We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently had a one week stay in this amazing hotel.

The pros:
- Amazing location
- Sandy beach
- Excellent and plenty to chose healthy food
- Great Wi-Fi speed
- Good animation around the pool
- The cleaning people are extremely active
- The client service is excellent

The cons:
- Beds - well, I was trouble sleeping few nights because the mattresses are pretty hard.
- Diners - If there is a clear sign with the rule that you can go to dinner or into À la carte restaurant only with long trousers. That should be applicable also on French people. It is ruining the mood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris Beach Resort. We will read your comments carefully and do our best to ameliorate our services in the future. We hope to accommodate you again very soon!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 3,222 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Creta Maris is built like a small Greec village, so walking to our rooms was a unic experience - passing for example two gigantic trees. We were two couples and had two lovely - simply but aesthetically decorated - very specious, clean and quiet rooms with balconies and a view to the sea (mind you, Creta's stuff, with some shade on the balconies they'll be more useful, also at day time). The service was very nice and helpful.The hotel had just what we needed for relaxing and enjoying - a private very well organized beach, with lots of shade and alternatives: the beautiful Crete sea or a choice of swimming pools, clean sand or paved relaxation area, some stretchings with the nice sports/Yoga guide or just drinking ice coffee and reading. At least once a day we would sit on the veranda and have a drink, and we did not have enough time to check all the restaurants and bars the hotel offers. We rented a car, so we could combine travelling (a few houres every day) with relexation - a perfect combination and the perfect place for it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and the kind words written. We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris Beach Resort and really hope to accommodate you again in the future!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I recently visited Creta Maris to attend the Seafood BBQ with live music at Cochlias restaurant and was very impressed by the quality of the food, the warmth of the service and the beauty of the resort grounds.

The resort features Aegean style architecture and the staff is dressed in a simplified version of the traditional Cretan costume, so as you walk around it feels like you are in a traditional Greek village.

Creta Maris is right on the beach, while Cochlias restaurant is overlooking the sea. The food was truly amazing, full of fresh and local ingredients. In fact, it's the resort's mission to use only locally produced ingredients in the preparation of its dishes, so the quality is top-notch.

The live music was a great addition to the evening, by the end of which everyone was dancing and having fun! The staff also gave a great mini-performance of Greek dancing and even prompted the guests to follow some basic steps.

I look forward to returning next year, so I can experience Cretan hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the possitive feedback written. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris and loved the Seafood BBQ night at Cochlias! We hope to accommodate you again next year!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at this lovely resort. After one night, I asked to move rooms as ours overlooked the road and was very noisy all night.The reception staff were incredibly helpful and offered us a different room. Throughout the week, all the staff - waiters, cleaners, reception etc- were very friendly, smiley and welcoming. The hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean and nicely presented.The food in the buffet restaurants was to a good standard with something for everyone. We used the Cochias & Limoncello restaurants. The Cochias was well worth a visit - good food, excellent service and lively entertainment. Limoncello, was the opposite - dreadful service, (we had to ask for a drink & menu 20 minutes after arriving !) the food was very average, mine was an overcooked pasta bake, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the entertainment for the stage show was right next door and incredibly noisy. In my opinion, this restaurant is not worth queuing up for at 7am! The reserving sunbeds is a nuisance and the last few days, they were being reserved at 0630! However, the pools are lovely and the beach, right next to the hotel, was clean, sandy and clear blue sea.The animation team did work very hard, however, I do think the evening entertainment was poor and apart from the expensive games room, very little for teenagers to do.We did take the short walk to the harbour a couple of nights for a change of scenery.Overall, this is a wonderfully relaxing resort with lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy you had a wonderful time during your stay at Creta Maris! We will read your comments carefully and do our best to ameliorate our services. We hope to accommodate you again very soon in the future.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our 1st time in Crete but after a few visits to Cyprus we thought we would know what to expect ?
FANTASTIC is not enough to describe this hotel & it's staff, nothing is to much trouble, great spa centre, excellent restaurants within the complex and a great position to the local town.
Yes the beach is small, yes it's up high away from the town but we knew that and it's how it's described trip advisor & in the holiday company website etc.
Very impressed and will return ASAP

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy you had a beautiful time during your stay at Creta Maris! We hope to accommodate you again very soon!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed there, me, my wife and our 2 babies. I chose that hotel based on the marvelous location. The place is next to the sea. We stayed at the bungalows with sea view (cost 350 euro/night) that is only 30m from the beach.
Here are my comments:
- Very polite stuff. Everybody was polite with us and very helpful. I appreciated the fact that most of the people working there are Greeks and not low-cost immigrants like in other hotels in Greece!
- The best location in Hersonissos and also very close to the Heraklion airport
- The beach is very clean and you can swim no matter how windy the north cretan coast is
- My favorite beach is the north side of hotel beach. In order to go there you have to walk to a rocky path. I believe the path should be widened in a certain narrow point.
- The bungalow was recently renovated with good taste and materials.
- The cleaning service was daily. There were no bugs (mentioned in other reviews) and one mosquito found was shortly eliminated by me
- We had Wi-fi in the room and a nice balcony facing the sea.
- The surroundings of the bungalows is like a cretan village and they have spent a lot of effort to maintain all these trees and herbs.
- Breakfast was great, very fresh bread, local honey and sheep's milk were my favorites
- I had lunch at restaurant Cosmos and Almyra and I was not creazy about the food although they have a great variety of options from local and other cuisines, but this may be a subjective opinion because I am addicted to my wife's way of home cooking.
- I was a bit concerned about the drinking water in the restaurants smelling chlorine, but the owner Mr Yannis Metaxas was kind enough to inform me that it is regularly tested by certified lab and it complies the greek regulations for safety, so this issue was clarified.

Overall, we had a very good experience there and probably visit again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFAKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris Beach Resort. We will read your comments and do our best to ameliorate our services in the future. We hope to accommodate you very soon in the future.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Overall we really enjoyed our holiday. The hotel has a fantastic location on the beach within 5 minutes walk of bars and restaurants .

The public areas and our bedroom were very clean and nicely furnished. We got upgraded to a suite as the hotel was full . This overlooked the pool and was close to reception so was a little noisy at times but we put up with this as having 2 rooms meant we had plenty space.

We only used the main pool which meant 7am wake up to reserve sun beds but was worth it.

We visited limoncello & Cochlias restaurants which could be booked the day before but got booked up by 730am - maybe a better system would allow booking further in advance to ensure everybody got chance to visit? These were excellent.
The main restaurant was decent - perhaps more choice for kids ? Croissants at breakfast would be good & maybe pizza at tea . The salads, soup and desserts were good but maybe a bit more variety in main meals would have been better. Overall though the food was always well stocked & well laid out with minimal queues at peak times.

Kids disco and entertainment was good but the Animation team mysteriously disappeared 3 days before the end of the holiday with no explanation!

The main plus point from the holiday was the staff- all the staff without exception were friendly helpful & polite & made us very welcome.

We did go out of the hotel for a couple of meals at night - we loved La Scala on the front of the harbour of Heronissis - well recommended.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from reception as can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris Beach Resort! We will ready your comments and do our best to ameliorate our services in the future. We hope to accommodate you again very soon in the future.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $172 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing