We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As we toured the islands of Mykonos and Crete, we booked this particular hotel as it combines the rooms with a spa. We chose a room in the new part of the hotel. I would avoid a room above the pool bar, but the other rooms are quiet. The hotel is close to shopping areas and the beach. The rooms were adequate as was the food, considering it was buffet style. If you like to lounge around the pool, then this hotel would do the trick. We liked the spa package. When tired of touring and shopping, we took in a day at the spa....great staff there--friendly and professional.
Ask Alex to make you a chilled drink--he makes them like a pro!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the pool bar. Ask Alex to make you a chilled drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent a week half board Sept/Oct at this Hotel. We stayed in the new wing, although I am not so sure what we actually paid the extra superior for. We found a one bath robe and one pair of slippers, we take it in turns to wear the robe. The room has two single beds moved together, with a spare bed next to the opening of the patio window. The bathroom is clean and bright. The maid attends the rooms daily, beds made and towels changed daily.
There is no nightlife at the hotel, maybe because we are visiting at the very end of the season. There is a pool table and pool bar, but very expensive. (2 euro for a game of pool!) The gym is free, but the spa is costly. The swimming pool is small (approx 15 m in length) the surrounding area is populated with loungers. Gets the sun throughout most of the day.

We hired a car, again fuel is expensive, more than the UK!
There is a frequent bus service to the main towns, however returning to the resort is very disorganised.

The Hotel is in a good location, however if you find walking on uneven ground difficult, there are lots of pot holes and uneven kerbs. Not suitable for wheelchairs or pushchairs. The pavements are non-existant and at times you have to walk on the road.
Plenty of places to eat out the hotel, I found cigarett smoke a problem. Everyone seems to smoke, regardless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My friend and I spent 7 nights in this hotel we were given a room in the old part of the hotel which was at the front of the hotel it was very small and dingy and not very nice Joyce didn't sleep the first night as it was very claustrophobic. We were given the option to upgrade to the new part of the hotel which we did but had to pay an extra 150 euros, this part of the hotel is very light airy and roomy much much nicer than the old part, so if your booking this hotel pay the extra and have a wee bit luxury. The food is ok nothing to write home about, the bar in the hotel is good and Alex the barman is lovely and made us very welcome, but don't talk after midnight as security came and told us to be quiet as there had been a complaint about us being noisy, we couldn't talk any lower unless whispering this happened twice. The bar closes at midnight but you can have room service 24 hours a day. One night we were sitting on the balcony chatting just after midnight and was told by the people in the next room to be quiet, we were not loud we were just talking, we were on holiday for goodness sake. We complained to the manager and as we had been chatting with her throughout our holiday she knew we were not a pair of kids or noisy as we're both in our 60s (young for our age not ready to be OAPs as yet). The next day when we went to our room after being out for the day we went on the train that takes you round and about this was great seen some nice places on the way, only 10 euros well worth it. The manager had left a lovely bouquet of flowers and chocolate as an apology. The pools are good with plenty of sun loungers no problem getting one and the beach was only a couple of minutes from the hotel, it's not big and some of it is cordoned off for other hotels. We didn't like the strip as it looked seedy with lots of strip clubs and lap dancing clubs. It wasn't too busy when we were there. We went along it once at the beginning of our holiday and didn't go back, we stayed in the hotel bar as entertainment was on every other night some was good and some not so good. I've got to say the staff were very good Melena was our favourite she came from Poland and was great fun a very lovely person. We think Hersonissos is not the place for us so wont be back.

Room Tip: book a room in the new part of the hotel you wont be disappointed as the rooms in the old part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eigref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent in Albatros a week during July (two families with kids). The hotel is not so big yet very satisfying, divided into two parts (good to stay in the newer one - we did). The place is located 50 m from the beach and 8 minutes walk from the street of bars, restaurants and clubs with all-night-long partying. This was perfect and let us spend days with kids and nights with music at the club (what's important, the hotel itself was quite quiet).
The service level at the hotel was high, the staff were friendly and very helpful. We really appreciated all the efforts and assistance we received, special thanks to bartenders for all that late drinks and so on ;)
And - last but not least - I am personally very grateful for sending me back to Poland my lost glasses - I was quite certain they were lost forever. Thank you!

Well... worth going back next year. There's so much to see in Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent 5 nights in this hotel. We stayed in the new wing and we had a view of the ocean and of one of the pools.The location is great only a couple of minutes from the beach and about 10 minutes to all the stores. 5 minutes to a great bakery that is opened 24 hours. Very easy to take a city bus if you wish to do some visits on your own which will cost half of the price ie: Knossos. The buffet was great really a lot of choice. The service excellent. The staff is always smiling. It is a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole0072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back after spending 2 weeks in this lovely hotel (sep2013) would def recommend, we stayed in superior room and paid extra for sunbeds on balcony which was really good(room 370) had sun most of the day. Def would go superior as older part of hotel not so nice. Although I could not comment on the rooms as I never seen them but did hear few complaints. Superior rooms excellent...staff fantastic, nothing a bother too them, food was lovely, no problem getting tables at meal times like other hotels, rooms cleaned everyday, we ate out quite a few evenings would highly recommend el camino, Italian and starlight on waterfront... We had a great holiday

Room Tip: Room 370 has sunbeds on your balcony and gets the sun most of day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during September 2013. We booked a room in the new wing and got one facing the sea and the beach, which is only a minute (by foot) from the hotel. The room was nice, not too big but not too small, with a balcony. It was clean and cleaned again every day (from all the sand that got into the room). Food - the buffet breakfast and dinner (we stayed on half board) are good (selection of meat, sides and fruits) but with only small variations every day. Most pity was the feta cheese that was somewhat bland, and the drinks at the dinner are not included.

On some nights there was music and dancing near the pool (greek night was nice). However sometime it lasts until 11pm and can be heard loudly even in the rooms at the back.

The best thing about the hotel is definitely the staff which was always helpful, both during the reservation and at the hotel.

The beach - the hotel is literally 1 minute walk from the beach and the promenade, but other cities might have better beaches. Many of the hotel guests stayed near the pool though.

I would recommend this hotel, with as other reviews suggest - stay in the new buildings.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool and can be more noisy before 11pm on some days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller34540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
773 reviews
2.6 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Address: Dedalou 1, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $61 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Hotel is situated only 25 kilometres from Heraklion International Airport in the town of Hersonissos, a place which attracts thousands of visitors every summer. This family-owned and run resort hotel offers high quality standards in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is ideal both for leisure and business travelers. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town, only a stone's throw from a long sandy beach with crystal clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Chersonisos
Albatros Spa And Resort Hotel
Albatros Hotel Hersonissos
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing