We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect :((”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not perfect :((”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I were extremely excited to stay at The Creta Maris for our holidays and we genuinely expected it to be the highlight of our Greece trip. We were very disappointed in our experience at the hotel and conveyed this to the front office manager.

To start with a positive, upon arrival (we drove) we were greeted by a very friendly member of the hotel. The hotel provides free valet parking for guests which was very much appreciated after a long drive.
We were impressed, the view from the hotel is incredible.

However, there are so many critical observations:

- The Internet in the hotel is downright awful. It mostly doesn't work or is so slow to be ineffective.

- The air conditioning in our unit wasn't very strong and especially on our first night when we arrived and the room was hot.

- The food quality in the restaurants was AWFUL. We never got anywhere with the staff and ended up having to complain to the front desk to get a discount.

- The pool areas by the beach are nice but devoid of any character. It's just a very large tub of water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roland_H2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we have not met your expectations during your last stay at Creta Maris. We will read your comments and do our best to ameliorate our services in the near future.
We hope to have another chance in the future to offer you a better experience of Creta Maris.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,007
    695
    196
    52
    23
See reviews for
1,324
981
17
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beddgelert, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went to the Creta Maris Hotel in may 2013
It was for my 50th birthday and there were 9 adults in all.
It was a big deal to me and I thought I had researched the hotel very well.
I wanted to have a great time plus our friends were trusting me with there vacation as well. We had an OK time but it is not what I thought.
It is a big hotel, it is not special in anyway. The place where you eat breakfast is like eating in a cafeteria. The food is good but not special.
There are lots of kids and it takes forever to get to the pool or beach,
It's just a big resort with no charm.
Bottom line if you want charm or character this is not it.
ALSO THE ALL INCLUSIVE IS BAD, the drinks was mixed with water and the food was poor.
The rooms are just OK and we had a suite. We were very disapointed but we are not the big hotel types. We are more of a four seasons type.
When we got home the hotel was on the cover of our travel magazine and we keep seeing it pop up in other places. I do have to say the pictures of the hotel are beautiful but it's not what its like. Oh, two of our friends used the spa the second day and said it was not worth it. I would not stay here because Greece is so magical and it is sad to waste your time in a place so average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we have not met your expectations during your stay last year. We are doing our best so that our pictures to show the reality to our future guests and we usually succeed on that. Sometimes it is a little bit difficult to compare a resort of 680 rooms with a boutique chain of a different pricing as well.
We will read your comments and do our best to ameliorate our services in the future.
We hope to have another chance in the future to offer you our hospitality.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week early june with my girlfriend, it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The food was great, loads of choice and all different types of foods, the service was top notch rooms cleaned to a high standard every day, towels changed etc. There was free air-con in the room, if I had to say one bad point was that they stopped serving drinks at midnight but I cant realy fault it I would defo recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank harpersdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We landed on the evening of 17th September 2013.
On approach to the hotel the baggage staff immediatley took our bags to one side. And when we were given the key they walked us to our room with the bags.

The room in first instance was by the main road and quite far away from the main reception, and our view was of a tree. We did not book a sea view so we got a room in the main building which was fine. The shower was amazing! and was a walk in which kind of made up for the view. But being by the main road it was noisy.

We asked our rep if we could move rooms as it was quite noisy at the view wasn't great, and she asked the hotel staff who happily gave us another room, the same baggage gentleman took us to the new room. It was nice and bright due to no tree, and to our amazement if you leant over the balcony you could see the sea! It was lovely.

The beds were two singles pushed together which was comfier than we expected and the bathroom was a normal shower within a bath which was fairly powerful.

The tap water was drinkable too in the hotel which to our relief was brilliant!

We had the maids in every other day as there were more than enough towels. There was no need to have them in everyday in our room.

The Wi-fi service was fantastic.

The beach and the pool were brilliant too.
We only used the pool once as it was too busy and noisy due to children, which is to be expected.

We spent most of the days at the beach if were not out.
The beach is tidy and clean and the sea was nice too.
The hotel had security combing the beach frequently and asking people not staying at the hotel to move along.

The food everyday was of a great standard, the staff started to recognise us and they always acknowledged.
They would clear the tables promptly also.

The bar staff were always helpful and every member of staff looked like they were happy be there.
One member of the entertainment team could be a little over the top, but I guess she was just loving life. She did ask us all the time though! But by the last night of the holiday, me and my girlfriend cracked (under the influence of a lot of Alcohol) and kind of shouted over the top of everyone else doing Kareoke....
Apologies....

I am amazed that all the staff spoke English. Perfect English.
I am embarassed that I do not know any european language.

This hotel was brilliant, well worth the money we paid for.

And If we visit that area again I think we would definatley come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a great week, a really great holiday. We enjoyed the facilities and the good service. Especially at the Almyra restaurant Giorgos and Vaggelio made us feel like home! Amazing greek hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After being recommended this hotel by a friend I was expecting great things and I wasn't disappointed. This hotel is fabulous. I can't a say a negative thing about it. We arrived at 9pm and were told that we could still use the restaurant if we wanted to which we did. We stayed in the main hotel and having talked to other guests we made the right choice. They said the bungalows were a bit tired looking. We didnt pay for a seaview but we had a seaview every time we sat at the bar so werent disappointed. The food is great. Plenty of choice and lots of it. Every night they have a station where they cook fresh fish and meat. We also ate in the pithos restaurant and the cochilas restaurant (twice)because it was so good the first time. You have to be at reception early to book in these restaurants and you can only book to eat in them 3 times a week. We used the steki pool which is located by the bungalows. It has its own bar which served drinks and snacks . The main pool is great but can get busy but still plenty of beds. The hotel provides towels which you can exchange in the afternoon ready for the next day. The bar area is lovely. Overlooking the sea and beach. You never get bored of the view. We used the beach which had plenty of beds and because its part of the hotel they're free which is a bonus. We walked into Hersonnisos every day . (About 10 minutes)Plenty of bars and fab restaurants if you fancy a change from the hotel . We also used the little train which takes you around Herssonnis. Costs about 10euros each but worth it. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sianee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you decide to spend your holidays in the island of Crete during June, July or August you can be almost sure that you will not experience any rain. There are not many rainy days there even in May or September but if you wish to be absolutely sure of being able to go swimming in spite of the "crying sky", think of choosing the hotel Crete Maris. One of its (rather rare) facilities is a big indoor swimming pool. This is of course not the only of many goodies it can offer to satisfy even the most demanding guests. I believe its five stars ranking is well deserved in all respects, from the perfect room service to the restaurants and bars.
To people who like sleeping with their windows open and appreciate absolute silence I recommend to make their suite reservation not in the main building but in the adjacent bungalow area - preferably on the upper floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zdenek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,231 reviews
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
20.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Property: Creta Maris Beach Resort
Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing