We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Minos Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Recently returned from a two week break at the King Minos Palace. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Clean tidy rooms, lovely pool, quiet location.
The main attribute is the lovely staff who work so hard and were genuinely extremely pleasant people who made us feel so welcome. Stella, Manolis,Athena, Nikos, George, (the lovely lady who jokingly offered us warm beers who never told us her name), Alex,Yannis, the reception staff and Dominique (a true professional who worked extremely hard). We hope the management in their ivory towers appreciate how fantastic their staff are, and that they all deserve great credit.
They are why we would recommend this hotel to all as an ideal place to spend a holiday in Crete. We definitely intend to return often. Thanks to the excellent staff service.

Room Tip: The bungalows or the rooms with bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymropur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    112
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
85
172
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a nice relaxing two weeks at the King Minos Palace. On arrival in the early hours of the morning our holiday started well. The hotel looked really nice as we pulled in on the coach, the man at the reception came down and helped us with our luggage we then quickly booked in, we had booked two sea view rooms as we are a family of four and were given rooms in two parts of the hotel, the receptionist stated during the next day they would move us to rooms next door to each other when another room became available. The rooms were nice and clean and have plenty of cupboard space for clothes etc. The beds are pretty confortable with nice soft pillows. The bathrooms were also spotless with a small bath/shower, hairdryer. The balconys in our rooms had a lovely sea view with just enough room for a couple of chairs and a table. One thing i really liked about the room was that there were two balcony doors the outside a shutter type one and the inside a normal glass one, the use of both of these kept the room cooler throughout the day, as well as quieter during the night. This was negated by the noise of the aircon though as it was very noisy and didn't seem to really cool the room that much. We also had something else that started up early in the morning by our room that woke me up. Having said that i soon got used to it after the first couple of nights.
The Hotel throughout is very clean in all areas and i cannot remember seeing any rubbish anywhere although this may have been due partly to the clientel of which there were a mix of countries. The pool was also large and clean with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. We had no problem getting four sunbeds together even when we arrived late from breakfast.
Talking of food there was plenty of choice at breakfast which came with a pot of coffee or tea. Evening meals again had a good choice but were mainly Greek dishes with lots of sauces etc mixed in as well as salads. I think we only had chips one or two nights and potatoes of different descriptions with things like mustard and mushroom sauce etc on others this did not go down well with my very fussy youngest daughter. I am pretty fussy myself but always found something I could eat in the mixture of meat and fish dishes available. The deserts were also nice with staple icecream cakes jelly fruit etc.
The beach was five mins away down hill reached through the hotel gardens and under the main road, sunbeds etc were available on these and we found it a squeeze to find a space to put our towels as the beach was pretty crowded with these sunbeds.
Hotel daytime activities where the normal type of things but were never pushed onto you, but could keep you busy most of the day if thats what you like to do. Evening entertainment was reasonable with a few professional acts such as Greek dancers, Magic, as well as the normal bingo quiz night etc. If you wanted more the main street was about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel this had plenty of choice from the sedate to party animal bars and discos as well as a good selection of shops to browse through.
Staff at the hotel as others have stated were all really friendly and did go out of their way to help and make your stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Seaview Room was worth it if you wanted to just sit some nights relax and admire the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watchnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We,ve just arrived back from a 2 week stay at the King Minos Palace in Crete, when we were considering where to stay we read alot of reviews on Trip Advisor to gather as much imformation as we could and on the whole we agree with many of the comments. We chose it as we wanted to stay in a fairly lively resort but just on the out skirts which is exactly where it is.You can walk into the main strip of Hersonisos quite easily which has a number of shops,bars etc, if you want to go to the harbour which is right at the far end of the strip then I would recommend a taxi, we got one for 7 euros one way and walked back. This area has lots of busy bars, nightclubs etc. Hersonisos has lots to offer every one, the busy bars in the centre, busy beaches with watersports and then not to far along you can find the quieter beaches, one of which is opposite the hotel, found by a 10 min walk down some steps, under the main road and your there. the sunbeds (3) and umbrella cost 11 euros per day. As alot of people have stated there are alot of steps upto and around the hotel, as for the hotel its self the main positives are the friendly staff and the fab pool area, one of the best we,ve ever been to,not to busy, very clean,sunbeds always available and the water was perfect.
we stayed half board, breakfast had lots of choice most things you would want, as for dinner they have a dress code for men ( long Trousers) which we felt was unnecessary,but agian food very varied and fine. We were disappointed that we were unable to choose the alcholic drink of our choice with our meal, all that was on offer were beer or wine and of course soft drinks, we were also not allowed to purchase a drink from their bar and bring it through with us- very strange!!
We booked a sea view and that was what we got, a lovely view and a balcony the size of a car park!! sounds great but no privacy what so ever, we like to relax before dinner and spend time on our balcony but you couldnt realy, people were alway walking around, right pass your door, groups of people would come up and take photos of the view. So no privacy at all in your room.
The room itself was average and very clean, the fridge was small only held a few small bottles, had an ice compartment which we filled the first day and was still water the day we left. so didnt work to well!! Our worst problem which was a major thing for us the AIR CON, it was the WORST we have ever had, we couldnt sleep it was unbearable, now admittedly our 1st week they were having a heat wave, we were in the shower in the middle of night! We spoke to the staff about this and two men came to look at it and told us there was nothing wrong and then told us it gets turned off in the night anyway!! Nothing wrong with it!? Thats Madness. Our daughters description of it was , as if someone was the other side blowing through the vent! We had to complain again this time to our rep, they gave us a seperate keycard which ment that while we were out the air con could keep running, it made a slight difference but nothing realy, we were glad the weather cooled slightly our 2nd week. In our opinion all throughout the main hotel the air con is awful, normally when you walk into a hotels lobby the air con hits you, not here hardly any change from the outside, its the same in the restraunt, very uncomfortable. Friends joined us for our 2nd week and there room was in a seperate block from the main hotel building and there room had the individual air con in it and it was perfect.
We hired a jeep for 4days which was realy good, we enquired through our rep who quoted us 400 euros, after a trip down the main strip we eventually got it for 180 euros a big difference.
We visited the little village up the road from the hotel alot, it is a must, we walked the first time, its quite a trek and went by taxi after that, say no more!
We ate twice at Emmanuels which was lovely, staff very friendly, chatty and you were made to feel very welcome, also if you like cocktails, Vinnies is a must too, the best cocktails all made with freshly squeezed juice, yum! Just around the corner from Emmamuels.
We all had a lovely holiday but one tip if you like your air con dont stay in the main building.

Room Tip: I would pick one away from the main building if you like your air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ExeterToller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a very nice experience spending a 1-week vacation at King Minos Palace.
All hotel amenities were well maintained, rooms are very clean, the restaurant had a spectacular view, very good food and is very well and politely coordinated by maitre d'hotel Yanni, the pool is huge and has points of different depths (from 1.20 m to 2.80 m) allowing good swimming and fun. If you have enough energy left from Cretan sun, you could play tennis, football, basketball, volleyball, chess with large pieces in the garden, mini-golf, all located around the pool, no need to worry that are far from each other. Great service from all the personnel, reception, restaurant, pool-bar, entertainment team - it is a small team, but with great hearts and very friendly. Families with kids or without can enjoy the vacation here, if they are looking to relax. There were no rowdy or noisy young groups here. The entire hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, I understand now the people that come here for years in a row. Hotel reception and its entire architecture, with its interior gardens full of exotic flowers, is beautiful.
The beach (I personally recommend Aleko's Garden) is close, follow a stairs trail down-the-hill, 5 min walk going to the beach, 10 min walk coming back. Two beach chaise-longs and 1 umbrella is 8 EUR per day. Reasonable good food can be found near the beach at the Aleko's Tavern. Return from the beach (climbing these stairs) is kind of difficult and you need to take it easy, if you are tired or a little bit older in age.
Don't be scared that the city shops are far from the hotel - we were a father and a 8-year boy, and it's just a 15 minutes walk (going in the city - down the hill) and 20 min coming back. I would recommend people though to shop for table / mineral water at the Carrefour hypermarket at the base of the hill, it can save some money vs the bar / restaurant.
I would have an idea - why not opening another bar on the huge terrace near the billiard room? The view from there is spectacular, and I would like to return to the hotel in couple of years to take pictures from there, I simply forgot to do that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiberiu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We just returned from a three week vacation to Crete and stayed at this picturesque hotel. We have stayed here every time we return to Crete for a number of reasons. The physical location of the hotel provides a fantastic view of the sea, the rooms are spacious and very clean, the meal buffets offer outstanding offering a variety of meals and the service is OUTSTANDING! Thank you Alexis, Nina, Maria, Athina and George!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grknurse1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was the first hotel on our holiday tour. The room was pretty average and the beds were a little hard. However, we had a wonderful view facing the beach. There were chairs on the balcony so we enjoyed the view each chance we had. The dining staff were friendly and helpful. The head waiter made sure we felt welcomed and invited us to partake of the barbeque that is held on Tuesdays. If you are there on a Tuesday, do not pass this up. The food is amazing. The sculptures of fruit and general display of the food was very creative. We also enjoyed authentic Greek music. The hotel staff at the front desk were very helpful and called the airline that had lost our luggage to find out where it was. Fortunately for us, after 3 days of waiting, our luggage showed up in Santorini. There is a ten minute walk to the beach which is lovely. If you have difficulty with climbing, this may not be the best hotel for you as there are many steep steps/hills to climb on the property and to/from the beach.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, make sure your room faces the beach. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Have just recently returned from our 5th consecutive year at this hotel and this experience was just as good as our first. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful and remember us from year to year with hugs and handshakes. On our second visit we were given a room that was not to our tastes and on enquiring were moved to a different one with a view over the beach. Ever since then our requests for a similar room have been met without fuss. This sums up the attitude of the management and the staff of the hotel and it is this and the magnificent pool that attracts us back year after year. The hotel is located in a quiet spot that suits us but the lively main strip of Hersonnissos is just 15 minutes walk. A little further on along the coastal walk towards the harbour you have the lines of restaurants and tavernas who offer a quieter more relaxing alternative as well as a friendly welcome and hospitality. If neither of these are to your tastes the villages of Koutoulafari & Piskopiano offering a more sedate eating and shopping experience are a 7-8 euro taxi ride away or for the more energetic a 20 minutes uphill walk. Although the food in the hotel is very good we did eat out there on several occasions.
On a more general note we were a little concerned about any reaction to Greece's financial difficulties both in terms of our spending money and the attitude of the people. We need not have been because the hospitality of the people and the value for money in the resort was as good as ever, despite the difficult times they have been facing. If you are thinking of going to Crete don't be put off for this reason.
Looking forward to next year already .
C & D B Durham

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#60 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#7 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#14 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#49 of 174 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Minos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Minos Palace Hotel

Property: King Minos Palace Hotel
Address: L Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#46 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Minos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Minos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Minos Palace
King Minos Palace Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Crete
King Minos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing