We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best eatery for miles”
Review of Coast cafe

Coast cafe
Ranked #24 of 221 Restaurants in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Edgworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best eatery for miles”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took trip advisor's advice and went to the Coast Cafe whilst we were staying locally and wanted a break from the 'all inclusive brigade'. The service was great and the food was excellant. It really is a cut above all the other sea front places. It's clearly pretty new and I just hope they don't get complacent as we intend to revist whilst we are there next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P6JWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    58
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“No doubt at all... unique in Herssonisos!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

No doubt at all... in Herssonisos is not easy find something like this place. Position to the cost after the city harbor in a very panoramic view, gives the atmosphere of a very attractive place. Staff is friendly, polity and very helpful. Decoration is unique and has no compare to other estiatorie (restaurants). A combination of black, olive color and light grey decorated perfectly with the orchid-ea flowers set in each table inside the restaurant inculcate in our memories. Also the tables at the beach give a pleasant stay using as side walk cafe.
Soft drinks and cocktails very well served and coffee as well. Various kinds of food and quality give more opportunities of choice making. We used "Coast cafe" for lunch several time and any time a new delicious taste came up from a very professional cook. Dorada fish (kind of sea bream) served with excellent fines well cooked tradition vegetables from Crete. Shrimps couldn’t be same as fish if isn't very fresh, but still cook did a very precious kind cooking and serving in a very big cup. Price acceptable for the kind of the food we chose.
Even they try cover the building in a fantastic way by painted fresh, outside upper part has a very unpleasant ruff just string of iron which in my point of view should find a way covering totally.
"Coast cafe": one of the best memories for us from the visit in Crete!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
“The best place to visit in Chersonissos!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Coast cafe is the best place to visit in Chersonissos! You can either have lunch or dinner in a perfect decorated, romantic and relaxing environment. As for dishes, I would definately recommend the salmon fillet and ceasar salad. The coctails and wines are also amazing! Maria and Yiannis, the owners, and the rest of the staff are very friendly and provide excellent services that makes everyone enjoy great experience during summer holidays!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“There is no better place in Heronissos”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a party of 19 to Celebrate our wedding blessing.
Jiannis and Maria the owners helped us with all the plans for not only the meal but also helped us with the Blessing.
This they did not have to do, but they were fantastic and we could not have had our blessing without there help.

The Resaurant it self is STUNNING AND THE FOOD IS PHENOMINAL.
Jiannis and his team created a wonderful culinary experience with 1st class service.

The meal was perfect in every way and every person that was with us said how much they enjoyed the food (we had some very fussy people with us a well)
The whole experance from sitting down to leaving the COAST CAFE was amazing.
If you are ever in HERSONISSOS you must put the Restaurant on your must do list
Sit down and enjoy the ambience of this place weather you are having a evening meal or a lunch you will find no better

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crete4ussoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location - high quality food - best cocktails in town - superb staff!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a perfect place for a perfect meal. The food is absolutely outstanding.
You can eat lunch or dinner. You will love it. Ask for a good wine, Cretan wine. After dinner you must try out one the cocktails. Probably the best in town!
Sit down in the nice lounge chairs, listening to the nice chill out music and enjoy the view of the ocean. Totally relaxing!

The staff will make you feel like a king! Proffesional and top class service!

The interior and decor is so nice. The high level of details is outstanding. Never seen anything like this on Crete. And its clean!

Please try this place before you visit another "tourist dinner" restauarnt in the same street!

Thanks to all of you at Coast!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast cafe also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Coast cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing