We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Excellent Staff”
Review of Silva Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silva Beach
Ranked #23 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed 10th to 17th OCTOBER . Brilliant holiday . Good variety of food, Great room, paid extra for sea view, but well worth it., Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed.The staff were all hard workers, and provided service with a smile. We cannot fault any of them. The swimming pools were large, and all areas kept very clean. The Barstaff were great ,especially KOSTAS with his Party tricks. A BIG THANKYOU TO EVERYONE, We will be back.

Room Tip: ROOM 254 seaview,
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHEENA313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
There are newer reviews for Silva Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay here great value for money
rooms cleaned daily fresh towels etc plenty of food choices the usual salads pasta chips etc you'll never go hungry
Friendly staff Erica who organises the entertainment needs a medal
There was the usual moans and groans by some guests about the food & drink but for the price you pay it's never going to be 5* English with al a carte dining if your wanting that you need to dig deeper & pay more but if your looking for a relaxing break in lovely surroundings with friendly people & good standard food then look no further
The only 2 gripes I have about this place is we had to get up at by 7am if you need a sun bed in a decent spot as these were taken by the Russians & Germans and the fact regardless of your departure the al inc expires at midday you can pay 35€ to keep room & 15 € pp to extend al inc until 6pm we just went out for lunch 5€ each & made use of the free shower room n luggage store + some friends we'd made went up & got drinks but if I got a good deal again I wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

we had a lovely week at aquis silva beach, never been to crete before, so it was a good first experience, however, ! the drinks are definatly watered down, go to the lobby bar for stronger drinks, ! eleni is fantastic ! and yes the food can be a bit monotonous, but you do get variety and theres lots of it !! but for an overall relaxing break without any screaming, nuisance kids it s great, the pool areas are so quiet, bliss !!!

Room Tip: we had room 68, lovely shower room was fantastic, and lovely view across the pool and sea
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have just spent a week at this hotel and, even though it closes on 26th October, it was still about 80% full. The staff are exceptionally helpful (Alex at Reception comes to mind) There are two pools and two bars, drinks are free until 2330. The only drinks not on the all-inclusive tariff are certain cocktails.
The food is fine and there is variety, day by day. The dining room staff are on top of the job, clearing and laying tables. At breakfast the bacon is not what we are used to but everything else is fine; four different sorts of eggs, boiled, poached, fried and omelette. Plenty of breads and cakes, fruit, yoghurt, jam and honey.
Every room has a modem and Ethernet cable to use one’s own computer; the free wi-fi is seriously slow and really only worthwhile for email and won’t handle attachments or news and weather sites.
Some people with mobility difficulties might have difficulties as, although there are ramps everywhere and ground floor rooms, the site overall is on the steep side
Rooms are large, all with a/c, sheets and towels changed daily, only one armchair, a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs, and a safe. Note that there is no socket in the bathroom for charging electric razors and the 2 pin sockets in the rooms do not accept razor chargers. As a not brand new hotel one is stuck with the business of no paper down the toilets, which seems a bit mucky to some.
I found the loud piped music in the main bar area intrusive and inappropriate - thrashy drumming and singing by a woman apparently sitting on a sharp stick!.

For flights including luggage, transfers and 7 nights inclusive you will be pushed to find a better hotel in Crete for £200 a week!
Plenty of local souvenir shops and supermarkets, more car and quad bike hire than you can imagine. Cars range from cheap and cheerful Hyundai, through Peugeot, Renault, Toyotas and VW to an Aston Martin Convertible! I paid £52 for 3 days of a Hyundais ATOZ. Overall speed limit is 90 kph, petrol is €1.80 a litre and diesel is € 1.55. If you go inland petrol stations can be few and far between.
I would be very happy to return and recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a keen price, acceptable food and drink and amiable helpful staff

Room Tip: Avoid any room overlooking the mail pool area
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days with my girlfriend last month. After the coach transfer from hell with the horny primark version of One Direction who were heading to Malia we were pleasantly surprised to find they had prepared a cold selection of food and few drinks for us, even though we didn't arrive till 1am!

The room was clean and tidy and in a great spot just set back from the main pool. The food was good, although a little tiresome towards the end. That being said, it was the perfect excuse to head to the amazing Vesuvius restaurant 10 mins away - the best meal we had all holiday and one definitely not to be missed!

So what didn't I like?...

Adults only? Ummm No. OK, so some of the guests were 14-15 which is bearable but the pool overlooking the beach was frequently full of kids/babies. It seemed anyone wandering by could use it (locals included) and no one really seemed to care.

DRINKS!!! I'm pretty sure they even dilute the water here. Although bearable being all inclusive they insist on operating a ridiculous 'table service' in the evenings whereby you can't go up to the bar for a drink. You have to sit and wait. and wait. and wait. One evening, after 25 minutes of being ignored and fed up, I went up to the bar and offered to pay cash which, unsurprisingly, saw me next to be served! They also stop all inclusive BANG ON 11pm. The waitress took our order at 10.50pm but them came back just after 11 to tell us the bar staff hadn't got round to pouring one beer and one wine before 11 so we couldn't have them unless we paid. Ridiculous!

So, All inclusive it is, but only when it suits. Breakfast for example? You could help yourself to 50 oranges if you fancied it, but a glass of orange juice? 1 Euro. And the safe................

Naturally we wanted to lock our passports away. The sign on the safe says to call reception for the code, which we did. A member of staff came and reset it, charging us 30 Euros for the privilege!! The reset button is on the inside edge of the door and the instructions written on the inside - use Google translate on the free wifi if you can't suss it out. They literally charged us £30 to push the button which, for a supposed 4 star all inclusive, is a tad cheeky to say the least!

Overall it was a nice holiday but I wouldn't recommend it to friends. For the price we paid I expected better. It's a 3 star at best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I don't no what people want!! this hotel is fab!! like an old Greek village!! rooms kept spotless, and maid wonderful!! aircon good!! shower lovely!! very powerful!! we stayed in main part and not the annex!! views were fantastic!! romantic bar is lookin over the pool, fab location!! the whole hotel is in a fab location! lovely walks along the front down to the harbour which takes about 30 mins!! can't understand bad reviews!! breakfast not brilliant, but you can still find something to eat, outdoor seating area, absolutely fab!! all drinks good, ended up tipsy most nights!! barmen fab!! would definatly would go back!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank trace jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent a week in October 2013.Food was a bit mundane repetitive. Staff were helpful but its just a laid back weeks holiday. Drinks were of no great quality . Room was clean unfortunately was facing main road and was opposite karaoke bar.
Basically a cheap holiday in the sun is what I paid for and what I got.

Room Tip: Do not get one facing main road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#63 of 172 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
4.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#13 of 172 in Hersonissos
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 172 in Hersonissos
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#55 of 172 in Hersonissos
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Beach

Address: El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $84 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of just half an hour from the Heraklion,at the outsckirts of Hersonissos Silva Beach Hotel operates as an all-inclusive resort hotel, where one can choose from a plethora of activities or if otherwise inclined just relax on the beach or around the pool. The Hotel was renovated during winter 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silva Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Silva Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Silva Maris
Silva Beach Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing