We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, safe option when looking for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Ranked #10 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We travelled as a couple with a 4 year old child and had an enjoyable holiday. I think you get what you pay for in hotels like this one. The standard room is by no means luxurious but we found it perfectly adequate and were pleased with the standard of room-upkeep (cleaned twice a day). We chose a sharing pool room on the ground floor. On reflection, if you have small children, I would choose a first floor apartment because there are no barriers separating your room from the pool. I had to have strict words with my son not to go near unless I was with him, but it was hard to be totally relaxed about it.
On the upside, having a pool by your room is great - we were in and out all day. Good temperature and not too salty or chlorinated. I'd say about 8 rooms share the pool but it was very quiet indeed.
Food was plentiful and good. I loved the mini-diningroom for the kids - loads of Russians go to this hotel and they have no problem leaving their (extremely well behaved) kids to eat there on their own (with a young Ukranian supervising). I wouldn't, but I'm like that.
Bear in mind that in Greece, half board is sparse. Breakfast is great - you get your drinks included, but in the evening, we even had to pay for water which annoyed me.
We didn't bother with lunch but on site the prices are extortionate. It cost us 16euros for 3 ice lollies!
Go to the mini market - or even better, take a taxi (7Euro) to Heronissous and go to the huge Spar-market and buy stuff - keep it in your fridge and eat lunch by the pool. You will save an absolute fortune. I understand this is a Greek thing and not exclusive to the hotel, but if you pay half-board, it makes sense to include soft drinks....
Location is good - if you want to get out and about I'd hire a car as it's a really beautiful Island. We were only there a few days so we went into Heronissous rather than Heraklion (the big city where the airport is) and were very happy there. Quite touristy with the usual Pizza/English Breakfasts and Beer deals, but look carefully and you'll find local places too.
Okay, here's my run down:

Hotel overall: Nicely designed, low-rise buildings, tuktuks to take you around (we like to walk and it wasn't so hot - high 70's) and even when full, doesn't feel overwhelming. Having loads of pools helps too.

Service: Excellent - they all speak good English and are friendly and willing to help.

Rooms: Ours was fine. Clean, well maintained if not luxurious. Liked that they were with black out curtains. Some rooms were right by the other restaurants (we never went there as lowly half-boarders..) and I would have been upset to have been subjected to that kind of ''entertainment'' in the evening.... ours was quiet though.

Food: Good. Plentiful. But bear in mind I'm not the one to ask as I am not a big eater..!

Entertainment: Not for me thanks! The kiddy-club thing was ok but run by Russians for Russians so my little boy felt extremely left out (there are Russians EVERYWHERE in this place - which is nice because their kids are like mini-adults but it does feel a bit strange).

Beach: Also nice - shingles not sand which may not suit everyone. But TBH I would go to the beach in Heroinissous or take a boat trip and go snorkeling if the sea calls you!

I'd go there again but maybe wait until August when it will be warmer. But I live in Tel-Aviv so maybe for Brits this would be a good temperature.

That's all folks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank earthgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Aldemar Royal Mare. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greece.

Kind Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were at the Royal Mare a few weeks ago. We got a Junior suit at the a sharing pool area and we had a blast - the room was amazing, big enough and very clean. Every night we ate at different restaurants of the hotel: The Sushi bar, the Greek Tavern and the food was amazing.
The beach area was perfectly organized, and I highly recommend this hotel and will come visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eilit Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a self contained resort with numerous quality swimming pools, children's play area with a fantastic adventure galleon and pool and several restaurants. It covers several acres of extremely well maintained gardens that are a pleasure to walk by/through. If you want to visit the surrounding countryside, I would recommend that you hire a car and get around under your own steam, the excursions are quite expensive.
We stayed (H.B) in a garden view, twin room with bathroom, balcony, etc., very close to the reception hall. The décor was excellent, very fresh and modern, beds extremely comfortable and the room was air conditioned and roomy with flat screen television (not that we watched it except for the news).
As a half board customer, our breakfast and dinner was served at the main restaurant-buffet style, the content and quality could not be faulted and the staff were very friendly. There were special dinners arranged for our style of customer at a not inconsequential additional cost, a lobster night, a Grecian night, a fish night and a bar-b-cue. The Lobster night was 50 euros extra (each) and the others, 38 euros (each). I must admit I was a little surprised-probably should have read the small print. I am used to having most meals at one main restaurant and then getting an opportunity (even if limited) to eat at the resort's speciality restaurants but normally, this has been free of charge. In view of this, we boycotted the speciality nights. When we stayed at the resort for the day, we had a salad lunch at the snack bar and were able to choose from a great variety of salad items or hot food and desserts too numerous to mention, the cost was reasonable.
The Animation team consisted of very enthusiastic, personable youngsters who certainly tried their best to get guests interested in water polo, darts, table tennis, boules, etc. By far the biggest take-up was the keep fit type activities (mostly the ladies). The mini club (not that we had any little guests with us) appeared to have a very good following.
If you have any mobility problems then this resort probably isn't for you as there are several levels to negotiate and I do not believe that it is wheel chair friendly.
Resort, Room, Food, Service, Ambience-all top spot, sadly lacking was any quality evening entertainment which rather restricted what we did. For entertainment, Crete Sensatori (2012) knocked this resort into a cocked hat, for everything else, this one wins hands down.

Room Tip: The garden view, twin with balcony was excellent, we did not see any other types and cannot comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a VIP sea view room at the bottom end of the resort so right on the beach. we were on the second floor and the balcony was windy every day but this was not common through the resort though as the further back you were the more protection from wind you would benefit from. We don't mind the breeze so no complaints about that. The room was cleaned daily and the maids very good. We were unlucky to have a mattress that rolled us into the middle of the bed and needs replacing in my view as does the air conditioning unit as it was noisy. I didn't complain about this though. Good shower and good room sizes. The overall feeling of the resort is spacious and calm very unhurried and uncluttered superb ambience of resort. Excellent private pools and no pressure on sunbeds when we were there. Big disappointment that the themed restaurant evenings at the a la carte restaurants Candia and Greco and Albatross all carried a serious add on cost per couple on top of the half board fee we paid. This is not what we expected and is very different to the Caribbean and Turkey etc. Staff overall were great and we had a couple of nights in Hersonissos watching the world go by as the entertainment at the hotel was not for us. I guess overall we paid quite a lot and possible expected a bit more variety on meals and better entertainment but I would go back although I would investigate B&B and think about the cost of the additional packages carefully.

Room Tip: the sea views are nice but windy and the resort is so spread out avoid a room at the top of the comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smarty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not a 5 star, just a average 4 star
We went with Thomson but could of got this package with jet2.com alot cheaper
No cold drinks on arrival just a query on how many requests I had, seaview and adjoining rooms, one request we had paid for
Rooms and bathrooms need updating more like a 3 star
Towels ( beach and bathroom) old and tired
Nice view down to sea and big balcony
Lots of pool areas freezing temperatures and deep
Sunbeds and parasols need replacing quite a few broken
Beach has shingle and the sea was rough and could be dangerous beware if you have children
Food , breakfast and dinner , good, lots of choice, go early if you do not want to queue
Drinks are expensive go to the mini market they are half the price
Otherwise everywhere is kept clean and tidy and the hotel grounds are not as big as expected you could easily walk a round in 10 mintues
The small town around 50 mintue walk a way is like Blackpool seafront watch out for buses and scooters whizzing past
Sorry we did not like the area, felt like we were in a deserted building site
We expected and paid for a Thomsons Al carte but got a 4 star instead
We will not be visiting Crete in the future, last year we went to the Sani in Greece and loved it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacey009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always appreciate candid comments about our hotel, as they help us to improve our services.
Some of your comments however feel out of place, and we are certain that they could have been remedied should you have mentioned it to us during your stay, something that we have no record of.
Our 5 Star rating is according to the national standards, as well as all of our international travel collaborators.
Of course each guest has the right to judge according to his or her own opinion in regards to the price and quality ratio, and at this point we strongly believe that our prices in relation to the services provided, are of the highest value.

We thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in Royal Mare Hotel.

Kind Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

אנגלית



עברית



ערבית





We are parents of twins we needed a relaxing, romantic vacation, of course,, and that's exactly what we got at the hotel: lovely room, great food and service kind and patient. I loved the attention to detail that goes into here, starting from the reception to the wonderful soaps are provided in the room. Charming hotel built in the form of some Resorts, Resort to its own private pool, so even if the hotel was fully booked, we did not feel it, and we always found a private corner and quiet we could enjoy it. The food at the hotel was wonderful, from the luxurious breakfast, which is always served fresh fruit taste wonderful, and dinner varied and changing every day, where you will find Greek Salad Greek specialties, fresh small fish instead of frying you, and desserts. Those who wish to dine elsewhere, the hotel offers three great restaurants: Sushi, a gourmet restaurant and tavern, we dined at the gourmet restaurant and sushi bar and enjoyed very much. Please note, private beach lovely and is just five minutes from the Hersonissos those looking for action at night. This is suitable for people of all ages, couples, families with children, and we can not wait to to come back next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaronler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend came here at the end of May this year for a week.
We had booked a lovely VIP room with sharing pool through Olympic Holidays.

As soon as we arrived our bags were taken from us and dropped off at our room, we were quickly checked in and whisked away to our room in a Golf Buggie. We were surprised at how big the Hotel is, almost like a little town with lots of gift shops, bars and even a supermarket!
When we arrived in our room we had a bottle of local wine waiting for us as well as a large plate of fresh fruit and a large bottle of water. The water was replaced every day and on our anniversary we were given another plate of fresh fruit, a bottle of bubbly and a card from the staff!

We spent most of our days by the pool with the bridge going over it. It was lovely and peaceful, except when the aqua areobics were on at about 11 o'clock everyday, but that was fine. We walked down to the beach a few time and lay on it once, but my other half found it painful to walk on with bare feet as the beach was more like tiny stones than sand. Still nice to go for a paddle though.

Breakfast was very impressive. Could have eaten there all day! You had a choice of two restaurants to eat breakfast, but the same food was served in both, both very nice. The selection was massive and you could have your eggs cooked to order. One of the best breakfast buffets that I have ever seen.

For lunch we usually just bought a few bits from the supermarket as we were so full from a massive breakfast!

Dinner was also nice, the salads etc were very good. If you are a fussy eater, you are probably limited to the spagetti bolongaise that they have every night. There was a good selection of choices, but it seemed to be mostly european/greek food. They did have an Italian night when they did pizza etc. But overall I did enjoy the dinners as you could have a bit of everything and keep going back until you were full. There were also a range of impressive deserts which I also looked forward to every night!

One day we took a boat trip from the local town. It was lovely and took us along the coast with a few stops to go for a swim and for lunch. It was on a boat called Nemo with a glass bottom and we would also reccomend that!

Overall we had a great stay - the receptionistswere lovely, the hotel was lovely and clean, food was overall great with a few disappointments.




TIPS- Go for a VIP room with the sharing pool (shrd between a block of about 20 rooms) We hardly used the pool, but the rooms are nice, we had an upstairs one which had a nice balcony and you could see the sea.

Go for dinner a bit earlier that usual to avoid Q's- we never stood in one, but always walked passed people who were on our way out.

Get to the pool early to get the best sunbeds

Room Tip: Go for a VIP room with the sharing pool. Think we had Room 654/645
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicks2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
0.4 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
21.1 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $125 - $3,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mare Luxury Resort + Thalasso is an exciting holiday destination located at the heart of the Mediterranean in a realm of myths and stories. There are so many ways to relax at this beautiful community surrounded by cooling water and verdant gardens. Chill out in the comfort of your well-appointed room, enjoy the sparkling blue waters of the sea, treat yourself at the world's finest thalassotherapy centre, discover the secrets of Cretan cuisine and embrace an enchanting summer full of traditional Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Royal Mare And Thalasso
Aldemar Royal Mare & Thalasso Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Royal Mare Village Thalasso
Royal Mare Village
Royal Mare Crete
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing