We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel but?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Ranked #77 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a good hotel but?”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were originally booked in the Heronissos hotel next door but we decided to pay the extra 70 euros to move to this hotel. The manager Manolis at the Heronissos hotel is a very helpful man.

This hotel is a very clean and pleasant hotel with friendly staff, nice rooms, nice pool area, clean restaurant with great staff and a friendly little restaurant manager
The food can be a bit of the same thing every day and they could do with naming the items (sometimes they do though)
The rooms were cleaned every day and they were kept spotless by the great room maids
Also the bar has a small serving hatch and I could not understand why the bar in the huge reception area was never open
The hotel also has entertainment a couple of nights a week and also a greek bbq night but BEWARE, from 3-30 they close the pool to prepare for the night and also you are not allowed to use the pool or bar either unless you PAY 16 Euros to go to the bbq. So basically its not ALL INCLUSIVE, and we were told that we could not use the sister hotel on that night with our all inclusive.
We found though that if you are one of those well mannered people who say please and thank you a lot then be aware that the other European people (russians and germans) have never obviously been taught any. They were the rudest people we have ever met

All things considered, we would give the hotel 8/10, would have been higher but for the small bar area and the food on occasions
Hersonissos is a nice town and has some great boat trips that go from the harbour

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are very glad that you spend nice vacation in our hotel. All the compliments will be passed on to our personnel that give their best everyday to make your holidays as pleasant as possible.
In case to avoid any misunderstandings we would like to inform our future guests that rates for room moves inside company always depend on tour operator contact, season hotel availability, and duration of stay. Tour operators are able to amend your reservation according to the hotel availability and inform you about the difference in the price in case there is one. Do not hesitate to contact us with any requests or wishes you would have and we will do our best to meet your expectations within the hotel or all the company, or advice you about alternatives.
We kindly inform you that all hotel upgrades should be done through tour operators.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    223
    170
    107
    97
See reviews for
158
351
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stained there on 18 of June to the 25 the food is bad and cold theres pork every night and chicken no real variety the all inclusive is noT that good after dinner no stacks the children can only have ice cream 3 till 4 no entertainment at all the Greek night on Tuesday you got to pay 16 Euros that bad to do as it all inclusive and one more they will try to put you in the Anex block When you payed to stay in the main hotel seems to be for the Russians not as if I got any thing bad to say about them but outher than that the bar staff are brill

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikegriffiths5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are very sorry that you were disappointed concerning food variety. We will reconsider our menu and in case there is the need the menu to be adapted according to guest’s feedback, actions will be taken immediately.
Room division is always according to the bookings. Guests booked on annex room type have been provided and will be provided with annex room and guests booked on standard room type have been provided and will be provided with standard room type. There is a difference in the price so all guests must be provided according to the room type they booked. There is no intension of the hotel to downgrade anyone whose reservation is on standard room type. So we believe the guests should be informed before booking their room what room type is most suitable for them. Guests booked on annex reservation can not demand a standard room. Please be more careful about your room type before your arrival. It is not always possible to amend your reservation while being in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great holiday. All staff worked very hard to give the best service. Thanks to Ms Fontini for her assistance during our stay. Range and quality of food and drinks better than we have had anywhere in Crete.

Room Tip: Get a room away from reception area as can be noisy with guests coming in during the night, either a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are very glad that your vacation has been as you had expected and thank you for mentioning my name, my priority and all of the other staff as well is to provide the best service to our guest and always assist you in everything you may need. Your vacation is very value so we all put our effort and respect, you to have memorable time in Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arriving at the Hersonissos Palace Hotel is always like coming home. The moment you come at the reception desk, it feels good.
As always, we had nice accomodation with all the necessary facilities.
The food in the restaurant was of an excellent quality and diversity, even better than last year. Before your lunch or dinner, you can always sit down near the poolbar and enjoy an aperetif.
The complete management and staff is always very friendly and helpful in case of any question or problem. We do not want to write down any names as we do not want to forget someone. We have a lot of respect for them as it is nog always easy do deal with people who speak nothing but their own language or who do not know how to behave.
In our opinion, this is a very good hotel and we are looking forwar for our nex visit.

Myriam and Hugo (Antwerp - Belgium)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Family T.,
It is always very much appreciated that you never forget to send your compliments also on line after your vacation.
On behalf of the hotel I would like to thank you also on line that you have always been committed guests of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I would like to start by thanking Ms Fontini. I had a couple of issues, before I even went out on holiday, and some while I was there. Which were attended to very quickly, without Ms Fontinis help, the holiday would have been much more unpleasant.
Hotel: The bus droped us off at the top of the road at 11:15pm, and we nearly missed the hotel.
You will see 21 steps up to the hotel, which will take you up to reception, but were the steps are there is a door and another door, take this door and on the left hand side you will see two lifts, once in press number 2 and this will take you up to the reception.
We got our room key, then we was took to the restaurant, were a cold salad and a jug of water was waiting for us. This was much appreciated.
My husband and I was on the first floor, the room itself was spotless, plenty of room to hang your clothes etc. Flat Screen T.V, excellent working air conditioning, fridge to keep all your drinks and food cool. Good size bathroom, a safe is provided however you do need to pay 30 euros for two weeks to hire it, we didnt bother. Nothing went missing, part from a swimming float I took with me, asked on morning reception but said "nothing had been handed in"
Fresh towels everyday bedding every second day. If you want a good nights sleep, take some ear plugs with you, it's not the people but the stray dogs barking all night long. Also get some flyspray and a mosquito plug you will need them. My inlaws were on the second floor, and got clean towels and sheets everyday. The cleaners, and all cleaning staff worked extremely hard, to keep the hotel spotless.
Restaurant: Breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for ( Part from Bacon) which did not bother us. Food was hot, plenty of fruit juice, coffee and tea.
TOASTER: You can toast your own bread, and this is next to were you cut the bread.
HEAD CHEF: Was always around serving pankes and fresh omelettes. This is served in the grill area. Ask Anna she will show you.
LUNCH: Now starts at 12:45, this gets really busy. I think the desserts should be moved, may be near to the ice cream. People trying to get dinner and desserts at the same time, does not work. Beer, Red and White Wine plus soft drinks can be had with lunch and dinner.
AFTERNOON: At 3:00pm you can get cake, but you have to ask for it, all snacks need to be paid for.
DINNER: Once again the HEAD CHEF was busy over by the grill area, cooking different dishes each night.
ANNA: We love you, thank you for making are stay speacial.
BAR; There is a lovely bar in the reception area which is never used, it's a shame. Even if it was open for two nights aweek it would be somewhere else to go.
Main Pool Bar: Was ok. kept clean by Landi and Georgo, who also served behind the bar. All Inc was Rum,Vodka, Beer, Wine, Ouzo, Raki, 3 Cocktails and water.
Landi you work very hard in the bar and restaurant, it was a pleasure to meet you.
There is a small bar, at the other pool.
POOLS: Back pool is lovely and relaxing, but could do with a hand rail to go up to the 3 steps to the pool, if you are not to steady on your feet. I did speak to Ms Fontini about this.
INDOOR POOL: Would be great to use if it was warm, but its freezing cold, enough to give someone a heart attack.
1, Make sure when you are booking your holiday, you book a room in the main hotel. Dont book a PROM ROOM, pay a little extra its well worth it.
2, NOTE: If you have children there are NO Activities or KIDS CLUBS on this site. Also pools to deep for small children.
3, BEACH TOWELS: When you arrive etc you pay 5 euros per person, but you get this back. You can change towels every 3 days. BEWARE lady on reception in morning, wants another 2 euros of you every time you want to change a towel. Wait untill the afternoon, I think they call her Agre she lovely.
4, If you look in reception on desk, it will give you the times of the ANIMATION TEAM. Darts, Pool and Billiards.
5, Entertainment: Greek Night with Dancers, very good. Then a magician show, lady and a man think they were called Quick Change.
2nd week we had the Greek BBQ Night. A parade of dishes is served on a big buffet table, HEAD CHEF grilling all sorts of meats for you in the open air. During dinner the live music starts playing, the man that sings has been in the Eurovision Song Contest.
BEWARE that you have to buy tickets 16 euros pp. Only thing people were saying, if you are on the All Inc, that on the night waiters get your drinks, and they can be a bit slow.
THE DAY OF DEPARTURE
Baring in mind we booked and paid for 14 nights, arriving late at night on the first day. So missed all All INC, but to be fair we got a cold salad.
On the day of departure we was not leaving the hotel untill 19:30, to got to the Airport. We had to be out of our rooms by 12:00pm, which is ok because this happens everywhere you go.
Having left our luggage in a unlocked room, on the entrance floor where anyone could walk of with your cases, which is not great. 12:00pm we went to hand the keys in, they cut our wrist bands off , and gave us a white card so you could go into lunch and have a drink. So from 2:00pm we had to buy anything else we wanted. So you pay for 14 but only get 13 days holiday. But having spoken to other guests that was leaving late that night, what we should have done is take the case and the key down before 12:00, so they dont cut your band off so you can us the All Inc all the time untill you leave. Or if you are like the Dutch family who have been there about 7 times, help the bar staff clean tables and collects glassies, then all your family get free drinks untill they leave. So for been honest and abiding by the rules, you loose out big time.
Plus they give you the smallest plastic cups, once the bands have been taken off. Only time you get a glass is through lunch.
HERSONISSOS: The surrounding area is full of eating places, dont go to Kelly Irish Pub, they will rip you off. Lovely little harbour, looks great at night all lit up. Good shopping area, easy walking distance from hotel. Well worth a visit.
For 6 euros go and see John and Judith at the Aquaworld Aquarium, its near the big Spa Supermarket in hersonissos. Once paid you can go in has many times as you want.
IF YOU HIRE A CAR: Look on the map where the litle train goes and have a look around, its not worth 20euros pp but carry on to the next village, and there a lovely little village there to stop for a drink and a look around. Better beachs at ANGUS NIKOLAOS, also a proper glass bottom boat, and a lot cheaper then the ones in Hersonissos.The mountains are spectacular, lovely villages with tavernas and cafes.
Also go to Sprinalonga village its very nice, then catch the boat across to the Island.
BUS: Catch the bus at the Spa Supermarket, cheap way to go to ANGUS NIKOLAOS then on to SPRINALONGA, boat leaves at 12:30pm and the boat trip last about 40 minsutes.
If you have walking difficultys, I would not advise to go over there as there is a lot of steps.
But you can walk all the way round the island, at the lowest level.
Heraklion; Not to bad, have a ride on the open top bus.
JEWELLERY: We went all over, but you could not get a better deal then going to LENA its on the beach front in Hersonissos. very nice people, his daughter makes jewellery and will make to order. GOOD PRICES
Beach: Down the road from the hotel, its just a short walk away. But was'nt something I particularly enjoyed, although my husband managed to get out far enough to snorkle. Beach gritty, rough sand and slippery rock when trying to get out to swim.
Overall it was a nice value holiday, in a clean and comfortable hotel. But not sure where they get the 5 stars from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank darrenelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to start by mentioning that your review could be a sample of perfect guide how a review can be useful to potential guests and to the hotel. It is an absolutely accurate one providing so many objectives remarks and at the same time subjective comments regarding our facilities and services. Much accurate information regarding the hotel and the resort of Hersonissos village are included in your review.
Your review it is a constructive feedback that can help us to improve ourselves.
All of your comments have been taking very seriously in consideration and we would like to ensure you that the points we can be improved actions will be taken the soonest.
Thank you for mentioning my name in your review; it is an extra motivation to work harder for the satisfaction of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Can't thank Fotini and the staff enough . We had a really great time(our first visit to Crete) .We had read numerous reviews and can't quite believe what some people have written .All the staff were very friendly from the moment of arrival to leaving. Our guy in the restaurant (Manolis) was superb having to try and teach (at our request) Greek .poor man. The food was excellent with a very wide choice and how anyone can't find something to their taste is beyond me.The rooms were very clean and the maid very friendly.Thankyou again to Fotini who arranged a birthday cake for our daughter who turned 13 whilst we were there a lovely touch.My only criticism being no toilet facilities on the reception or bar level .Ignore the whingers and enjoy what is a lovely hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Your review has been very much appreciated. The nice comments about our services and personnel are very important to all of us. In particular, I would like to thank you for mentioning my name in your review although you had already given me your feedback in personal before your departure. It is always encouraging to receive compliments about the effort we all put to provide enjoyable holidays to our guests and to reinforce the sense of hospitality, for which we are world famous, to each one of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens wa9 4tp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Hersonissos palace for ten wonderful days.
Both of us really loved the hotel.
Restaurant was great, food was good and plenty of it,The waiting staff so attentive and helpful. Head chef was always around serving area keeping an eye saying bon appetite.
Bar staff again wonderful. Reception so willing and helpful, Kate sorted out our transfer problem. The room maid was first class at her job, couldnt thank her enough.

Room Tip: Would suggest mooms by pool being quiter at night. Noise from traffic and barking stray dogs on stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishlover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.1 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#39 of 58 in Heraklion
402 reviews
2.1 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#121 of 171 in Hersonissos
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#59 of 171 in Hersonissos
614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#64 of 171 in Hersonissos
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#53 of 171 in Hersonissos
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Palace Hotel

Property: Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Address: Dedalou 10 Street | Limin, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hersonissos Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hersonissos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece
Hotel Hersonissos Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing