We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the garden has been abandoned, not very clean and the chambermaid never got into our room during our two days stay. Sheets were in bad condition and there was no tv in the room. The staff is very friendly and helpfull but that's not enough. We had booked a sea view room but there was no auch a room in the hotel. Pool and the sorroundings are ok and there is a unique pool bar (without being in use).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Polyvios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had to wait a few days before writing a review about Home Hotel, not to risk what little objectivity that there is always good when you've been in one place. Today I can say that the the Home hotel was one of the most pleasant places in which I have ever stayed. Located in a peaceful area just 5 minutes drive from Hersonissos, some beaches a few hundred meters walk, it is a place of great tranquility, tasteful decor and impeccable management of people working for it. Comfortable rooms with air conditioning, daily clean and quiet despite close to a beautiful clean pool. The staff always available 24 hours to provide information on places to visit and how to reach them. Seriousness mixed with almost family welcome, I would recommend to anyone visiting Crete this little greek gem.

Room Tip: Rooms with exposure to the sea are beautiful (My room was n. 305) because they have a small veranda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franciccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A stayed a few days in Home Hotel and I will always treasure it as the most comfortable and relaxing experience on vacations. Home provides you with super cozy rooms, a wonderful swimming pool, delicious snacks and a perfect place where to start your trips around Crete. Angelos, Dimitris and all the staff are amazing hosts who take incredible care of all your needs: Once you leave, you feel like you are leaving home and new affectionate friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serpo_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Home Hotel! We got to Anissaras at 3 a.m. and Angelos, the owner, came to pick us up. Very kind of him. We got lost on the way as there are no signs for the hotel, so if you’re driving there you'd better contact Angelos before going and arrange a meeting somewhere easy to find. But taxi drivers know where the hotel is.
Everything was wonderful. Our room had a small balcony from where we could see the bouganvilles and the swimming pool. It was simple, but very clean and nicely decorated. White walls and blue shutters, Greek style. Bed linen and towels changed every day.
Breakfast was not included in the price, but we were happy to pay extra (6€ per person) for a delicious Greek yogurt with honey and pine nuts/fruit in addition to bread, butter and jam, ham and cheese, cake and biscuits, and coffee.
Angelos helped us a lot to find the nicest beaches and the best restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the karaoke night and swimming in the pool under the stars and the moon. The beach in Anissaras is just okay and the nearby town (Hersonissos) leaves a lot to be desired. Good for teenagers and twenty-year-olds, with lots of bars and chain fast food places/restaurants. But don’t expect a nice little Greek village by the sea. It looks like a piece of England on Crete!
But from the hotel you can reach Matala in about an 1 hour and 30 minutes by car (don’t miss the red beach at sunset), Spinalonga in about the same amount of time, and Ierapetra in 1 hour and 15 minutes. From Ierapetra you reach Chrissi island in an hour. Chrissi is a real must. I thought the sea was even better than at the Maldives!
When you go back to Anissaras in the evening you should try 2 restaurants: Areston and Vegera. Ask Angelos. He will direct you. We spent 17€ per person at Areston and just 9€ at Vegera. The food was amazing: excellent moussaka at Areston and very very good fish dishes at Vegera.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My partner and I and out friend booked in to Home for 10 days and it really felt like home. Angelos really makes the place a home. We had an amazing 10 days there. The food was lovely, and the hotel was spotless and comfortable and the facilities were top notch. We hoping to return before the summer is out. Keep up the great work. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone fancying a holiday that is an actual holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northboy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Home hotel just moved to this location 2 months go and it looks and feels like home. The rooms atypically Greek, the swimming pool and the ducks are inviting, the BBQ night on Sunday and the party on Saturday night. Angelos knows the area well and recommends what to avoid or see. The beach is 200m down the road and the nude beach not far from there. This is the only gay friendly hotel in the central and east part of Crete and likely one of only few in The whole of Crete. As a single gay traveller I found the hotel and team very inviting. Angelos also cooks great simple greek food. Try the Greek salad, Crete style. Great.

If Crete is your destination, consider this place, close to, but far enough from the noise. I personally think Crete is Greece for beginners and found it too big for me. But that is just a personal taste.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank ggbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Home hotel was our home for a week. It was all we had wished for our vacation. Beautiful rooms, great vibe, nice pool, so close to the beach and still far enough from all the noise, good food (the Greek salad is highly recommended), and the best and most lovely service there is! Angelo is a wonderful, warm and unique character, and he Made our vacation a perfect experience. Just waiting to come back here.

Gili and Danielle from Israel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Zorbas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel

Address: Gotynis | Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range: $27 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT*** Re-opeing April 2016, Home Hotel is now under new management and is catering to all. We have stopped the regular party nights that were open to non-guests and are now welcoming all guests of all ages. The new owners are also Qualified BSL/English Interpreters, making Home Hotel and ideal location for Deaf Sign Language users as well as our hearing guests. Within 200 meters from the beach of Anissaras, Home Hotel offers tastefully furnished accommodation with views of the well-kept gardens or the Cretan Sea. Home, as its name suggests is our home...your home. The ultimate summer destination for those seeking tranquility, relaxation, discreet luxury and truly warm hospitality. Home offers you the privacy of your home. 22 colorful rooms which are within walking distance of the beach. An atmospheric bar by the pool offers you unforgettable summer experiences day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing