We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Shame About Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Ranked #10 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Aldemar is a great hotel feels very safe for a girls trip away. The staff were all very attentive and professional. Especially Fotini and Stergios in the Hotel's main restaurant Symposio.

This hotel is a village! with everything you could need all in one place!. However, the beach was full of shingles and the sea very rocky and rough. Therefore, not recommended if you are looking mainly for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nic d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went to Crete at the beginning of their tourist season. Literally the day the resort opened! The resort was cleaned and presented to a high standard. The staff were great and very helpful. There were staff available at all times that spoke English well, which was wonderful. They were a wealth of useful local knowledge.
We rented a car which we collected at the airport. When we arrived it was dark and there are not large road signs so finding our way to the hotel was the first part of the adventure! We stopped and asked people though and they were very helpful.
The food at the hotel was fantastic. We had booked an all inclusive package, so our children thought they were in heaven! They also loved the windsurfer, kayaks etc which were also included.
Would go again in a heart beat. The wee town nearest the hotel was also a lovely place to amble along and shop. You could then stop for a coffee on little jettys out over the water. I explained it to a friend like the movie Mama Mia but without the singing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donaldandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This charming hotel which is located minutes away from the town of Hersonissos and about half an hour from the city of Heraklion.
an excellent service, free and pleasant private beach, several restaurants in the hotel and lots of swimming pool.
Note that not required to take to get out of the hotel. Several times on the day there is special bus passes the hotel (Tourists bus) and drive the main tourist places. The difference is 40 Euro cab compared to the Euro 5 bus.
However a few things that bother:
Dinner - who are not available full board will not accept drinks - anything - at dinner if you dont pay extra. Guest must wait at the entrance to the dining room until leading you to the table (sometimes it really was annoying).
and there is no coffee and tea sets in the rooms, even though it is 5 star hotel.
In summary - highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pnina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I would 100% recommend it.
The hotel is very nice and clean, quiet location with private beach. 5-10 min walk to another sandy beach. 30min walk to Herrsonisos. Nice town with cafes, restaurants and bars.
Food is as a buffet every day different : fish night, grill night etc..there are 3 restaurants on hotel site where you have to pay separately: sushi, Greek tavern. Food is very good. Breakfasts usually the same every day , but fresh and good choice.
There is a spa which is must try!! is has great packages. If you like sport it is worth to take trainers for gym and tennis. The tennis lesson with instructor is 46euro and if you get more lessons they do discount.
I would definitely come back one day to Aldemar.
Have a good holiday.

Room Tip: room close to the beach, or any in the village area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is undoubtedly one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. Our room, with a VIP sharing pool was clean, comfortable, with good beds and perfectly located at the bottom end of the complex right next to the beach. Breakfast in the Candia restaurant was wonderful, it was such a pretty, calm setting and got my day off to a perfect start. The staff throughout the hotel were great. The only disappointment was that the non buffet restaurants were very expensive, and it was not made clear when booking that there was an extra charge for these if you were half-board.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived and were immediately greeted by friendly staff who took our luggage for us, directed us to the reception desk and informed us that our bags would be taken to the room. The reception area is impressive, and nicely air-conditioned. The staff very warm and friendly, and very helpful when asking about the local area.
We were taken to our room in a little golf type buggy, and shown directly to our room. Which was lovely and spacious. A comfortable large double bed, a lovely balcony, with a sea view and a large bathroom with nice toiletries.
We ate in their on-site restaurant Candia on the first night. Service was wonderful and the food was and location lovely, although overpriced in my opinion. We ate out in local tavernas and found some lovely places. We did enjoy the Greek BBQ night, although again, i feel that this was also slightly overpriced.
The pool areas were lovely and relaxing. Staff warm and welcoming and the hotel facilites were great. It is a little hilly, so ladies - heels are a little tricky!!
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed ourselves very much.

Room Tip: 1079 was a good room. Nice and central and easily accessible to both the beach, and the other pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyClairelou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were a party of five, four adults and a three year old child, and we all absolutely loved the Royal Mare.

It is a beautiful complex of mature palm trees, flowers, plants and attractive buildings with numerous secluded pools, some private, and the whole effect is amazing. It sits on the edge of a shingle beach with good swimming and runs up the hill to the main leisure and restaurant buildings. There is an excellent open air lounge on the beach side which sells food and drinks and is well worth using, and it is close to beach sports such as snorkelling, wind surfing, diving etc.

We had a two VIP rooms with the use of a private pool, which had excellent views across the pool and its palm fringed island. The rooms were well maintained and had lots of space, a large bathroom/toilet with a bath and a shower, a balcony, and little extras like fresh fruit every day. It was cleaned regularly and unobtrusively, towels changed daily, and there was an evening “turn down”. The rooms were symptomatic of the whole hotel in that they were spotlessly clean and a pleasure to use.

We were half board and ate at the main self service buffet each evening, and at the Candia restaurant for breakfast. There was a wide range of hot and cold choices at the self service buffet, and always a number of vegetarian options. Some excellent fish courses were available, as well as four or even five different meat options each evening, and in a special children’s area there were also some more basic chips, pizza etc. which were ideal for my three year old grandson. The food was well prepared, tasty and appetising. Breakfasting in the Candia was a pleasant experience as it was located in the middle of water feature, and even had musicians playing some mornings. Of note was the very civilised opening hours of 8 till 11 which meant that the breakfast was available at your convenience not necessarily the hotels convenience. The crepes prepared to order were particularly good, along with the variety of fruit, breads cakes etc. We didn’t eat at the speciality restaurants. The whole party enjoyed the food, its variety, quality and quantity.

As a five star hotel, a major factor is its ability to deliver a high quality of personal service, and the Royal Mare met this standard easily. From the moment we arrived to moment we left, the staff were charming and made us all feel special. A great effort was made by the staff to know our names, they were extremely helpful and friendly – not a grumpy face to be seen. From Nicholas the Guest Relations Manager, to Dora on reception, to Maria the Head of VIP breakfasts, through to individual waiters, the Animation staff, and even the security staff, there was consistent theme of friendliness and welcome. This was very impressive, and certainly a five star standard.

The overall ambience was quieter than the nearby Aldemar Knossos or Cretan Villas which were a bit more family focussed, but despite that the Animation Team worked hard and especially in making the evening children’s mini-disco such good fun, and of course there was the pirate ship climbing area.

There are a couple of niggles,
- Some of the clientele were a bit miserable and snooty,
- The pools had blue paint underwater which went on your feet hands etc., but this did clean off
- The beach was coarse rather than sandy which was a disappointment with a small child
- The walk from beach to room or dining areas, was up hill which can be tiring in the sunshine.

These were small niggles however, and overall we had an excellent holiday in a brilliant hotel. The hotel was definitely five star in its facilities, but also in its efforts to deliver the best service to us. I can fully recommend a holiday at the Royal Mare.

Room Tip: 1000 room's overlook the beautiful palm tree island feature, whilst rooms up the hill are more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jay3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
0.4 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
21.1 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $127 - $2,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mare Luxury Resort + Thalasso is an exciting holiday destination located at the heart of the Mediterranean in a realm of myths and stories. There are so many ways to relax at this beautiful community surrounded by cooling water and verdant gardens. Chill out in the comfort of your well-appointed room, enjoy the sparkling blue waters of the sea, treat yourself at the world's finest thalassotherapy centre, discover the secrets of Cretan cuisine and embrace an enchanting summer full of traditional Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Royal Mare And Thalasso
Aldemar Royal Mare & Thalasso Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Royal Mare Village Thalasso
Royal Mare Village
Royal Mare Crete
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing