We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Holiday”
Review of Silva Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silva Beach
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Holland-on-Sea, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super Holiday”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Returned on 20 October after a week at this hotel. Couldn't fault anything. Our room (no. 407)was huge with tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, etc. but I think this was the luck of the draw as all rooms were different. There was wi fi & a DVD player in all rooms. The food, although not corden bleu, was really good and there was lots of choice and we couldn't understand previous negative comments that we'd read.The staff were very friendly and we would like to make a special mention about Costas who ran the main pool bar who was always smiling and joking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brendabricknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Silva Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest!

We are of course honored to receive such feedback by you! We are more than happy and words aren’t enough to describe our satisfaction. Rest assured that we will keep on working really hard in order to sustain our level of quality and of course reach even higher levels.

We really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once again in one of our resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    588
    248
    66
    19
See reviews for
285
971
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Returned on 16 October 2012 from a great week at the Aquis Silva. Our room was good towels changed daily, beds changed every 3 days very clean. We found all staff more than helpful. We made enquires on many occasions and found reception staff more than helpful. Restaurant and bar staff could not do enough for you. Yes there were towels on sunbeds early morning, but that was no problem to us. Every time we wanted a sunbed we found one. The only comment would be that they specified long trousers in the restuarant for evening meals, we did notice on many occasions shorts were acceptable.

Room Tip: Would advise to not have a room overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Silva Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We feel much appreciative and always listen carefully to each of our guests.

Regarding our dress code, which is being applied in all of our resorts, rest assured that we always try to emphasize to our guests the importance of our note, but unfortunately it is not always being respected and followed by our guests.

Certainly the implementation of the respective note is something that we should probably take into consideration in our F&B program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I returned home on Friday 19th October, from an amazing week at Aquis Silva Beach in Hersonissos, with two of my friends (ages 23 - 24). The hotel is perfectly situated close to all the main bars, restaurants and shops. The grounds are beautiful, and our room (246) was really spacious for 3 sharing, and in a good location away from the main lobby, but very close to the pool and main dining room - you could hear the music from the bar at night but this only lasts till around 11/12. We had a bath/shower and a balcony which although looked out onto a side street and neighbouring hotel also had a view of the sea. We had our room made up every day and fresh towels. A/C was good, just make sure all windows and doors are closed as it automatically switches off when these are open.

Our stay was during the end of the season, so it was nice to not have to fight for sun loungers by the pools. There are two pools, one by the Romantic Bar and one by the beach. We mainly used the bar pool. The hotel also provides each guest with a beach towel - these are changed every Saturday and Wednesday. The staff were great, and the animation team were excellent. The guests that we met were all nice, from different nationalities, and although many were older than us, there was a good range of ages there at the time we stayed. We really enjoyed all the evening entertainment that was put on, especially the bingo and quizzes.

I have read negative comments about the food, but for us there was always something we liked, and yes sometimes it was repetitive but personally it wasn’t a huge issue for me. I always found the breakfast selection to be the best. We ate out only once on our last night. The all-inclusive drinks were good too, with a range of cocktails, wines and local spirits.

The hotel is also on the main pick up route for many of the excursions. We spent the Tuesday at Aqua Park – about a 25/30 minute bus journey - and had a great time. We managed to get entry and transfers for 25euros each.

Overall we had an amazing holiday, met some great people and would highly recommend it if you are visiting Hersonissos. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived back on the 17th of October having spent a very enjoyable 2 weeks in this hotel.Nearly everybody we talked to had enjoyed their holiday and couldn't understand the recent bad reviews they had read just before going on holiday The staff in particular were very helpful and friendly. We arrived at 2.00am and were offered food and drink however the room we were given was not the pool view we had paid for. The receptionist explained that the hotel is paid the same for both pool and garden view rooms and were having problems with certain travel agencies charging customers extra. However he did say come back in the morning and we'll see what can be done. Next morning the lady receptionist with a minimum of fuss offered to let us see a room that was being cleaned and if we liked it could move to that. The room was across the pool from the Romantic bar was ideal and porter helped us move. It was quiet and peaceful and I'm a light sleeper no noise from bar or neighbours disturbed us. It was clean refurbished recently and towels and bedding changed almost daily. Our waitress Marie in the restaurant was extremely good the best I've seen anywhere. She was always smiling which is hard to do with such long hours and at the end of the seasonShe had excellent English was always helpful to her "regulars" and looked after us well with 5* star service just a pity the food wasn't. Reality is that it is value for money I've had better but equally I've had a lot worse and have been on a good number of All Inclusive holidays. The dessert section on the plus side was better than most but main courses were repetative and not particularly good. You certainly wouldn't starve but most likely wouldn't want to eat pork again for a long time. The Restaurant lacks a chefs station where fresh cooked food or BBQ food is normally served in All Inclusives. The lack of this meant no fresh cooked omlettes or pancakes at breakfast time either. This is something that could easily be remedied by the hotel. The only other downside for me was the beach and access into the sea a little work and upgrading needed here. However no lager louts, lots of really nice people and a good mix of nationalities I didn't hear a cross word the entire time we were there. We hired a car for 3 days for 85 Euros and travelled about a good bit. Worth visiting is Knossos other resorts in particular Aghios Nikolaos and Rethimnon although Heraklion was a bit of a disappointment. There are also plenty of small resorts and villages to see with a swim somewhere to break your journey. Car hire is simple and easy as is the driving there if you go end of season the price for a days hire of a jeep was down to 25 euros.
Behind Hersonissos up the hill are two very pretty traditional villages in Koutouloufari is The Galini Restaurant a lovely eating experience with the best presented food you could find served by girls in Grecian togas. Really good food with plenty of complimentary dishes and drinks everybody we recommended it to came back delighted. It is only a 7 Euro taxi ride to it and well worth a visit. So if you like good company [fellow guests] a really good relaxing holiday in a lovely setting, plenty to see in walking distance, easy travel by bus, a good clean hotel with pleasant staff AND no problem with sun beds, then go to this hotel at the end of the season. You will find it extremely good value and don't listen to the moaners as many of the staff work 7 days a week for 6 months at a stretch they are to be commended that they were still cheerful and smiling. I was pleased to see even the last week of the season the pool was still being well maintained and chemically tested early each morning how many hotels can you say that about especially given the state of the Greek economy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloptimistically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My sister and I have just returned home from our 1 weeks holiday here and we loved every minute. from the moment we arrived at 10.45pm, just in time to get a couple of drinks as all inclusive stops at 11pm we were offered a cold buffet and the wine and beer taps were also turned on for us in the restaurant late at night. Our room was spacious with a balcony view of the neighbouring hotel, a fridge, walk in shower and a safe which you need to pay for. We always managed to find 2 sunbeds together, it was quite quiet as it was nearly end of season. We thought the all inclusive range of drinks were good, lots of cocktails (we tried every cocktail on the menu, and thought the tequilla sunrise, sea breeze and el paridiso were yum), wine (the rose was nice) beer, coffee, local brand spirits, fizzy drinks. Mojito's were 3 euros but they were lovely.The animation team were really friendly and funny, loved the bingo and the music quiz and dancing on stage!!! The beach was nice aswell, we went swimming in the sea a couple of times. Gift shops and bars all around the hotel. It was buffet food at food times, good selection of foods at breakfast, lunch and dinner, always managed to find something to eat. All in all we would recommend this hotel and would love to come back (at the end of the season though!!!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniPoodleLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

this hotel is really nice with beautiful rooms and fantastic swimming pools !The reception manageress Mrs Zervou is so helpful and goes out of her way to solve any little problem you may have. It's true that the drinks could be better but the positives of this hotel far outweigh the negatives. It's a little piece of paradise once you step through the door.I would certainly return as i really enjoyed a peaceful week here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 452elaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I dont normally write reviews but I have just returned yesterday and the holiday was brilliant. This was a birthday present from my family for my 50th and it was a laugh a minute. My sister and I had a great time doing very little which was just the tonic we needed. The hotel is spotless and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The animation team were really funny and the majority of the guests were really nice. The resort is a child free environment and therefore is very tranquil so you can relax in lovely surroundings without disruption. The pools were clean and the grounds lovely. It may be a little quiet for some and the food although mostly nice can be a little repetative but as all inclusives go I've seen a lot worse. There are no kettles or tea making facilities in the standard rooms only the superior ones and to hire a kettle will cost you 5 euros a day so buy a travel one before you go. The little tourist train outside the hotel is good value at 10 euros each for about 2.5 hours it takes you all over the place and you can jump off and wander round then catch the next one back. All in all we had fun and would go back. Just to end with a BIG THANK YOU TO KOSTAS at the poolbar the friendliest barman in Greece always smiling and a great laugh he made us feel so welcome X

Room Tip: set out like a small village the rooms are clean and nice although some are small. Check the facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.4 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#9 of 171 in Hersonissos
563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
4.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#57 of 171 in Hersonissos
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#25 of 171 in Hersonissos
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Beach

Property: Silva Beach
Address: El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of just half an hour from the Heraklion,at the outsckirts of Hersonissos Silva Beach Hotel operates as an all-inclusive resort hotel, where one can choose from a plethora of activities or if otherwise inclined just relax on the beach or around the pool. The Hotel was renovated during winter 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silva Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Silva Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Silva Maris
Silva Beach Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing