We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Bellos for 1 Week in August. Overall we had a very enjoyable holiday. The apartments are clean and of a good standard (for Greece). However, I would point out that for those travellers booking through Thomson’s, that the pictures on the website/brochure do not necessarily accurately illustrate the apartments – although they are generally of a good standard. We were a little disappointed by our room as it was very small, with a bathroom that to be honest was poor in both size and standard, though the bathroom was not unclean it could have been cleaner and tidier. Air con was 6euro per night and the safe was 12 euro per week (though please note the safety deposit boxes are located in the bar/reception area and not in your room). Another small negative was that we were allocated a room on the ground floor directly next to the bar area – this meant that we had some noise throughout the day and night, though not excessive. On a more positive note, the pool area, gardens, bar, restaurant etc are all of a very high standard. Both pool areas are lovely with the pools cleaned daily. The pool with the slides obviously gets quite busy, but we found it a very pleasant area to sunbathe and take a dip. There was always plenty of sunbeds available throughout the day. Pool bar prices are reasonable with a good selection of food and drinks. The service at Bellos is excellent, both the bar and reception staff are excellent! They are friendly and very kind hosts who are more than happy to assist you with anything.

The Bellos is located on a hill in between Hersonissos and the traditional villages of Piskopiano, Koutouloufari and Old Hersonissos. Location wise the Bellos is in a reasonable location, however, I would point out that it may not be suitable for those with walking difficulties as it is on a hillside on a relatively steep road (depending which road you choose to walk up – we tried both routes down to Hersonissos and found them to be similar in time). A tip – take a short cut through the Dia Apartments opposite the Bellos, you cut a corner off the walk. It does take a good 15 mins to reach the main resort amenities and the crowded beach. I personally would have preferred to be slightly closer to Hersonissos, especially as the road back up to the Bellos is only lit in certain places, we did not fancy the walk back up at night – though many people at the Bellos did not see this as a problem. We also ventured into the villages on several nights, we decided to take a taxi and was thankful we did as again it is quite a long walk.

We booked several trips, we went to Spinalonga and Chrissi Island – both of which were excellent. I would advise going into Hersonissos to book with the local agents (which can be found along the main road) as Thomson’s excursions are a rip off!

For a nice meal I would definitely recommend ‘Emanuel’s Taverna’ located in Koutouloufari. Also ‘Sokaki’ a small and traditional tavern which is located in Hersonissos next to the church, just off the main road. The Taj Mahal was also lovely. For a drink on an evening we preferred to avoid the harbour and head further up the beach roach. We found ‘Speil Salon’ to be a lovely cocktail bar that was quiet and friendly – the perfect place to have a drink overlooking the sea.

Overall, I would recommend the Bellos to families or couples who are looking for a hotel located within a reasonable distance to both a lively resort and more traditional Greek villages. Personally, I would not book again as I have been to far nicer resorts and stayed in better accommodation for a much lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHewitt103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellosHotelApts, Owner at Bellos Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

I would like to thank all of our guests for their good words and their support. It is important for us to receive your review because it helps us to try more and more to meet everyone's expectations and offer the best service we can.
It is important that all of our guests know that we have never misled anyone and all the informations about the Hotel are on the Agent's sites written with details.
Tui-Thomson and all other Agents we cooperate with, inform on their sites that Aircon is not free, it is payable like in every other Hotel in Hersonisos - Malia and compared to other Hotels in the area, it is a lot cheaper.
We never claimed that our safe-boxes are in the rooms. As it is written on all sites safe-boxes are payable and are located in reception area.
The fotos provided in all Tour Operators are real and were taken in the 2011 year and show the Hotel as it is.
As per our rooms, they all have the standard size. Some of them are smaller with 2 beds and some of them are bigger consisted of 3 beds.
We are very sorry if some of our guests were not satisfied with our rooms and we thank those who find them lovely and comfortable as they were designed to be cozy and offer comfort to a short stay holiday.
Thank you again all for supporting Bellos Hotel Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Bellos Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 412 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first time in Crete and spotted this great deal for the Bellos Apartments on the low cost holidays web site.......£2,000 B&B for a family of four (two rooms), for ten days. We did our usual research and most of the other trip advisor reviews for very good.

Overall this hotel is fantastic value for money, in a great location and with superb on site facilities, such as two pools, one with slides, a lovely bar area, gym, sauna etc. Guests are predominantly British and Dutch, with a few French residents whilst we were there.

The hotel is located on the side of a hill in between the the busier resort of Hersinissos (down the hill) and the much quieter, more traditional villages of Piskopiano & Koutouloufari (up the hill). We found the location perfect, as we prefer the quieter resorts, but close enough to the livelier parts for our teenage sons benefits. The location however may not suit those that are not comfortable with hilly areas.

Visiting the villages up the hill is a must, they are so much more traditional and you are spoilt for choice for places to eat and drink. If however you choose to spend your evening at the Bellos, the restaurant won't disappoint you, with lovely food but it is more expensive than elsewhere. Down in Hersinissos we ate at Acropolis several times, with good food and value for money, with a fab view across the bay.

The owners Christos and his wife were fantastic hosts, very hands on and always there to answer any queries etc. In fact Christos was so trusting, he loaned us 200 euros until we could get to the cash point down in the town! Also, Eric who runs the bar at night was very friendly and charastmatic, with Fedra each morning serving breakfasts with a smile!!!

As per the title, the only slight negative for us were the rooms. Firstly, 6 euros per room per night for the air conditioning we felt was quite expensive and took quite a large chuck out of our budget on day 1, especially as we weren't aware of this charge prior to arrival. Secondly, we found the rooms very basic and a little on the small side, but very clean, with towels changed every couple of days.

Lastly, just a tip if you are wanting to go on any trips......the island of Spinalonga is a must see and we felt was worth the money. Knossos also is a must see, but don't go through your rep as all you are really paying for is your coach fare, as you still have to pay into the attraction when you get there and don't really get long enough to see the place properly!

Would we recommend the Bellos Apartments....absolutely, as long as you don't mind very basic rooms and value good over all facilities more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, as the outer rooms can be quite noisey.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tash1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Before coming to this Hotel I did look at previous reviews and most were very positive. I travelled with my husband and 2 daughters aged 12 and 10.
Was not at all surprised to see that the Hotel location was on a hill, however it was in beautiful surroundings with fantastic scenery (not in the centre of a bustling town!)
The staff were extremely friendly. When we arrived Mr Bellos offered us all a drink on the house which was very hospitable. We were shown to our rooms which were basic but at the end of the day it is a 3 star hotel. The room was clean and towels and linen were changed frequently. The location of the room wasn't the best though as we were near the road so tended to be a little noisy.
My girls particulary loved the swimming pools. The hotel boasts 2 pools one of which has 2 waterslides. They had endless fun on the slides.
The staff were also really friendly and made you feel welcome. Eric the barman was always ready to chat and gave us tips and advice as did Maria who was a lovely lady. My girls are already missing them.
We ate at the restuarant on the first night and the food was very good. However we do enjoy to eat out and most nights walked up into the old villages of Piskopiano and Koutalafari. It was very traditional and you really felt you were looked after. We particularly liked 'Lichnos' restaurant in Piskopiano and 'Elliniko' on the way to Koutalafari. The owners were really friendly and welcoming. We only ventured into Hersonnisos one evening and although the restuarant was good we felt the town was too busy and 'touristy' for us.
I will admit that you need to be reasonably fit and like to walk hills especially during the summer months. We travelled at the beginning of August and it was extremely hot!! Keeps the waist line down a little though.
We went to the bar-b-que night at Bellos twice (Tuesdays) It cost 16 euros per adult and 8 euros per child. Very entertaining evening and so much food, too much really. The greek dancers were fun.
The beaches aren't great in Hersonissos, but you can take a short bus ride to nearby Malia which has a lovely sandy beach.
I would warn you though if you are a light sleeper you may want ear plugs. There are these big crickets (can't remember their name) that live in the trees that make the most atrocious noise. They start at about 6am and stop at around 9pm. You do start to get used to the noise eventually. Apparently they are all over Crete.
All in all we have a fantastic time at Bellos. Would we come again? Maybe, but there are so many other places in the world we would like to visit also.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whiteley-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Undoubtedly a good hotel, especially where it counts (cleanliness, service, facilities, etc) but we were not keen on the location (first time to Crete).

Unfortunately, Chersonisos is a bit like Southend, if Southend was in Holland - dirty, tacky and orange! There is very little of Crete visible here. The saving grace was the three villages up the hill from the hotel which at least had some charm. The local beaches were a little disappointing as well - thankfully the pool areas at the hotel saved the day.

The food locally was excellent and the hotel restaurant is well worth sampling being comparable to the local eateries. Prices generally were higher than we expected and comparable to the UK (and noticeably more expensive than Cyprus last year).

If the hotel was in any other location we would rate a solid 4/5. The only grumble was with the beds as the mattresses are very unforgiving (hard). In all a nice holiday but we wont be back to this part of Crete again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lola-italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is our second time at the Bellos. Everyone remembered us when we arrived. The owners Christos and Maria will do absolutely anything they can to make your stay pleasurable and memorable. Me and my wife had arranged a day trip where we had to be a good 10 minutes walk away to pick up by 8am. Christos arranged for breakfast to be served earlier than usual for us on that day and took us to the pick up point himself. This is one of the many little things that these wonderful people will do for you.

The food in the restaurant which is run by Maria is simply amazing. We ate their for the 10 nights we were at the Bellos because the food is just so good (ask Maria about Stuey mountain if you go).

Eric and bar staff keep you constantly entertained. They are so extremely happy and friendly and we had many a good night in their company.

The rooms are spotless and cannot be faulted in any way and anybody saying anything different must just feel the need to complain everytime they go on holiday. The maid service is second to none.

We think of these people as our friends now and will be booking shortly to go back next year.

Room Tip: We always ask for a high room as that is our own preference but all rooms at the Bellos are lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have been coming to these apartments for many years usually twice a year.Since my first visit I was made feel more like a friend than a guest and that's exactly what the owners and staff have become. THE food is excellant rooms spotless and the staff are faultless. When I come to these apartments its like coming home.They are in the perfect location and I cannot say anything but good things about the place.I cannot wait to go back in October and would highly recommend anyone who is going to Crete to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tyson2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Eric and Colin and all staff made us extrememly welcome nothing was to much trouble. Made my husbands 60th birthday brilliant with the cake and champane would reccoment this hotel to anyone. A brilliant time had by the four of us would definetly go back again can not wait for our next holiday to see you all again!!!

ha ha eric was gutted tony always would beat him in the darts and the snooker!!(dont worry you can get him back next time eric)

Moe Mike Tony and Jackie (from liverpool)
xxxxx

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maureen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.7 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#33 of 171 in Hersonissos
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#12 of 171 in Hersonissos
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellos Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellos Hotel Apartments

Address: Limenas Hersonisou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#16 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $18 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bellos Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellos Hotel & Apartments is located in a prime position in Hersonissos Village of Crete. This 3 Star Hotel makes a great base for everyone with 72 rooms in two different types split between five blocks for all your needs. The resort operates more than 25 years in the Greek touristic industry. Bellos Hotel has the main advantage of its reputation for incomparable hospitality and warm, friendly service to all its guests. The hotel stands successfully compatible to meet all guests’ satisfaction, to create a promising, ideal and impeccable environment, a hospitable, attentive service and a relaxed, memorable holiday. From the first moment in the hotel, it is proven that it is the perfect choice for holidays in Crete. Just a 15-minute walk from Hersonissos Beach and 10-minute walk from Hersonissos center, Bellos Hotel offers many facilities such as water slides, football and tennis court. The hotel is only a 10-minute walk from scenic Piskopiano village that has taverns and shops with local products. The Resort is reserved to integrate into the town’s natural environment and combines the relaxation offered by the lush vegetation that is surrounded by, the unique sea and mountain view and in addition, the excitement to cruise along the numerous shops and bars, the glittering night life and the beaches. On the top floor of the main building, Bellos Hotel has its Restaurant with Cretan and Mediterranean cuisine for a delightful gastronomic journey. In addition, operates in Self-Catering, Bed & Breakfast and Half Board (Breakfast & Dinner) base. Breakfast with delicacies is served daily. Guests can enjoy drinks, cocktails and snacks from the pool bar around the two swimming pools and the sun terrace. An on-site shop stocks a good selection of everyday products and gifts. One unique experience in Bellos Hotel is the Barbeque night which occurs once every week with Greek music, Greek dancers and plenty food choices. To complete the fun, many other events also happen in the hotel every week such as Karaoke night, Quiz night and Cocktail night. Guests at Bellos Hotel have many wellness options such as a well-equipped gym, a sauna and a steam bath. A playground and two children’s pools are available for younger guests. The resort has also billiards, darts, board games and table tennis. Free Wi-Fi access is offered in public areas and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellos Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellos Apartments Hersonissos
Bellos Apartments Hotel
Bellos Hotel Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing