We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 173 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 8th of June until 15th of June and we had a lovely vacation due to the general ambiance of relaxation in the hotel (the thematic nights were really interesting), the profesionalism of the staff (always helpful and smiling), the cleanness of the room (and of the hotel in general) and the location of the hotel (100metres from the beach and also close to the city centre).
Our vacation package included accomodation in a standard room,but we could upgrade it to superior room. As we were always sightseeing and not staying so much in the room, we decided not to upgrade it, but for the last night and last day of our stay, we had the opportunity to stay in a superior room with a sea view, which was really great (large, modern,nice sea view), as we benefited a promotion from the hotel.
The food was diversified and very good both for breakfast (cheese,salami,bacon,milk, youghurt, cereals, fried/boiled eggs,hot pancakes, tea, coffee, fruit juices,fruit compote etc.), as well as for dinner(all kinds of steaks-roast beef, turkey, chicken, pork-, grilled fish,souvlaki,boiled vegetables,salads,fresh fruits,sweets etc.). Another good thing was that when we left the hotel (for a trip) early in the morning and returned late in the evening, we had an early breakfast (which could be programmed at any hour you needed) and also received a voucher which switched the dinner (we missed) to a lunch for any of the subsequent days (our vacation package included half-board).
The minuses were:
1. the standard room (that we were given first), although it is was very clean and not noisy,it looked like a 2 star hotel room with old furniture and a small bathroom
2. the internet charge was 3EUR/hour :(
Overall, this hotel offers a great value for money.

Room Tip: The superior room with sea view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky_Cristina15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

we syayed at the hotel from 1st June to 14th June 2011 and were very disappointed with the food.There were some very strange combinations for the evening meal including rice with calamari,it was all chopped up in the rice so folks who don't like calamari couldn't have the rice on it's own.Breakfast,well there was a wide choice of ruit,yoghurt,fresh cooked pancakes,fried eggs(mainly undercooked).The boiled eggs weren't cooked,they were raw...The scambled egg didn't look like it should have it was dried up.We ate stupid things like pizza and chips mostly though the chips weren't very nice..We got so fed up we went out at night the last few days for a meal at the Mythos restaurant,yum yum can really recommend,wish we had just gone self catering though the room was fantastic.We had our own sunbeds on our balcony and no complaints about the cleanliness.
There was so called entertainment 3 times a week but not impressed with this.
All round forget hersonnisos if you're over 30 and like a lively holiday,we found nothing to do at night except sit in a bar watching the world go by!
Tried the bars on the front it's ok for youngsters ,the music is ear splitting and though I love some of the modern dance music I would like to keep my hearing!

Room Tip: pay for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolestscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just stayed here for a week with my elderly mother and 3 teenagers - and all said they loved it. The staff were always helpful and friendly, whatever we wanted, nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel was full, but we never felt crowded; the public areas were well set out, so we didn't feel as though we were in a crowd, and we never had to struggle for seating or loungers round the pool.

We were on half board basis and the food was good, although by the end of the week felt a bit of a formula, but plenty of choice; there is only so much they can do on a buffet style to cater for all.

I took the advice of others here and upgraded to a superior room, which was definatly worthwhile - we still had a bike hire shop below us, but it didn't disturb us, and the rooms were very comfortable.

There is a shop attached to the hotel, for snacks, drinks in the room etc, but it was limited; there was a better one just out of the hotel main door, turn right left and left - 2 minutes and a great choice of most things.

We also used the spa, the manicures were OK but the massage was great; she even picked up on an old arm injury and gave advice on how to exercise it to increase movement.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We are staying at the Albatros as a write and are disappointed. The biggest disappointment is the quality of the food (we would rate average), it is edible but would not suit all tastes. Food is often cold when it should be hot. We were first in to dinner this evening and it was still only tepid. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room, although we did ask for a kettle and got one. After dinner coffee is extra. The Daphne Restaurant isn't open. Lounge bar isn't open (the one near Reception). On a brighter note the staff are excellent and cannot do enough to try to put things right. The beds are extremely hard as are the pillows. In fact I've been out and bought my own. When I mentioned about the mattress on the bed they said they would change it but in actual fact all they did was put a blanket on top of the original mattress which made no difference whatsoever. The overall cleanliness of the hotel is excellent. It would seem a superior room is a must having heard from other guests that they are not satisifed with the standard rooms.

Room Tip: Superior room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antibesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Spend our family vacations last september. Superb staff , always helpful,close to beach/ town center

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercury4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We have booked the hotel for our honeymoon trip. A warm welcome and an enjoyable stay. The staff is very helpful. They were ready to fulfill our wishes. Spa treatments are superrrrrr! We shall definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilotlgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

It's already made the picture of the hotel in others reviews.
But i have to thank the receptions staff for their professionalism. They are a very good team and doing well all the tourist's demands. They impressed us.
The hotel is nice, more in the pool side, cause is more quiet and very nice view.
I say hello to Edy from the beach.
It's true about the same food every day, but i say the meal it's healthy as we don't get weight in 7 days. They cook no fries and it's a good part. Even this, I suggest them to change the meal for not getting bored.
Unfortunately, Creta is arid and other part is residents doesn't like to clean their yard and doesn't look good.
We liked the Aquarium from Hersonissos and the trip on Spinalonga island. We were in a beautiful golf for swimming!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 173 in Hersonissos
3,210 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 173 in Hersonissos
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 173 in Hersonissos
762 reviews
2.8 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Address: Dedalou 1, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $61 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Hotel is situated only 25 kilometres from Heraklion International Airport in the town of Hersonissos, a place which attracts thousands of visitors every summer. This family-owned and run resort hotel offers high quality standards in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is ideal both for leisure and business travelers. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town, only a stone's throw from a long sandy beach with crystal clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Chersonisos
Albatros Spa And Resort Hotel
Albatros Hotel Hersonissos
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing