We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hersonissos
Post
Inbox
Search
Hersonissos Train Day Tour
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great fun

We got the train from the seafront at the Caldera Palace Hotel & opted for the shorter trip (€13... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
GillyB23
,
Essex
It was ok

We went the other day. Gives you a good idea of the area. Got off at old village and had lunch... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Robertd231
,
Keswick, United Kingdom
Read all 375 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hersonissos
from $75.03
More Info
from $45.47
More Info
from $62.53
More Info
from $62.53
More Info
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
108
113
76
36
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
108
113
76
36
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half day tour hop on hop old village train takes road train your bearings stop number traditional crete sea front great value for money per adult couple of hours few hours commentary journey euros 1hr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is very well organised, convenient and cheep tour. If you stay in Hersonissos, this would be a very good option for looking arround (especially adviced for older people or children

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Medard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

When the train eventually arrived 45mins late with no apology we set off. Through the olive groves. We stopped at a tiny monastery extra 2euros for the museum. Then off to the olive factory tour which consisted of a guy in a small room talking about the pictures on the wall foe about 3 minutes then left for 10 to buy stuff. Than went past the new dam mildly interesting. Then on to two villages first one where the guide showed us where the shops used to be! Then on to Tavern (cafe) to buy a drink or snack but only had 30 mums could wake to the next village we did don't bother it's a dump. Came back the same way we had to wait to get a different train to take us back to the hotel.
I think it would have been better to hire a car for the day. Crete has a lot more to offer than this!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Booked this trip at the shop as advised, unfortunately the lady in the shop wrote down the wrong pick up point on our ticket. When we went to pick up the train there was a guy selling tickets for the other train that runs. Luckily he saw our ticket and rang for the driver to stop and pick us up just as it was about to pass by us. On the way back the driver failed to stop at our drop off point. We tried calling,pressing the bell,waving but he didn't stop. When he stopped st the next drop of we asked him if he could drop us back to our hotel as I had my elderly parents with us who have mobility issues. He said he didn't pick up from that hotel. We reminded him of the phone call from the ticket seller but he didn't want to know. He was very rude and aggressive & told us it wasn't his problem it was ours & that the train stopped here and that was his last word on the matter. We had to get a taxi to take my parents back to the hotel. We had been on both tours with this company but a problem that was caused by the lady in the office in the first place they couldn't help us out. We wont be using them again.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 45jar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Went on the 1.5 hour tour what we got was 20 mins in old town, not even time to stop for a drink. Lots of back remote areas with nothing to see, then some hotels and a strip of beaches. All in all nothing seen all for 54.00 euros.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank s2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

We took the 1 1/2 hour "tour" and were the last ones to board at our hotel (Stella Palace), but being first thing in the morning it wasn't too busy and we found somewhere to sit. You are allowed off twice during the trip, once in the hillside village and once in the town.

We headed up to a village in the mountains, which was very pretty, the train stops here and you can wonder around until the next one arrives (or stay all day if you want!). We had a wonder around and purchased some souvenirs and headed back to the bus stop.

It was a bit of a free for all!

If no one gets off the next train then you could be left for another hour in the blazing heat and with no one controlling the queue. Luckily we found some space.

The second stop is in the old town. We stayed in town for a couple of hours and had a good look around.

Getting back on here things are a little more organised with a queuing system for the next train... but they give preferential treatment to those that have spent money in the adjoining cafe!

After this it was a whistle stop tour of the resort area hotels, which we kind of enjoyed as we liked to see what the other hotels are like! Along the sea front and a drop off back at our hotel.

We made the most of it and enjoyed the trip, but i wouldn't use it if you wanted a nice sightseeing tour! Probably best to take a taxi or bus if you are "out of town" as you won't miss much and it'll be a lot cheaper.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank wayned811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews