We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing & Romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silva Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silva Beach
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is review is a little late, but by reading other reviews I can tell not alot has changed.

The hotel its self was beautiful and upon arrival seeing the lovely lobby I was extremely pleased. Check in was a breeze and the lady at reception was lovely. We arriveed at arround 10.30pm ( at this time dinner had finished ) and we were offered some sandwiches and a drink. But we said we would get changed and go get some food out in the town (which is very lively and brillaint for a places to eat and drink, we loved it) after we had got unpacked and changed it was about 10.50pm (the room was very nice except we had twin beds and had booked a double) we went for a quick drink in the bar and were told it was closing in 10 minutes by a very rude memeber of staff. We were shocked that we wouldnt be able to make the most of our all inclusive that day (baring in mind we had paid for 7 days all inclusive we were cheated out of a day) and ended up having to have a few drinks in town which wasnt cheap.

The pool was lovely and relaxing, we also got vouchers for the spa so we both went for a massage which was excellent and we also paid to use the jaquzzi.

The food was good there was a decent variety and there was never a problem for us there, except when going to the restraunt my boyfirend was made to wear full length trousers or three quarters which he didnt own he only had just above the knee shorts and the hostess pestered us every night about even though it was far to hot to wear trousers in the end we just ignored her and so she us.

Night time entertainment..... Maybe if you could order more than one watered down cocktail more often than once every half on hour, once a waitress notices you (as at night you are NOT permitted to go to the bar it is table service unless at the lobby bar) people would maybe get a bit more lively! But due to the poor service at the bar where the entertainment was we only went twice and that was enough. The rest of the stay we would have a few drinks at the top bar before and after dinner which were VERY WATERED DOWN (not very good if you like a drink like us)

This bring us to the final part of my review... the beach, in the broucher it said that there was a part of the beach which the hotel owned so on our second day we went to experience it.... Well it was MINGING scary homeless people on it, black sand and no room. So we didnt even sit down and went to another part of the beach 20mins away which we had spotted on a walk the night before.

Oh.... and one last thing, our all inclusive on the last day stopped at 12.00 even though we didnt leave until 6.00pm that evening... so was it 7days all inlcusive or 5 and a little bit??? Also rubbish snaks served through the afternoon YAK!!!

All in all, the hotel is gorgeous and is in a fantastic part of Hersonissos with plenty to do and wounderful sights. The only problem I had with this holiday was the poor value of the all inclusive and the lack of it.... If we had stayed at this hotel and paid for only self catering we would have been more than saticfied but the all inclusive was RUBBISH and cost us a fortune!!!!!!! Unless you like going to bed at 11.00pm!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aimee493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    550
    239
    65
    19
See reviews for
261
909
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the misfortune to stay at this hotel in September 2012. On arrival things started to go downhill. We had booked a garden room and were directed to a cave like room directly in front of a high wall folllowed by the road then another hotel in front of that. We have never complained before and decided to sleep on it. Dinner on the first night was a big shock, the so called restaurant was more like a works canteen, food was diabolical. As our holiday went on it went from bad to worse. On two occasions the main course was 'liver' who the hell enjoys liver as a gourmet meal on holiday. The salads were bland and uninteresting and seemed to consist of the same dishes which were wheeled out at lunch and in the evening. No speciality dishes and no chef ever in attendance. You were ok if you liked spagetti bolognaise for lunch and dinner everyday. No fresh fruit for breakfast, a big bowl of tinned fruit always available. Drinks were non drinkable on the all inclusive option. No bottled water unless you paid extra. I asked for a cappuccino one night and was told this would be an extra cost not included in the all inclusive package. Staff without exception were rude and sullen. The pool area was cleaned every day in a fashion - we watched the cleaners swilling buckets of water gathered from the pool, then swept round and dirty water ending up back in the pool. However when we complained to the rep about the so called four star rating of this hotel she shrugged her shoulders and said that the facilities such as fitness room (where was that - there was a small windowless room with broken equipment in it and no air conditioning) warranted the star rating.

I send a 7 page letter to Thomson holidays on my return. Every one of my complaints was overlooked and we were offered £70 compensation in return. I find this extremely insulting as we have been travelling with Thomson for over 15 years. However we will not be returning to Thomson ever again. I am sorry but this hotel in no way shape or form merits a four star rating. Two star would be pushing it. What a let down.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you are expecting a Four Star Luxury Thomson Hotel as you will be sorely disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The silva beach was a lovely hotel, with great service and a super location.
In October the hotel is really quiet as is the town and bars so if your looking for a really quiet crete go in October.
The hotel was very clean and the rooms were amazingly comfortable.
There was a great selection of food in the restaurants, all staff were friendly and helpful.
The only thing I would say let this hotel down was the fact the all inclusive wasn't that great the cocktails included are very cheap and watered down and the all inclusive stops at 11 which I have never experienced before in a all inclusive hotel.
Overall the hotel was 10/10 and would defo stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Silva Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Katie,

We would like to thank you for your review! We are more than excited to receive such grateful compliments. Rest assured that all of your comments over our all inclusive program have already been forwarded to our quality management and will be taken under consideration in order to elaborate closely and examine each detail for the preparation of the new season.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comments and your suggestions! We are of course looking forward to welcome you once again in one of our resorts in Corfu, Crete and Kos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a lovely clean hotel with pretty surroundings and great helpful staff. The room was spacious, very clean with own dvd player which was free of charge to rent a dvd with good selection if a rainy day. Food was great, all inclusive, always a good selection of hot and cold meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Went in oct time, night time entertainment abit hit and miss, mostly for the elderly but lots of shops and bars near by that open most of the night. Two good sized swimming pool and beach a short walk away. Spa onsite with good prices of treatment, had a massage which was good value for money. This hotel is all you need for a stress free, relaxing holiday!
We will be returning hopefully next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Silva Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Melissa
,
We would like to thank you for your comments! We are really appreciative and will of course pass your feedback to all of our teammates. Rest assured that we will continue to work really hard in order to maintain and of course upgrade the level of our services and facilities.

We are of course looking forward to welcome you once again in Aquis Hotels and Resorts, in Korfu, Kos or Crete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. We are not the type to unnecessarily complain but I do have some problems with the way the hotel is run.

On one side the hotel is very lovely and clean set out in a Greek village style. The hotel has a team of cleaners’ constantly working hard. The rooms in the refurbished side of the hotel are nice and modern with everything you could need, just hope you don't get a room overlooking the main road (more on this later). The majority of the staff are really friendly and work very hard with the exception of a few but you can always get the odd grumpy/bad member of staff even at the best of hotels.

We found that the location of the hotel was really great for renting a car and exploring the island a bit more and Chersonisos itself was lively but not too over the top. Old Chersonisos was particularly nice and we would advise everyone to head up there for a meal one night in the square.

The problems started when we arrived though. We were checked in and told that the hotel was fully booked so we would have to stay in the sister hotel across the road for a night. I said that we would look at the room. When we got to the room it was 3 star at best and not to the same standard as the main hotel we had booked so I went straight back to the reception to say that I was not happy with this arrangement. The lady on the desk reacted very poorly in my opinion and stated it was only for one night what’s the problem! I responded that I didn't care as it was the hotels problem that they have overbooked not mine and I wanted a room in the main hotel. Sure enough another room was found virtually straight away.

The second room we were taken to was to the standard we expected and although it overlooked the main road through Chersonisos we felt it was a better option so we agreed to stay in that room and began unpacking our things from our cases. However, we didn't realise at the time that we would not be able to get any sleep in the second room due to the karaoke bar across the road playing loud music until 4am and people beeping their car and scooter horns all night! Granted this isn't the hotels fault but after 2 days/nights without sleep we couldn't take it anymore and requested to be moved for a third time.

Finally we were moved to a third room (weird seeing as they had said they were fully booked when checking in) and this was again to the same standard as the second room but a lot quieter overlooking the main pool.

The food was a bit hit and miss. I except that buffet food is never going to be gourmet and a lot of it was more than expectable but we did have a couple of occasions when the chicken and pork was not cooked properly which is basic cooking really. Also a bit surprised that you didn't receive a free visit to the a la carte restaurant as this would have broken the constant buffet food up a little. In the end we went out for a couple of nights for dinner for a change.

Service at the romantic bar in the evening could be a little slow due to it being table service however we never had to wait as long as some people have mentioned in previous reviews. I think the longest we waited was 20 minutes on one particularly busy evening. Maybe tipping the waitresses helps though.

We also booked into the spa for treatments and they managed to get that wrong too. However, the lady in the spa was very apologetic and even gave us a free Hammam to make up for the fact we had been inconvenienced which was a nice touch.

The sun bed issue is a bit of a farce really. We adopted a if you can't beat them join them mentality as if you didn't have a towel on a sun bed by 8.30am you struggled to find any left after 9am. We watched one day to see if all sun beds which had been reserved with towels were used and guess what..........yes you guessed it there were several which were not used by the said reservers most of the day. Again the hotel can't be blamed for selfish guests but they could be a bit more proactive in managing the situation instead of just signs saying towels will be removed (which is not enforced).

The final straw with the hotel though is the fact that they say the all inclusive ends when you check out at 12pm on your day of departure. I have been on many all inclusive holidays and never have I had this confirmed to me. I believe that you have paid for all inclusive from the moment you arrive until the moment you get your transfer back to the airport. A lot of guests we talked to were very put out by this as well. We just kept a low profile on our last day and no one challenged us but we did see others being approach in the restaurant and told that their all inclusive had finished. This is a massive management mistake as you can't expect people to not be able to get a soft drink or water on their last day especially if they have late return flights!

All in all we love Crete and will return again but just not to this hotel as the management need to improve the way that they treat their customers in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DrewPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked this after reading the reviews on trip advisor. The professional photo's are very true to life and the hotel lives up to all the positive comments made. The accomodation was perfect for a romantic break for 2 people. WI FI is available and there was also a DVD player in the room and the hotel have a library of DVD's available to hire free of charge.The staff were amazing and very accommodating. They spoke a number of different languages and always had time for us. Beach towels were given to us at the beginning and these could be changed on a wednesday or saturday. The pools were both filled with salt water, but they were extremely clean and beautifully refreshing. The beach at the front of the hotel was small but gave easy access into the sea. But there were many areas around the hotel where steps had been built into the rock creating quiet coves for people to sit and bathe. There were always plenty of sun loungers in and around the hotel. The all inclusive buffet style menu was wonderful. There was always a supply of regular meals and the hotel made something new everyday to add variety to the menu. Drinks were constant and in abundance. If you like going to bed early then this probably isn't the best place to be as the music is quite loud from the bar area and the apartments are close by. However it was always turned down or off by midnight. The entertainment was mostly provided by a company called Animation who we thought were very entertaining and got the audience to participate. They also did the exercise rota during the day which involved the hotel residents. However, we did see other dance acts during our stay. The only downside our trip was that it was the end of the season and we felt towards the end that the staff couldn't wait to go home. Some of the drinks were turned off within the dining area and there was a general feeling of shut down. Had we known this beforehand we possibly wouldn't have booked it so late. Our trip ended on 20th October so bear this is mind when booking. But the staff really are amazing people and they work incredibly hard for 6 months of the year before returning to their families. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the pool right opposite the romantic bar so on the plus side it was close to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSpeakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Silva Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Aquis team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and extensive feedback. We are more than happy to realize that you enjoy your stay with us, especially in such a special occasion.

Rest assured that even the slightest detail will be taken into account by our operation and our quality department and will be evaluated accordingly in terms of our new season preparation.

We really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once again in one of our resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Returned on 20 October after a week at this hotel. Couldn't fault anything. Our room (no. 407)was huge with tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, etc. but I think this was the luck of the draw as all rooms were different. There was wi fi & a DVD player in all rooms. The food, although not corden bleu, was really good and there was lots of choice and we couldn't understand previous negative comments that we'd read.The staff were very friendly and we would like to make a special mention about Costas who ran the main pool bar who was always smiling and joking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brendabricknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Silva Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest!

We are of course honored to receive such feedback by you! We are more than happy and words aren’t enough to describe our satisfaction. Rest assured that we will keep on working really hard in order to sustain our level of quality and of course reach even higher levels.

We really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once again in one of our resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
4.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#7 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#28 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#49 of 174 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Beach

Property: Silva Beach
Address: El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of just half an hour from the Heraklion,at the outsckirts of Hersonissos Silva Beach Hotel operates as an all-inclusive resort hotel, where one can choose from a plethora of activities or if otherwise inclined just relax on the beach or around the pool. The Hotel was renovated during winter 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silva Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Silva Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Silva Maris
Silva Beach Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing