We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Galaxy Villas(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$49
$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marni Village(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$33
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amazones Village Suites(Piskopiano)(Great Value!)
$35
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Astra Village Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$1,083
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Creta Maris Beach Resort(Hersonissos)
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Albatros Spa Resort Hotel(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
$74
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$167
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asterias Village Resort(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$31
$28
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveler rating
210
236
185
119
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
236
185
119
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main blockbbq nighttour operatorgreat holidaysoft drinksgreek nightall inclusive dealincluded in the all inclusivefresh towelscleaned every daymain pooltable tennisbeach barmeal timescleaned dailyplenty of sunbedsjust returned from a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 853 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't book this hotel if you think you are going to get a 5 star hotel and service even by Greek standards.
The hotel is falling down, the balconies of rooms 201/3/5/7/9 have structural cracks to the main pillars and dividing walls, and is surrounded by empty and derelict buildings or wasteland.The entertainment programme is Singer,Two dance groups and Greek band at BBQ at hotel, nothing for over 18-30 age group in resort.
I'll mention the good points first.
Hotel is kept clean by hardworking courteous cleaners and the restaurant staff do a very good job although a little too pushy to sell BBQ tickets.
Katariana serves at the rear pool bar and greets and serves you with a smile,lovely girl.
5 Star hotels have Urinals in the male public toilets everywhere in the world, this one DOES NOT.
5 Star hotels, anywhere in the world, do not have waiters with long sleeved shirts with sleeves rolled up and BLACK JEANS, this one does! (i thought he'd come to change a lightbulb not wait on table)
5 star hotels have Toasters for guests to do toast to their liking, this one does not!
Food is very repetitive but well presented, we had Kebabs 5 times in 14 night stay.Do not go to the BBQ,save yourself 16 Euro as you get the same food in the restaurant next day.
All inclusive is a farce, no Malibu,Tia Maria or Baileys so limited Cocktails choice.
I can confirm a previous reviewers statement that Pedro(barman) does do a patrol of the bar area on the pretence of collecting glasses but counts the drinks on your table and when you go to the bar at 22.55 for a last drink he mutters to Lefkeris and you are refused further drinks because you still have drink in your glass.This was taken up with the manager the next day and ,by her own admission, said it had been a problem earlier in the season and assured me it wouldn't happen again.Fine, happy with that. The next time we returned to hotel for last drinks the same thing happened and there was a humiliating encounter with Lefkeris. Next day in to see Manager again and told that Lefkeris had wrote a note(in greek) saying i had asked for a lot of drinks,TOTAL B%&*£"@S.asked for a copy of note as some friends are greek, note soon disappeared.The manager then recited what can only be described as a well rehearsed parrot fashion excuse about wanting guests to return and sort it out "in house" rather than go home and do exactly what i am doing now.
After twice being in to see the manager and being told that this problem would be sorted the same thing happened night after night, so obviously nothing was done or Lefkeris is working to his own agenda and ignoring management. I gave up after this and would take drinks up to my room before Pedro did his rounds.
This needs to be sorted because guests, who have paid good hard earned money, do not want to be told by a barman when they have enough drink, especially when your on holiday. and that is what you go for.
This situation,night after night, ruined the holiday for a number of people and has cost this hotel a lot of badly needed revenue in the future as we are one couple of at least six, that we know of, who have stated will not return to this hotel.We will not be returning to spend our hard earned, stress related money at this hotel.
To finish on a positive note, this hotel has the potential and management,Fotini is very polite and helpful but needs to get in touch with what is happening on the ground, to be a good hotel.
Do not expect to get 5 star, at best 3 star only.
These comments are a true account of what happened and how it is over there.

Room Tip: Go to Spain for 5 star holidays
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank daffyduckCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Have to admit, reading the last few reviews have spurred me into putting my own experience down as it doesn't reflect that of myself and my wife! We stayed in the Palace in mid-September and, really, the only problem occurred on the first night when we arrived in the early hours and, despite specifically booking a room in the main hotel following the comments about the annex on here, we were told they had no rooms, there had been a problem with the booking agents, and we had to go to the annex for the first night. We found it noisy (it's not far from the nightlife), and very warm as the air conditioning in the room wasn't working. This issue with the annex and bookings really needs to be sorted.

However, the next day we were put into a room in the main building and it was much better, with a side view of the sea. Lovely, spacious room, no problems at all with that. It is also worth noting that, to make up for us being put in the annex, we were allowed to use a room in the annex on our last day, for no charge, until 6pm, which was a great help as we were leaving again in the early hours.

Food was superb. Lots of choice and, have to admit, we didn't have many problems at all with the warmth of the food, was mainly fine with us. Toast was always available from the 'sizzly' section, where the chef made the pancakes in the morning. Fresh orange juice was also available for free, so I don't know where this 2.50 charge comes from. The food is buffet, and there's plenty of it and easy to miss some things, but everything was available as far as we could see. Always remember to have a look at the sizzly area for dinner, as the chef there was always cooking some good stuff to go along with the buffet. Special hello to (excuse me if I have the names wrong) Leftirisis and Petros in the restaurant area, really friendly and good to chat to, as were all the staff.

The pool bars were also well run and, whilst you wouldn't expect top of the range drinks in all inclusive, they were more than adequate. Beer was superb, as was the Raki (although my head told me not to take any more after the first couple of days). The waiters, again, were all good to chat to and really friendly, coming round to clear your table when finished and, again, I can't see where the comment about looking to see how many drinks you have comes from as we never had any issues, even when drinking in groups with a few glasses on the table.

So, all in all, a really good stay and we would stay there again if we went back to the north of the island. Whilst Hersonnosis itself is a bit touristy for ideal tastes, if you are staying in the resort then you could do a lot worse than staying in the Palace but, as said, the issue with the booking and the annex could do with being sorted.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main building if you are keen on quieter evenings.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BillG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience at this lovely hotel! Personel was amazing and we'd like to thank them for a wonderfull stay! If your planing on staying in Hersonissos palace in the future be sure to book for the Greek bbq night! A parade of dishes is served on a big buffet and the chefs are grilling all sorts of meats for you in the open air. During diner the live music starts playing and after the buffet is taken away the Greek dancing begins! Beware that you'll have to buy tickets for the Greek night but that it's word every cent! We wish all staff and management the best in there well deserved off season!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbejaan Diede... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in the middle of the afternoon to be told that there were 3 people checking in that day with the same surname and the receptionist was confused as to what room had been allcated to us. After aboujt 5 miniutes of him sitting with his head in his hands he said "OK I will give you this room but if you don't like it come back and I will see what I can do for you" we were then led to the anex although we had oaid for a room in the main hotel and with a side sea view. The room was terrible tiny room with a disgusting bathroom and a shared tiny balcony. On return to reception we were told the other rooms had now been allocated (within 5 minutes???) and if we could stay in the anex for 1 night we would be given the best room in the hotel the next day. We refused and were eventually offered another equally bad room in the main hotel. Eventually the third room was a bit better but still no side sea view and was on the main road and was very noisy.

The food in the restaurant was vert repetitive - everyday pork, fish, rice, salad, spaghetti bolognese, watery soup, and always cold.There was no organisation where the food was put and fresh food that was bought from the kitchen was tipped on top of the stale cold food that had been there for how ever long. The annoying waitress that was trying to sell us bbq tickets for 16 euros each I think was trained to jump on you as soon as you put food in your mouth so that you could not answer her. And then following the bbq every night we were given the leftovers from the bbq.

The day of the bbq it was lit right under our room and the smoke etc was sent right into our room and the pool was closed at 4pm and we had to move to the smaller pool.

On our last day we had previously asked about a late check out room and were told no problem but had to book it on our last day. On the morning we went to book and were told no rooms were available and we could only use the showers in the gym which really stunk of urine. We were not allowed to get a drink or use the restaurant afer 2pm some other people we were talking to asked for a glass of water and told NO!

I would strongly recommend that you do not bother booking this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen4kevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
We believe you have noticed, that hotel is not on the first row, though it is close to the sea. As there are other buildings in front of the Hotel, there is no such category of rooms as sight sea view. If you have booked sea view or sight sea view in our hotel, please check with your travel agent, as these categories and price difference do not exist. It is true that from some rooms you can see a bit of the sea but, it is only upon request and upon Hotel's availability.
Furthermore, our reception must manage sometimes more than 400 people per day. And it happens that sometimes we also do mistakes and confuse people with same surnames. We do apologize for that and always do our best to correct our mistakes and allocate people as comfortable as possible.
Please note, that in the restaurant Greek and Cretan dishes are presented, especially those that are acceptable for different nationalities and different tastes. We could serve much more different food, but unfortunately these dishes are not acceptable for most of guests (for example snails), and as a result, complains for uneatable food would follow...
In addition, it is a pity you did not join our BBQ. It was a really fun night with live music, traditional dances, fresh hot food directly from grill and beautiful set up by the pool that took our restaurant staff extra work from 16:00 to 19:00. We really did our best to entertain you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and i have just returned from another fantastic stay at the Palace and cant believe what some people are writing about it. WE have been returning for several years and at least twice a year.At the moment i feel embarrased to be English. What must the Greek people think about us. All we seem to do is complain.
I cant fault the friendliness or hospitality of these people. All the staff work so hard and even now near the end of the season we were served with a smile every day.The cleanliness was second to none.As for drink at the bar.How many can you drink at one time? Yes only one so why should you take more? Is it because you think all inclusive means you can do as you please?
Fotini the wonderful manageress will bend over backwards to help you if there is a genuine problem eg change rooms for people. How many other hotels would do that? Not many i dont think.
The only critisism i have this time is the new restaurant manager doesnt seem to have time for his guests as he is always on hiis mobie phone.
So thank you Hersonissos Palace for another gret stay and we will see you again nex year
.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Carol,

It was a pleasure to have you here once again. You are one of those guests, who know our service and can compare it every year how it changes. This is really knowing the way we work and how much effort we put to keep our guests satisfied in so unstable hospitality industry.
And thank you very much for words you have written. Your support is very important for us and gives another injection of energy to keep going on, smiling and bending over just to make best holidays for all our guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you here again and again and not only hear your compliments, but also your criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews