We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Classic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Classic Apartments
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

These were very relaxing holidays. There is a nice bar area with cheap drinks. The rooms are clean and the hosts extra friendly and helpful. Not too far from town, but far enough to have your peace and quiet.

Room Tip: The tip is that, as the hosts explained, when booking a room in low season you normally get upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    6
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a wonderful family Giannis, Virginia and their children are, so friendly and hospitable, everyone is made to feel so welcome, their aim is to please and nothing is too much trouble. If you are going to Crete we would highly recommend staying at the Classic Apartments. Set in beautiful gardens with a stunning view for peace and tranquillity. The beach is just a short walk through an olive grove and Hersonissos a bus ride away with its wealth of restaurants and shops. An ideal base for travelling. Not our first stay and definitely not our last - we can't wait to go back! Jackie & John

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely place, beautiful people. Great value for the money. Sunset right from the pool. Clean and beautiful.
If you like to dance Zumba together with 50 tourist by the pool listening to loud music....then this is NOT the place to go :-)
We will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank christian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This family-run resort is attractively designed. It consists of 20 'apartments' set in gardens with lemon trees, pomegranates, geraniums and other beautiful flowers. At its centre is a smallish pool, lawn and a bar/breakfast area with a pool table and free, if patchy, wifi. Breakfasts and, later in the day, snacks are available. There are plenty of sunbeds and plenty of room for them. There is a good view to the sea from the garden, and usually a pleasant wind comes up from the sea across the unobstructed countryside to its elevated position.

The 'apartments' are actually what would be described as rooms elsewhere in Greece, with the addition of basic cooking facilities and a fridge. They are clean. They are quite roomy, some more than others, each having its own balcony or patio area. Apart from the wood-panelled ceilings, they looked good. The showers are very small. In one of the rooms we occupied, it was impossible to take a shower without soaking the floor.

The owners are very friendly, helpful and chatty. You can learn a lot about Crete from them.

The clientele are a mixture of French, Italian, Scandinavian, German and British.

The location is not perfect. It is about 15 minutes stroll to the local beach, down a gentle slope. It is about 20 minutes stroll to Analipsi, the local village. The latter is an enjoyable walk in the evening. Analipsi has a few tavernas and bars leading down to the beach where there are a few more. It does seem to have excess capacity as only a few of them were full. I think the recession is affecting the area. Best restaurant - Asterias Beach, best bar - Athina (also on the beach), where they'll call you a cab at the end of the night.

There is a good bus service that goes from Heraklion to Hersonissos, Malia and beyond. The bus stop is 'only' 5 minutes' walk (I had to time this to believe it), but in the heat of the day, it seems a lot longer. Tip: returning from Hersonissos, use bus stop 21 rather than 20 - sometimes the bus gets full by 20 - also it's bus stop 17 for the apartments. Hersonissos is only a couple of miles away and is full of restaurants, bars and souvenir shops. You'll either love it or hate it (or maybe somewhere in between). If there is a gym-obsessed member of the family, Hersonissos has a gym in the centre, on the main road. I can't remember the name, but it's on the 1st and 2nd floors above the shops, next to the ice cream parlour. 25 euros for one week membership, and good enough for my son.

Note that if you are fit, you can transfer from Heraklion airport by taking the bus just outside, all the way to bus stop 17 for less than 3 euros. Then it's a '5' minute walk.

If you have a car, there is room to park and it's just off the main road, so it's a good place for touring this part of Crete. If you just want to relax this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimpanzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful views. Great pool. Gardens perfectly kept and clean facilities throughout. Fab hospitality. Close but not too close to the biz if you want it and a 15 minute walk to the nearest beach although taxis were reasonable too. Excellent value. Definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omgpopqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The apartments are set in a beautiful spot in a nice place in Crete. The people are incredibly friendly and make you feel more than welcome. The garden, pool area and rooms are all stunning and all keep in perfect condition. Would definitely highly recommend! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my frienss had just a great week. The people who qas working was so nice. The room was so clean and everyrime we came back from the beach they had cleen the room. The location was great to. And ypu could rent a bike so everything was near you. Me and my friends lookt at other apartments about the prices and it was and what we could se, we got a very nice price. I can only recoment you stay there if you go to hersonises

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajad91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.7 mi away
Nana Angela Apartments
Nana Angela Apartments
#82 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.9 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#1 of 6 in Anissaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palatia Village
Palatia Village
#22 of 121 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elgoni Apartments
Elgoni Apartments
#8 of 14 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Apartments

Property: Classic Apartments
Address: Chersonisos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Classic Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing