We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place and food ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place and food ever!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in Creta Maris for a holiday in October.
Perfect hotel with a huge territory for waking, sunbathing, swimming and just relaxing.

Location is great, just few minutes walking from shops and taverna/restaurant area, if you are bored and want to spend time outside of the hotel.

Food is to die for! It doesn't change a lot every day, but you would need a month to try each course. Also there was no problem with a la carte restaurants reservation. We were lucky to visit Limoncello with crazy delicious desserts and Cochlias for a seafood BBQ that was absolutely fantastic!

During the day you can find an animation team offering games and different activities. Every night there is a disco or other amusements. If you want to get out from the hustle and bustle near the main pool, just go to other swimming pools on the hotel's territory.

Rent pedalo and discover Hersonissos from the sea. Also there is a perfect rocky beach for snorkeing. But bring your mask or buy it in the shop near the hotel.

I would differently recommend Creta Maris Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ni4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    651
    188
    49
    22
See reviews for
1,149
899
15
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

went for one week mid may this year, to be fair, we were probably a couple of weeks premature for really great weather, we got a bit of rain, but 4 out of 7 days were sunny. this is not the fault of the hotel obviously, so here goes, the alacarte restaurants are really good, the Cretan is nice, you get a set menu kind of meze, don't expect a greek meze, they are very proud of being Cretan here and you won't get traditional greek food here, that did, disappoint me a bit, but probably more my fault for not researching before I booked. the Italian is good, deserts are very nice, the bbq night was good, greek night was a riot with dancing on the tables and fast guitar playing, thoroughly enjoyable. pools are grate, the main pool is quite busy and loud, although the swirl pool and terra building pools are a little quieter, but very nice and relaxing. buffet restaurant is of good standard. hersonissos, is a bit of samey if you want to eat out or buy olive oil, its the place to go, but since we were all inc, it didn't really matter. all in all, I would go back, maybe a few weeks later next time.

Oh yes, nearly forgot, they do Mojito on Draft !!! a massive plus as its included in AI as well, spent anfew afternoons by the pool feeling a bit squiffy, just 3 in about 30 mins will do the trick, they go down like pop, oooh it doesn't get much better than that. the guy in the swirl pool bar makes the best (strongest) ones!!

Room Tip: upper room in the Cretan village rather than ground floor are definitely better, quieter and more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spacious well maintained suites. Great location next to the town. So many pools and eats to choose from. The resort has its own beach and sunning areas.
Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good.
The resort was huge and very busy. Lucky our bungalow was off the main area as the main stay was noisy. Overall a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We ( Geoff and Yvonne) stayed at here during the first two weeks of September. The staff are friendly and the rooms are very clean and the cleaning staff work hard as does everyone. we had room 706 and a cat with 3 kittens made home on our balcony. They were no more than three to four weeks old but was a nice to have them there and we did manage to feed them quite well during our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as the food was plentiful and very well cooked with a variety of choice. Weather was really hot too in the 30s most days. Just Perfect...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsonly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at this super hotel resort. The facilities, our room, the food and all the staff were excellent.
We sampled all the restaurants ( including the three pre-bookable A la carte restaurants) all of which offered a wide and varied choice complimented by excellent service.
Our particular thanks go to George Hamalakis (Maître) who made us so very welcome in almost every restaurant we visited, working hard every night to ensure all the clients enjoyed their dining experience and showing off his Greek dancing skills one evening in the Cochlias restaurant.
The complete facility was spotlessly clean, with staff continually on the go to ensure it remained that way.
There are a so many swimming pools to choose from, lively, quiet, and for small children, once again all spotless.
We requested a high floor room with sea view and that's what we got, with a great views of the pools from the adequately sized balcony
We visited the night club / disco (10 till midnight) which was also good fun
The late departure room was probably the best I've used with shower and changing facilities.
We booked through Thomas Cook and the whole experience was just great from start to finish and represented excellent value.

Room Tip: Request high floor with sea view, there is normally a supplement, but we just got lucky I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186363David_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had heard good things about this hotel and trip advisor reviews all seemed very positive.
We stayed from the middle of Sept this year and were really looking forward to a nice family holiday.
The room was basic but adequate. Cleaning seems optional. You opt to do it or nobody will.
Dust on surfaces was weeks old.
Bar staff initially frosty but warmed up during our stay once they realised we use please and thank you's, something they're not used to.
Entertainment staff friendly but entertainment in the evening is shambolic. We can honestly say it is the worst entertainment we have ever had, cheap £9 holidays included.
Our 14 year old son was bored to tears and dreaded the evenings.
The Greek night on our 2nd week was disgraceful. The hotel appeared to roll out all the stops for a sizable Belgian TV company contingent. After the Greek dancers, we were treated to Belgian entertainment. Great if you speak Flemish.
So if you were German, Dutch, Russian, Italian or British you had no chance. Nice if they'd announced this. We just sat and waited for translation which didn't come. So all those nations like us just drifted away. The week before was so basic an affair that we were not going to go second time around. However the thought of siting round watching others play cards was a little depressing. Discos and Flag quizzes do not constitute entertainment! Also there is no entertainment on Sundays.
The Belgians I must say were the single most loudmouthed, ignorant rude group we have ever encountered on our travels. Many people complained the Hotel seemed indifferent. We looked for our rep one evening to find she'd apparently been moved to a cupboard under the stairs so as to free up space for the Belgian Reps/Staff. We were told this by other guests who had also been looking for the rep. Hotel staff had no idea where she'd been moved. We simply left it after this. Its not a holiday if all you do is look for your rep to complain.
Grounds were very charming and well kept. Pools clean with plenty of beds.
Food was reasonable with Pork being the staple.
Regular visitors to the Hotel told us that the will not return. Nor will we.
This is not a 5* Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nichloa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and i stayed in this very large resort mid summer 2013,We were told by staff that there's often over 1,600 guests but it did not feel over crowed,nice and relaxed .
We booked an apartment with sea view, The room was clean tidy but very basic for a 5 star no mini bar ,one bottle of water for the week.
The only real problem is that ONLY GUESTS THAT ARE WILLING TO GET UP AT 6am on there Holiday can eat in the two best restaurants "you can not pre book and you can only book at 6am on the day before"....This is crazy and really lets the hotel down,the staff even lie about the procedure and you always hear dissapionted guests complaining.The Itaian was not worth getting up for and we never got to sample the Greek restaurant as it was always full,having said that the standard restaurants had a good selection of food "the food was better in the top resturant over the brigde"
Beach PoolTowels are provided in the room with a sign that reads "do not leave this towel on a sun bed or the staff will remove it"but if you went to the pool at 7-8am every single sunbed will be reserved with a towel and the staff Never moved any"some sad family's would leave towels on sunbeds all over the resort even if they were out for the day.
Over all it was a nice place(not much to do outside the resort a week is enough) but theres plenty of room for improvement.

Room Tip: sea view bungerlow was nice,this resort seems to have areas pending what country your from so be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 455pgtlgt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#13 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
47.6 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Property: Creta Maris Beach Resort
Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#1 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing