We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday apartments not good !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Ranked #11 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday here , I must say we had a fantastic time , the staff all nice pools good an my son loved the slides, food was nice but not much choice in morning an afternoon upstairs in the eve had more choice. If you don't like walking its not for you it's a 10-15min walk up or down hill to village an town. All public areas were really nice an kept clean, what lets this hotel down is the very tired apartments , we had a broken chair,broken lights an the kitchen was not really big enough to use I managed to do a breakfast , the balcony was tiny but worst was the bathroom the bath was half the size of a bath even to small to stand an shower in (when it worked) an the bath was very rough an old with nasty black all round the taps an tiles an after speaking to others there's were the same . I would definitely return if the rooms were updated .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank voncallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 422 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

bit of a shock on arrival £105 to pay for the safe and air con, would like to have known about that be for. never was able to get a hot shower. however a family run apart hotel, friendly staff, and clean apartment. the cooker did blow up, but was fixed straight away.

Room Tip: dont go down on the ground floor, you can hear everyone above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had a good week here,location is ok around 10-15 minutes walk down to the beach area and about the same distance walk up to the villages of Piskopiano and Koutoloufari (Old Hersonnisos a bit further on from that),bit of a steep walk up in places but if you're reasonably fit then it's no problem.

Apartments very clean as is the complex itself-nice pool (didn't use the other pool with slides so can't comment) and plenty of sunbeds on the grassy area. Hired air con at 6 euros a day which, although not cheap, was needed as it was hot day and night. Safety deposit box also available in the room for 12 euros a week.
Food in the snack bar is very good and reasonable with a good choice Tried the restaurant once and that was good too.Eric behind the bar is a friendly enough chap,didn't find him pushy as other people have commented,always willing to have a chat and ask how your day has been.

We weren't impressed with the beach area,too many English type bars for us,but if you like that sort of thing then it's there.Preferred the villages,had a more authentic feel to it and you weren't harrassed into going into their restaurants/bars-just very friendly-prices cheaper here than the beach area. Favourite restaurant was Lychnos,as you enter village of Piskopiano,with good views,paid around 30 euros for main meal,dessert and 2 carafes of house rose-was almost 50 euros for a similar meal in the beach area with not the same quality.
Went on the Spinalonga half day trip,was good value at 18 euros each,booked it in the beach area-had around 1.5 hours on the island itself which was just about right ( bus took about an hour each way ),worth going there,quite interesting.
Overall an enjoyable holiday,good apartments though if we did return then we'd find somewhere in the villages to stay as it was nearer to the restaurants and small bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snaz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks at end of August and had a lovely time. The receptionist was lovely, always very smiley and helpful. We arrived at about 4.30pm and it took us about 10 mins to check in and we were shown straight to our apartment and encouraged to come back to the bar area for a drink and a look around. The bar area was quite nice and the bar staff were all very nice as well. We were on half board so had breakfast in the bar area on a morning and dinner in the restaurant upstairs on an evening. The food was always plentiful and well cooked and most of the time my fussy 17yr old was satisfied. Lunch could be bought from the bar area and we did partake quite a few times and it was always freshly cooked and tasty. The apartments themselves were quite basic but it was what we expected. They were cleaned every day and the towels and sheets were changed 3 times in the 2 weeks we were there. We made ourselves lunch a couple of times in the apartment but as there are only two cooking rings we just made simple stuff. We only went down the hill into Hersonnisos Port one evening and once during the day but if I'm honest I didn't really enjoy it - my husband described it as Blackpool on speed. If we went out for a drink of an evening we usually walked up the hill into Piskopiano and Koutoulafari as they were more what I imagined a greek village to be. There were plenty of restaurants, not quite so many bars but they all looked very nice and the drink prices were on a par with Bellos to be fair so we didn't always go out as it was just as nice to sit in the hotel bar area. My only niggle/complaint is that we had to pay for air-conditioning (although I knew that having read reviews) but on the Jet2 website it is not marked as an extra charge - I will be pointing that out to Jet2 as their brochure is obviously wrong. To be fair the cost is not too excessive but if you're on a budget it's a bit of a shock. The hotel pools were lovely - although I only went in the upper one (without the slides), cold but once in you get used to it. The garden area where people placed their sunbeds was beautiful and very well kept. We attended the barbecue both weeks as we were HB so it was included but I gather SC guests had to pay and I don't know how much or whether they thought it was worth it. All in all a very relaxing fortnight away in a lovely apartment block with very nice people who were always friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

fab fab fab, wished there was a kids club in day & childrens entertainment in the evening, would of gave it a 5/5 every hospitable, very welcoming. Oh and Make sure you walk up to the towns if you fancy a night out, the taverns up there are much cheaper than on the seafront,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have just recently returned from Crete where I stayed at Bellos Aparmtents, when I first got there the resort was so deceiving. The resort is well his away within a small group of villas which gives of a community feel within the group. When I was there my family and I were walking into the restaurants within the other hotels around Bellos and we were able to talk freely to the other guests and be well looked after by the staff. Within the hotel there are two pools ( one with slides) and two smaller pools for the younger ones, each pool has its own bar that delivers refreshments as well as entertainment and music making the pool atmosphere relaxed. I suggest to be careful on the slide pool though, once the kids are on the slides there is constant splashing and injuries as the kids take no notice of the regulations referred to the slides (kids will be kids I guess). If you're spending a day a the pool I also give you nots to grab your sunbeds early because around noon-ish they will all be taken.The pools shut at around 7. Within the hotel rooms they are basic and fit for the correct needs which I was completely happy with, there is a small kitchenette in every hotel room and cutlery and cooking utensils to go with. The beds are not the most comfortable things I have slept on but I have had worse with the recent few holidays I have been on, the pillows are rather hard but other than that they fit purpose and if anyone is cold on the night which I doubt there are a supply of fleecy blankets on top of the wardrobes within the apartment. The bar is the heart of the hotel, high quality food and refreshments are served there aswell as the night life taking place there too. There are cocktail , karaoke and BBQ night on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursday which are worth going to! And even without the entertainment nights there is a strong sense of night life within the bar as the kids in the hotel stay out and the older ones stay out quite late as the parents know they are safe within the resort with the staff keeping a good eye on them and there are enough things to keep them entertained down there. The staff always tend to the kids needs and keep them out of any trouble. There is a pool table, darts and computers for everyone to use at very cheap prices! The barman Eric was brilliant, as soon as you came into the hotel he greeted you and actually remembered your name for the rest of your stay! He was the life and soul of the bar and was not afraid of the karaoke either, he was always good for advice and could get you cheap deals on the car rentals local to the hotel. Overall its the best holiday I have ever been on and is fit for any kind of holiday you are looking for. I plan on going again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hjccooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just come back from a lovely 2 week holiday here and had a fantastic time. The location and complex fulfilled all of our expectations and we would highly recommend it for an excellent family holiday.
We were let down by such small apartments.... I feel I do need to write about this but I totally blame the travel company!! We paid for 4 adults although we travelled with 11 and 18 year old girls. We expected the accommodation to be at least suitable for 4 adults. We had one small wardrobe between the 4 of us which was in the bedroom and nowhere to store other clothes at all. The girls ended up keeping their clothes in their suitcases in the middle of the tight floor space of the living area which also had two single beds, table/4 chairs, kitchenette and access to front door and bathroom..... we were falling over each other!!! Air conditioning is only in this room and not in bedroom so if you want the benefit of this you will need to keep the bedroom door open and then Dad's snoring will keep you awake.....!! To access the balcony, which again could not fit 4 people on at any one time, you needed to go through the bedroom and could only just pass along the end of the beds. We did get used to all of this and we don't spend much time in the accommodation anyway but it did put a bit of a dampener on the whole two weeks - we found out later, could have opted (at the same price) for 2 studios and this would have suited much better... 2 bathrooms too - bliss!!!.
My daughter and husband along with two small children (2 and 3) who also travelled with us and stayed in their own 1 bed apartment (having paid all of the under occupancy fees) had other issues - they needed to pull the bed in front of the balcony doors to secure them closed when they tried the children out in the bedroom - but again, no air con - and when they slept in the other room they either got to escape from the apartment via a door that was easily unlocked or helped themselves to midnight feasts from the fridge!!!!! Family holidays - such fun......!

Room Tip: If travelling as 4 adults or with teenagers in the party opt for 2 studios for a degree of privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#16 of 172 in Hersonissos
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellos Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellos Hotel Apartments

Address: Limenas Hersonisou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#16 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $17 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bellos Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellos Hotel & Apartments is located in a prime position in Hersonissos Village of Crete. This 3 Star Hotel makes a great base for everyone with 72 rooms in two different types split between five blocks for all your needs. The resort operates more than 25 years in the Greek touristic industry. Bellos Hotel has the main advantage of its reputation for incomparable hospitality and warm, friendly service to all its guests. The hotel stands successfully compatible to meet all guests’ satisfaction, to create a promising, ideal and impeccable environment, a hospitable, attentive service and a relaxed, memorable holiday. From the first moment in the hotel, it is proven that it is the perfect choice for holidays in Crete. Just a 15-minute walk from Hersonissos Beach and 10-minute walk from Hersonissos center, Bellos Hotel offers many facilities such as water slides, football and tennis court. The hotel is only a 10-minute walk from scenic Piskopiano village that has taverns and shops with local products. The Resort is reserved to integrate into the town’s natural environment and combines the relaxation offered by the lush vegetation that is surrounded by, the unique sea and mountain view and in addition, the excitement to cruise along the numerous shops and bars, the glittering night life and the beaches. On the top floor of the main building, Bellos Hotel has its Restaurant with Cretan and Mediterranean cuisine for a delightful gastronomic journey. In addition, operates in Self-Catering, Bed & Breakfast and Half Board (Breakfast & Dinner) base. Breakfast with delicacies is served daily. Guests can enjoy drinks, cocktails and snacks from the pool bar around the two swimming pools and the sun terrace. An on-site shop stocks a good selection of everyday products and gifts. One unique experience in Bellos Hotel is the Barbeque night which occurs once every week with Greek music, Greek dancers and plenty food choices. To complete the fun, many other events also happen in the hotel every week such as Karaoke night, Quiz night and Cocktail night. Guests at Bellos Hotel have many wellness options such as a well-equipped gym, a sauna and a steam bath. A playground and two children’s pools are available for younger guests. The resort has also billiards, darts, board games and table tennis. Free Wi-Fi access is offered in public areas and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellos Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellos Apartments Hersonissos
Bellos Apartments Hotel
Bellos Hotel Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing