good for a hotel one, the bath it self had a shower head connected to the main tap.
Now we had problems with the loo seats, they had a habit of sliding to one side, we found this wasn’t just our toilet either the bar loos done the same. So be careful, as it will bring tears to your eyes.
We paid extra for a sea view, which we got. It was great to wake up in the morning to be faced with the sea and the bright blue clear sky, also one thing to remember is that Crete is windy, even though it was very hot, the wind helped to keep us cool.
As I said we had a great view of the sea, to our left you could see Hersonissou, which was pretty at nighttime with all the lights reflecting off the water.
I need to point out that we could also see the national road, remember that the hotel is on hill slope and the traffic noise didn’t bother us that much as it became background noise. Something that we also found out, the flight path for the planes is in the same view as the sea, they don’t fly over us but you had a very good view of them as they made their decent into Crete.
As for balconies go, we had one of the largest there, this was because we were located over the restaurant, which gave us loads of room.
Opposite the hotel, is The Star beach hotel, be warned they do play loud music when we were there. The parties were advertised for the Tuesday’s, Thursday’s and Saturday’s, normally finishing around 12:00 to 1:00am.

***Restaurant ***
I need to mention the restaurant, this is located on the 1st floor, reception is on the 2nd and the bar and pool on the 3rd floor.
As we walked down the stair to the restaurant, you first come to the hotel’s own shop, which sells nick knacks, cigarettes, books, postcards, but no water or drinks, you can either get it from the bar or you can pop down the hill to the local shops to get that.
The restaurant has dress code for men; we can’t wear shorts, trousers only.
The restaurant is very large room, again in a Greek design, its very clean, lots of room, lots of natural light.
It’s a simple arrangement, help yourself to the buffet and choose where you want to sit, one of the restaurant staff will take your order for drinks. A price of a bottled still water is 2.80 euros; a bottle of cola is 2.30 euros.
Now this is where my partner and I feel the hotel let it self down, the food, the best way I can put this is, school dinners with a flair. You would come away feel full but not satisfied. The odd occasion there would be something, but overall we wished we ate out. Example, chicken was so tuff and dry that we couldn’t cut it, and if we did manage to cut it, it took forever to chew, we found that the vegetables were almost raw, this was off putting.
Now breakfast, this become tiresome, same thing every morning, scrambled egg was cold, fry eggs looked liked they had been sitting there for 30mins, boiled frankfurters, fried frankfurters, home made baked beans.
It would get busy for breakfast about 8:45 to 9:00 am.

***Pool bar***
Pool area, very large and clean, loads of sun lounges, the hotel does not tolerate customers leaving towels on the lounges to reserve them, we were advised if this happens, to inform the reception and they will have them removed. Remember this hotel dose have, Dutch, French, Italian and German Holiday makers as well and it does happen.
The pool is very large, and it is a temperature shock, as its colder then you may think, however great fun.
I did have to laugh at the crazy golf, not even worth it; in fact, I noticed everywhere in Hersonissou they like their crazy golf, much better then what the hotel has to offer.

***Staff***
We had no problems with the staff found them all be polite and friendly, the reception staff are very helpfull, even the maids would say greet us with a smile and a pleasent good morning.


*** Hotel location***
As I’d mentioned before the hotel is based on a hill, it is a good location close enough to Hersonissou, but not in the thick of it. Around the area of the hotel is a mixture of other hotels and local residents.
As you walk down the hill, you reach within 5mins the national road; this is very busy with taxi’s coaches’ hired cars, mopeds, quad bikes and local residents driving up and down.
On the same road, is a Super Market; you can get most things from here. Outside the Super Market is the Taxi stop, also the bus stops.
Running along the national road is a minor road, safer walk on; but you do get the odd mad moped.
If you need a cash point, the best thing to do is stay on the left of road, walk 15mins into Hersonissou and you will come to one of the national banks.
Hersonissou itself is very busy, not just with the traffic but other holidaymakers, loads of bars and shops, be aware that there are people who give away scratch cards, and guess what you’re a winner!! O surprise.
Hersonissou is very much a Dutch resort; Malia is the English 18 to 30 area. I would have to say I didn’t feel any atmosphere in Hersonissou and did feel safe to walk about minding my own business.
Going back to the Super Market, instead of following the main road into Hersonissou, if you take the left hand road it leads you up the mountain to the quieter villages of old Hersonissou, be warned though you do get taxi’s and coaches driving up and down them, we found it is about 30min walk up to Koutiulofari after that 5mins walk to Piskopiano and then 10mins to old Hersonissou.

*** Irakilo Airport***
Irakilo airport is one of the busiest in Greece, and one of the smallest, so you will find your self standing outside in the heat, waiting to enter the airport, I wont go into too much details, but they do have a complicated checking and you will find yourself standing in many queues. When you have got passed passport control, they only have two TV’s with the flight departures, which you do need to keep an eye on as its not clear to when you are leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DamDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Just returned from a very relaxing holiday. The hotel and staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. Rooms very clean. Not a great deal to do for young children - although lovely pool. Beach was a little trek away, but worth going to. Beach furthest (just past the strange musuem)away was our favourite run by a lovely man who also provides lunches at a very reasonable cost. which he brings to your sun lounger (which was also cheaper that the other beaches) We were recommmend to a restaurant in one of the nearby villages called Galinis - very expensive and food absolutely awful - do not go a complete rip off!!!!
The only downside of the holiday is location - Hersonissos is pretty tacky and the cost - £4.00 for a Beer - £2.50 for a soft drink etc. in the hotel is too expensive. Spent a fortune. But overall very relaxing friendly holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We have just returned from a fanastic week in King Minos.Cannot fault the hotel in anyway. Everyone so friendly and helpfulThe food was absolutlely fanastic such choice each night. We were only disappoined that we missed the Babaque which they have every fortnight on a Tues. We did 2 trips.one to the Water Park which Kids loved and Spingolonga island which was great especially having read the book the Island.We stopped for a BQue and was great to dive from back of boat and swim to an island. We werent so keen on Hersonissos very commencial but was well worth the walk up to the Old Hersoissos to see villages. We did go to a beach the other side of Malia which was recommended to us by receptionist and was a lovely sandy beach.Did find things expensive to buy with Euros, and drinks in the hotel were expensive we choice to have water with our evening meal. Pool and facilities were great

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.1 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#13 of 174 in Hersonissos
1,063 reviews
18.3 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sundance Apartments & Suites
Sundance Apartments & Suites
#9 of 13 in Koutouloufari
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#15 of 174 in Hersonissos
620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glaros Beach Hotel
Glaros Beach Hotel
#71 of 174 in Hersonissos
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Minos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Minos Palace Hotel

Address: L Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#39 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $75 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King Minos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Minos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Minos Palace
King Minos Palace Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Crete
King Minos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing