We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Dimitra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dimitra Hotel
Ranked #92 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

it was a surprize for us. we thought we went to a two star hotel and we didn't expect much. once arrived there we changed our mind:tv, extremely clean. the people were very kind. The swimming pool was amazing, the beer by the swimming pool, too. it's a quit hotel, far from the busy street (3 min walk). breakfast is just ok: I would have liked olives every afternoon. when i return to crete, if i am to stay in hersonissos, i'll choose dimitra hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manexno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
33
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

would recommend this hotel.lovely staff great location good sea view.rooms are basic but clean with on suite bathrooms.why pay more when this 2 star family is ideal.5 minutes from the center of town.couldnt ask for more

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

This hotel was really lovely, very clean etc. Staff / owner really friendly people. Location great. Would recommend it for anyone considering travelling to Hersonissos. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for one week in mid June 2009, the hotel is at the end of the Hersonissos resort, within a walking distance to the center and to the tavernas on the sea shore. It is very clean and because not on the main road also quiet. It is not so far from a nice beach. Except for the mosquitos (please bring along or buy something against them from the first day, in the first night we killed around 15 and could not close an eye). Except this everything is excellent for such a hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be_veronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We spent a week in this hotel in late September. We did not expect much of this two-star hotel, but it turned out to be surprisingly good. The hotel does not offer much, but we were satisfied with almost everything. The hotel is relatively calm, as it is not on the main road. We were lucky to get a room on the top floor with a nice view to the sea from the balcony (probably our stay would have been much less enjoyable in a room on the street level). Occasionally, we were disturbed by noises from the corridor and the lobby (slamming doors, loud speech, etc).

The pool was all right: clean and not so small. The continental breakfast was very basic: cheese, ham, jam etc.

The main drawback of the hotel has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but with the area. The hotel is located at the Eastern end of Hersonissos (towards Stalia). This area is an over-developed tourist complex, where every square meter is covered by tourist shops, hotels of various sizes, dozens of rental car agencies, restaurants etc. You won't find anything remotely original or authentic here, with the exception of the wonderful Lychnostatis open-air museum. There are some (rather small) sandy beaches 5-10 minutes from the hotel, but Hersonissos is not as rich in beaches as some other locations we visited.

Summary: Probably this hotel is a good choice in its area and price range, but make sure that you really want to stay in a very touristy area like that.

NOTE: As a previous reviewer pointed out, the photo on the tripadvisor website is from the hotel Dimitrion, which is different.

  • Liked — calm (not on the main road), sea view from balcony
  • Disliked — the general area (extreamly touristic)
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piskota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Last week - 24-31 augustus - I stayed in Dimitra in Hersonissos. The hotel is clean, and quiet - or I was lucky in this period -, nice view to the see.. The breakfast is simply continental and every morning is the same - butter,cheese, jam, ham, melone, yoghurt - the pool is very clean, and I didn't need more.
In every room is cabel, in the hall is there internet.
2 minutes to the bus to Heraklion, and 5 minutes to the beach, 10 minutes easy walk to the center of Hersonissos.
This hotel is very recommended for who needs calm but everything is close.

Warning !
The photos on the Tripadvisor's Dimitra side are not from the Dimitra !!
They are from the Dimitrion, but that is another hotel !!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank szalapala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2005

My fiance and I stayed at the Dimitra in September, as a result of getting moved from a not so nice hotel. So it was a relief to be placed in such a clean hotel. I mean it wasn't spotless, but was pretty close. The hotel itself is quite basic, but on the whole nice enough.

The views were lovely, you could see all the way to the harbour and the other way to Stallis, very calming sea view.

However, I must say that there were very few English guests. The breakfast was continental, the food was nice, but the same everyday, bread, jam, ham, cheese, cereal, cake, tea, coffee, squash and then the choice of tomato, peach, greek yoghurt or a hard boiled egg! Not good when your craving for a full English!

Anyway, the pool was clean and quiet, quite deep too! On the downside, the pool bar was rarely manned and most of the sunbeds were broken.

The hotel is at least 40mins walk from the main nightlife and there is quite a hill to contend with on the way home!

I would recommend this hotel for guests that don't mind a walk, enjoy spending time by the pool and like to have a little quiet time.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
9.1 mi away
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
#4 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Melpo
Hotel Melpo
#57 of 171 in Hersonissos
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Adamakis
Hotel Adamakis
#73 of 171 in Hersonissos
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Iro
Hotel Iro
#81 of 171 in Hersonissos
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#49 of 171 in Hersonissos
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mastorakis Hotel
Mastorakis Hotel
#90 of 171 in Hersonissos
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimitra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitra Hotel

Property: Dimitra Hotel
Address: M Adamaki Str, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dimitra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dimitra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitra Hotel Hersonissos
Dimitra Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing