We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Silva Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silva Beach
Ranked #22 of 173 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall a very good hotel . We were not impressed with the olive tree restaurant we paid extra for this meal but didn't live up to our expectations not worth the money although the service was good. The music around the pool could be quite loud we love music but felt it was too much through the day .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Callister54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked this hotel as a last minute cheap deal. I did quite a bit of research and this seemed to be the best value for money and the adults only aspect appealed.

The hotel is located on a main road full of shops, bars, hotels and restaurants and is near a pebbly, rocky beach. Despite this, I never heard any outside noise while at the hotel.

The hotel staff were welcoming on arrival and we were pleased with our room, sea view and overlooking the pool and bar area. The main room and bathroom were very clean and nicely decorated, shower was nice and powerful. Would have preferred a double bed but had two singles pushed together. The air conditioning made sure the room was never too hot, and there was free wi-fi and a little balcony. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels if required. The spa also provided beach towels.

The best sunbeds were always taken early but we had a few lie-ins and still managed to find one somewhere, sometimes on the beach part. Despite signs everywhere saying towels will be removed if left, I never saw this happen and towels were left on the sunbeds all day. The pools were nice, the one near the romantic bar was salt water and was a better location as the pool near the beach sometimes had people walking in trying to sell things.

All inclusive was up to 11pm only and didn't include all cocktails. Margaritas and mojitos were 3 Euros each all day (very tasty) and others 4.95 euros after 11pm. We just tried to get as many in before 11pm as possible! The all inclusive ones were what you'd expect, preblended tequila sunrises, cube libres, ouzo, whiskey etc, nice for sipping by the pool all day. There were three bars to choose from, the beach bar (open until 6pm) which also served ice cream, the romantic bar overlooking the pool and the main bar by the reception. We spent most of our time at the romantic bar which is where the evening entertainment is centred. You can order drinks in your swimwear during the day and in the evening the bar staff wait on you until 11pm and you never have to wait long for your next drink! The entertainment was fairly silly but amusing, as it was quite difficult to cater for all nationalities. We saw a quiz, comedy night, beach party and traditional greek themes during our week. Worth taking some playing cards too.

Food and drink were help yourself in the main dining room. Wine, beer, soft drinks, fruit juices on tap and plenty of salad, soup and several choices of mains, fruit and jelly, cake etc for dessert at lunch and dinner. They seemed to cover all bases and was quite nice. They didn't enforce the evening dress code while I was there.

We had a problem getting our return flight tickets as we booked with an online company, and Anna on reception couldn't have been more helpful. She made some calls for us and printed out our tickets for us.

We checked out at midday and didn't fly until early hours of the following day, but the hotel had a luggage room and complimentary shower room, and we paid extra to extend our all inclusive and use the pool.

Overall, I wanted a cheap adults only chill out holiday and I couldn't have asked for more for the price we paid. Temperatures were 28-29 all week, just right!

Room Tip: We paid for garden room only and were allocated room 448, overlooking one of the pools, the romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ProfessorRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The service was good, the room was excellent opened up right onto the swimming pool.The location was mixed opening up onto a very busy main road.
The animation team were poor only water gym acceptable.The food was not very good, the only chicken pieces offered were very poor We ate out on numerous occasions which was not what we intended to do at an all inclusive hotel.Some drunken guests disrupted 4 days of our holiday before the management took any strong action.Our room was good and the cleanliness was exceptional .


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel
1  Thank richard_whitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from 10 nights stay at this hotel, I was very unimpressed with the hotel. The location is right in the heart of the resort with lots of bars and shops on your doorstep. The photos of the hotel on their website are very misleading. The rooms in the main part of the hotel have been recently decorated and updated, however their is another part of the hotel just across the road which needs a complete reburb, its dull, dated and needs a good deep clean. The bar and restaurant staff were pleasant and tried their hardest to please, however, the management and supervisors were not so good at their job. On several occasions guests got drunk during the day and were a danger to themselves and other guests. When complaints were made, we were told by the management that as these guest were all inclusive they could not be refused alcohol, something that would not happen in the UK. Security eventually removed the guests, but it took them almost 2 hours. The food was of a poor quality, very bland and often over cooked. It states long trousers (for men) and no flip flops, this was at the decision of the young girl who welcomed you to dinner, but she did not always stop people from entering the dining area when they were not wearing the correct clothing or footwear. We often saw guests wearing what can only be described as beach wear, flip flops and even having wet hair, looking as if they had just returned from the pool or beach. A Greek themed evening was offered at a cost of an extra 10 euros per person, with the bar being kept open for an extra hour, and the claim that you would be offered free drink (although it had cost you 10 euros!!) Pool clean and well kept, but you need to be up very early to get a sunbed at the main pool which is a salt-water pool. The animation team (well all two of them) tried their best, but the evening entertainment they provided was very dated and aimed mainly at the Russian guests. Should you be unfortunate enough to have a late pick up for your return flight you were still required to vacate you room by 12 noon, returning your all inclusive cards. However, if you wished to keep you room until 6 pm it would cost you 45 euros, and if you wanted to keep the all inclusive which would have provided you with lunch, dinner and drinks it would cost 30 euros each person, outrageous by anyone's standards. The hotel seemed to be trying to make money from their guests at every opportunity. We chose this hotel as it was advertised as adults only, but this was not the case and there were several children (10 - 14 years old) there. They were well behaved but still should not have been there. The management told us that some holiday companies say 12 year olds are classed as adults. Not sure who these companies are! Overall we had a nice holiday, but this was only due to the wonderful people we met and had nothing to do with the hotel. I would not return to either the hotel or the resort. This is never a 4* hotel at best I would rate as an average 3*.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main part of the hotel are much better quality, especially if they are located near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've just returned from a week at this hotel. Had such a good holiday and was really impressed with the hotel. Before I left I saw some reviews which had me a little worried that the food might be cold or the rooms wouldn't be as nice as the pictures. However I was very pleasantly surprised and am still confused why some people give it a low rating or a bad review but perhaps they have higher expectations and expect it to me like a 4 star in the UK. For me personally the rooms were clean, very modern and spacious. The food was delicious and there was plenty of variety, there was even traditional Cretan food included and plenty of choice for vegetarians. I enjoyed the food so much I never wanted to dine out! It was always nicely presented and the choice was regularly changed. The staff at the bars and restaurants were very friendly, particularly those at the 'Romantic' bar. Only downside is the manner of some of staff on reception which I felt could be a little unwelcoming and impolite. Otherwise would thoroughly recommend anyone to go there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Morning - having just returned from this hotel last week i must admit i was not impressed by them whatsoever.

Location

This is the best bit - near enough to the beach and is located centrally - however not too central! Were had a better time out of the hotel.

Service

We were not impressed in the slightest. The manageress she should be SACKED. After waiting for 5 hours for a room i found her to be patronising and rude. The irony is that I am Cypriot so i can understand Greek and whist waiting for a room and the situation being explained by a colleague to her I overhead her speaking in Greek and found her to be rude about us. She was extremely patronising when trying to explain the situation. We finally were given a room 5 hours later after sitting in front of them for five hours, just left there waiting and waiting; although they will be adamant the check in time was for 3pm they could of made an effort to be more welcoming when we arrived - a simple gesture offer of a glass of water after a long journey would have been appreciated rather then being told were the nearest shop is!!! This was dealt with REALLY BADLY making us feel very awkward --- bottom line they did not care!

All Inclusive Drinks/Food

School canteens could do better - although they made an effort it was repeated and some instances it was not fresh (salad / Cucumbers). You can see the hotel trying to save money. There was a selection but the taste was not right, Only when you go out to eat do you really get a true taste of what the island has to offer which is heads and tails above what they offer. You have the shoe patrol in the evening; a lady deciding what constitutes a flip flop and a shoe asking you to change foot ware if you do not meet her assessment - come on this is a 3 star hotel at best - being pretentious and trying to portray a five star dinning experience when you food is basic is absurd!

Drinks are horrible - basic local weak beverages. Beer seems to be watered downed, All drinks are served in plastic or small glasses! go outside of the hotel and have a beer then you will be reminded what a beer really tastes like. Spirits are weak.

Rooms

We were given a decent room by the pool however the two issues I have is one the room seemed to feel damp; and two the noise from the evening events - sometimes until 12 was a nuisance, However they were cleaned everyday, The beds were two singles pushed together - beds very firm.

Pool

There were two pools which were both okay; however and I guess with every type of package holiday is the battle of the sunbeds begin, How refreshing it would be for a hotel was to actually implement a policy to ensure towels were not reserving sunbeds, sometimes for several hours with no one occupying them. Anyway from 7 onwards the beds are reserved and by 9 you will be left without a sun bed.

In conclusion

I speak Greek and the locals mentioned to me that 2 years ago this was a good hotel; however new management has seen the hotel deteriorate; the food quality has deteriorated and the management have been given the task to increase profit margin - by reducing quality. Recommendation there are far better hotels in the area; so please have a look elsewhere...the experience was so bad that I will never be attending an Aquis resort again; although a response may be posted by the hotel please do not swayed - trust me THERE ARE FAR BETTER HOTELS for you to have a really nice holiday; this is not it! Please note I have nothing to gain from writing a poor review but save you a bad experience and for you to enjoy your precious hard earned time abroad!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank andreaspa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped here last week as we managed to get a last minute for a decent price. The first night we arrived the staff were very accomadating and helpfull. We were shown to our room and started to get ready for the night as we arrived late. The room number was 305 and right next to the road and not far from the main one, we didn't get much sleep. We woke in the morning to find 5 cats on our patio area as we were on the ground floor. After a bad nights sleep we asked to change to another room where we would not hear the constant noise from the main road. No problem, we moved to room 177 on the second without any fuss. Not the best view in the world but we were happy with it. The first night wasn't the best but the staff were spot on.

The rooms themselves are quite basic but clean and did ok for a week. Bathroom was very small but adequate. We went all inclusive but the food was quite bland and the same stuff each day, we ended up eating out in some great restaurants and bars within the area.

Both pool areas were very nice and with plenty of room. We needed to be down around 8.00am to get the towels on the beds or we didnt a chance. The place itself is quite nice and we got it on a cheap getaway so we we quite pleased, but its not a four star.

The area is lovely and it too nice to stop in one hotel all inclusive. We ended up eating and drinking out each night as they are some great places to visit and eat.

Room Tip: Try a second floor room, better view and no cats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
83.7 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
437 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,032 reviews
18.4 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#6 of 35 in Elounda
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#64 of 173 in Hersonissos
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#28 of 173 in Hersonissos
786 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Beach

Address: El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $90 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of just half an hour from the Heraklion,at the outsckirts of Hersonissos Silva Beach Hotel operates as an all-inclusive resort hotel, where one can choose from a plethora of activities or if otherwise inclined just relax on the beach or around the pool. The Hotel was renovated during winter 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silva Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Silva Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Silva Maris
Silva Beach Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing