We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a charter deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Ranked #10 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We arrived at the very end of the "season" - last week of October. We had booked a "bungalow with sea view" but were given instead a standard hotel room with a sea view. The grounds of the hotel are lovley - many bungalows with semi-private pools, but we were told these were not available (hard to believe as the season was over and the hotel was quite empty). We were disappointed and suspect they were closing up certain sections of the hotel for the winder.

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The food in the restaurant (half-board) was decent but not 5-star quality, the atmosphere in the restaurant is like a nice cafeteria. We ate breakfasts only in the hotel and had the rest of our meals outside the hotel. The town Hersonissos is close by, I imagine in summer it's very busy and a there's a lot going on. The old town Hersonissos is definitely worth a visit with some cute restaurants and music spots.

Room Tip: Insist on the room you booked, we expected a "private bungalow with sea view" but were giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just back from a wonderful 10 days here, very impressed with the hotel, the grounds are huge and beautiful, full of flowers and trees, the feel is like a little village, and although it got quite full of people at times, it never felt busy, and was never noisy. Rooms are clean and look newly painted and furnished, i particularly appreciated the fact that you could control your room temperature, i get really chilly at night, and in many hotels at this time of the year there is no option for heating, but here you had full control over the air con and heating, and a blast of heat at the end of the day when it started to get a bit chilly made it all the more comfortable. We had a standard room near the beach on the ground floor which was exactly as i requested, it did mean a 6 min walk up to the restaurant for breakfast, but that was no big deal for us. The in room products were really good quality and replaced daily. We did have a few issues with leaky shower and bath as others have reported, but just meant the use of a hand towel to do a bit of mopping up, again no big deal for us! The bathroom was large with both a full shower, and a bath with an overhead shower, useful for hair washing! There was a hairdryer and in room safe, and robes and slippers too. On arrival there was a bottle of wine, mineral water and some sweets, which was a nice touch. The maid service every day was SUPER quick, thorough and efficient. There was free WiFi throughout, great connectivity, speed and access. The two pools set aside for general use (ie if you didn't have a sharing pool) were large, clean, with plenty of padded sunbeds and parasols, and free beach towels which you could change every day. We had a hire car and you can either park up by the spa, or in a car park located near to the main reception, and accessible down a side street, you need to ask for a car park pass for this one as there are large secured locked gates, so you felt your car was very safe either way.

TIP: DON'T buy anything in the hotel! Food, drinks, and the supermarket were SO expensive!! There is a supermarket RIGHT outside the car park entrance (the one by reception, not by the spa) I would get yourself a car park pass and walk out from reception, literally a 2 min walk across the car park, a HUGE supermarket with loads of cheap water, food and booze and nice souveniers, you can get it all there!

All in all the hotel was FAB! Agree with some others, in other countries this would not be a 5 star hotel, its just not THAT luxurious! But for Greece it probably is top of the pile! My only negative comment is less about the hotel and more about Crete, it wasn't really what i expected in that it was a lot more built up / touristy than i thought, i had visions of tiny fishing villages and chilled out driving, but it was more traffic jams, and the Greek driving ! !?!?!? words FAIL me!! I went to Cyprus this time last year and really really enjoyed this, whereas Crete for me, was an "ok but no plans to ever return" type place. Horses for courses i guess.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrsJen1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was the 4th time I have been to Royal Mare and every time is outstanding, this is not just because we have been before because the 1st time was as outstanding as the last time, the staff are excellent and can't do enough for you they certainly make sure that your holiday is special and anything that they can do for you they do the very best they can do for you.
The food is excellent and plentiful with a great variation of choice for everyone, it simply can not fail to please you there are a couple of restaurants within the Royal Mare for you to choose from and all are well worth the visit and again you wont be disappointed.To sum up my feelings for Royal Mare I would include that if choosing anywhere to stay or go it would most definitely be Crete and Royal Mare, such a great combination fantastic people and a fantastic Hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fionagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Whilst the hotel itself and grounds are very nice, I don't class this as a 5 star resort by normal standards but for a holiday resort in Greece it probably is although I have stayed in one 5 star and a 4 star which, in my opinion, far exceeded this hotel from both value for money and service. Service from staff is mixed, restaurant staff especially, most of the male waiters were very stand-offiish. Bar Minos staff were not very pleasant at times (maybe as I was a female solo traveller) and tended to not be as attentive as they were to other couples or groups of guests. The rooms are fine with everything you need and beds are comfy. I had a sea view room in the main building which was very comfortable.

The food in the main restaurant Symposium, was repetitive and irrespective of what time you ate, lukewarm. I don't think I had a "hot" meal in the fortnight I was there. If you want to eat in another restaurant, you only get a discount of 12 euros from the bill so its not a like for like swap. Lobster night with the discount in Candida is 50 euros and the BBQ at Greek Tavern wasn't much cheaper. Bar prices are higher than outside (word of warning, don't buy bottled water from the mini market cost 3.5 euro when it costs only 70 cents from the supermarket at the top of the road).

Taxis into Hersonnissos are 7 euros which is necessary as the bus stop is a bit of a walk from the hotel and generally uphill. Beach is sand/pebbles and there appears to be plenty of sun loungers however I wasn't there in high season. Watch out for the waves!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pm590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Nice swimming pools, pleasant guest rooms,free wi fi throughout hotel,pleasant and helpful staff throughout, drink prices in keeping with a 5 star hotel eg half litre of beer 5.90E but food in the main buffet restaurant was quite ordinary at dinner I felt. There is a choice of 3 other restaurants within the hotel, sushi, greek taverna, and a la carte.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clyde001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I will try to describe most important features:
Beach - small, rocky, not nice, sea not so stable, if windy not possible to swim
Swimming pools - awesome, but cold water - more than 30 pools in hotel, so it doesn't matter which you use, not crowded at all.
Food: Halfboard:
- breakfast - if you have vip room or suite - it's in Candia, enjoyable, fresh fruits, vegetables, cereal, fish, hot buffet - overall nice!
- dinner - main restaurant - BE CAREFUL - i got food poisoning and was vomating near toilet for 20 hours!
But the assistant manager to general manager was very nice! He offered me personally cooked meals of my own. And the Chef Alexandre personally took my order every night for the following night. Don't try to speak to small level managers as guest relations, especially the tall, thin, bold guy - not helpful at all. Only this two people were very kind and understanding.
And overall this buffet - not very tasty, but not very bad.
rooms - i had a vip bungalow sharing pool. nice spacious room, with sharing pool. robes, slippers, big bathroom, both shower and bath, hairdryer, safe, all standard amenities - fine.
Also the VERY BIG PROBLEM - CONDITION - almost not working at night, it almost turned off at 2 am, and after that awful sleep during the whole stay.
that's the most essential info I believe.
Overall - stay somewhere else, if you have an option. I think Grecotel or the elounda hotels are much better. But the company didn't manage to book them for us.
And also the hotel territory very very pretty.

Room Tip: corner rooms i believe and suites, not the ones facing the main hotel alleys, otherwise you will thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irenee_Shpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitsa3, Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor in which we would like to state the following:

We thank you and appreciate your positive comments in regards to the room and the hotel territory. We are however surprised that you felt that your situation was not handled appropriately. While we can not doubt your word that you were not felling well on the day after your arrival, that in no way acknowledges that there was food poisoning from the restaurant, also considering that a doctor was not visited. The hotel follows strict food handling and safety procedures according to HACCP and is inspected on a regular basis. Considering also that at the time you ate in the restaurant, another 800 of our guests did the same thing without any discomfort, clearly shows, yours was an isolated incident without connection to our food itmes. The Guest Relations Department, correctly however, as soon as your comments were received, put you in contact with the Food & Beverage Department, who are the appropriate persons to handle your request, which they as you yourself say, was handled immediately and to your satisfaction.

The main restaurant serves a large variety of dishes in order to satisfy the taste of all our clients and the Restaurant Managers are always available to help arrange any additional requests that a guest may have. Likewise our rooms have different locations and characteristics, each appealing to the different tastes and preferences of our clients.

We thank you again for your comments and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the future to Royal Mare.

Vassilis Fragoulakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I got here in a package deal (flight + HB).
We had a room at "the thousands", if all rooms are like this one, you have it all -
A big room with a private pool (for a selected number of rooms), a lot of closets and drawers, a big LCD, a balcony, a big bed, a shower & a bathtub, free Wi-Fi (many Hotels charge you extra for that), and free internet computers at the lobby, complimentary whine & water.
Very tasty food at the main restaurant, good service (you don't have natural water at dinner and are charged for water or beverages, its done this way in most of Greece),
There is a narrow hotel beach as well.
The only wiered thing is the AC a t night was at a "winter mode" and didn't work (it did at daytime), also the bath fludded the floor (they told us at reception when we called that we should try to release the water slowly....)
There ar also tennis courts (clay), soccer, basket, squash, mini-golf court, etc.
Its a huge place, in October it was very quiet but maybee in summer its noisy.
I think that it is one of the best Hotels here (although remember that in summer the AC problem can be annoying)

Room Tip: A room with a shared pool is great but if you have walking problems, ask for a room near the main re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vdany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#13 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
19.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
2.2 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $129 - $967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mare Luxury Resort + Thalasso is an exciting holiday destination located at the heart of the Mediterranean in a realm of myths and stories. There are so many ways to relax at this beautiful community surrounded by cooling water and verdant gardens. Chill out in the comfort of your well-appointed room, enjoy the sparkling blue waters of the sea, treat yourself at the world's finest thalassotherapy centre, discover the secrets of Cretan cuisine and embrace an enchanting summer full of traditional Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Royal Mare And Thalasso
Aldemar Royal Mare & Thalasso Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Royal Mare Village Thalasso
Royal Mare Village
Royal Mare Crete
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing