We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Hersonissos, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A wonderfull week many thanks to reception. Excellent service! To the hotel chef for the birthday cake. I had a birthay romantic day at the spa.Do not miss brazilian night with fresh fish. we will return.....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funseasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    331
    92
    26
    21
See reviews for
227
518
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we are a group of 4 girlfriends , we had a great time in Hersonissos . The hotel has the best location and the food , the service ,the room was perfect . We trully enjoyed the spa day for 2 , we were actualy 4 so we had relax and fun .

Room Tip: spa experience , do not miss!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANITA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

First off all i must say that the facilities is nice, superior rooms is god and always clean.
Sunbeds, pools and other public areas also nice and clean.
Cleaning staff does an excellent job

Food,
The brakfast and evening buffet is tasteless and not worth paying for, even had a lunch meal at the hotel but as the other food served not good.

Wifi
Hotel advertises say for Wifi but the wifi is ridicoulous slow and the routers has bad coverage at the rooms and public areas.
Cost for Wifi is 3 euros per hour which i find expensive, i think that in most hotels today they should offer free wifi.

Will not recomend this hotel too friends and others.



Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a superior room with pool view the room that was excellent !
Big comfortable room loved the layout !!
Room was very very clean!!
Fast check in, when we desided we didn't need the baby cot the housekeepers came right away to take it and set up a bed for us!!
The balcony had a nice view but the only thing not great is that the balconie did not have anything to sepatate them with your neighbor,just a metal bar it was a bit achward sitting in the balcony and having a complete stranger right next to you.
Breakfast was the best!!Loved those Creps!!
Pools were great and the small space for kids to playcame handy.
Had a great time and would gladly go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EIRHNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Albatros hotel is a fantastic hotel, the rooms are very beautifull and comfortable, also the staff is very very friendly and helpfull.
The food is very good, a rich breakfast and the evening buffet is a feast!
The location is ideal for people who love to make trips on the island, the rent a cars are cheap and comfortable.

We come back in September!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you see this hotel from outside you will believe it is not good. We stayed in the new (2007) building which was unbelievable clean and in very good (like new shape). Highly recomended and in very good location.
Εαν εισαι ελληνας να ξερεις αγγλικά πριν πας γιατι δεν είναι έλληνες οι πιο πολλοί υπάλληλοι.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikolaos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at the Albatros Spa booked through Olympic Holidays. We were a family of four with two adults and two teenage girls. This was a fantastic holiday and was enjoyed by all. I could not fault the hotel in any way, we booked the superior rooms which I believe is a must as the standard rooms appeared a little cramped and dated. The rooms were airy and spacious with (free) air con that worked superbly (and quietly). The queen sized bed in our room (requested) was so comfortable that we slept very well, ours was a pool/sea view room on the top floor, so was very quiet. The room was spotless when we arived and was maintained this way throughout our stay by the maids. The bathroom was spacious with a shower in the bath which worked extremely well. There is a small fridge in the room which was big enough for water beer and a few small items. There is no tea making equipment in the room but kettles are available from reception for a small deposit. There is a free safe in the room. Prior to going I emailed the hotel requesting adjoining rooms, one double and two singles, and top floor with sea view, this was done without question. The facilities in the hotel were excellent, never had to wait for tables at meal times, there was wifi (chargeable), beach towels (with deposit) gym, beauty treatments, hot tub etc. comfortable bar and lounge area. I have read some critisism about the food but I have to say that during our two weeks I could not fault it. We were half board so had breakfast and evening meal from the buffet style restraunt, I alway found the food to be fresh, tasty, varied and plentiful, even our two fussy girls always found something they enjoyed, so no complaints here. I think the thing that stood out most about this hotel was the staff, they were all genuinely friendly, very helpful and seemed to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We went at the end of June beginning of July and the second week seemed to be getting busier with the usual early morning rush to get sunbeds around the pool, there was a policy of not reserving sunbeds but this was not enforced, there were however some really inconsiderate guests who reserved beds but did not emerge from their rooms to use them until mid-day! The hotel is located about two minutes walk from a sandy beach which had plenty of sunbeds/umbrellars. To the right of the beach is a row of bars/restruants who's owners "encourage" you to eat/drink at their establishments, this becomes irritating after a while but bearable, the real harrassment however starts at the end of this stretch on the main strip next to the harbour. There are many many bars/restruants where you are literally manhandled to go in and eat or drink, in the end to avoid this daily harrassment we used the top road to get to the main part of town which was about 10 minutes walk away. The actual main drag of shops is about 2 kilometers long with every type of shop you could imagine even a huge Spar supermarket that was reasonably priced. Of the bars along the front our favourite was The Samba Bar, with Manos the owner a really nice guy, well worth a visit. We had one meal out at the Votsalo Restruant, this was superb with genuine greek dishes and excellent service and very friendly, this place was in a side street off the main beach strip about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, highly recommended. Hired a car from Autorent next to the hotel, this was reasonably priced and you can haggle the price down, make sure you get the fully comp insurance with no excess (all in the price). Had a few days out and about, went to Knossos which was reasonably priced and interesting, drove to a couple of beaches on the south of the island which were a lot quieter and less commercialised, and made a trip to Vai, the palm fringed beach at the extreme east of the island, this took about two and a half hours to get there, a little overated but nice. I would definately go back to this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it, we loved everything about it.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior rooms, overlooking the pool/gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smartmartKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#9 of 171 in Hersonissos
563 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#72 of 171 in Hersonissos
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Property: Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Address: Dedalou 1, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Hotel is situated only 25 kilometres from Heraklion International Airport in the town of Hersonissos, a place which attracts thousands of visitors every summer. This family-owned and run resort hotel offers high quality standards in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is ideal both for leisure and business travelers. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town, only a stone's throw from a long sandy beach with crystal clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Spa And Resort Hotel
Albatros Hotel Chersonisos
Albatros Hotel Hersonissos
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing