We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 5 star hotel for Crete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 6, 2013

good hoel for familyes with children. Good position, next to the sea and next to the beach.
One of the best hotels in Hersonisos but i think it is to expensive. You can get better for the money but this hotel has a big + good position. So it is un to you if you whant to save money or to stay here and have some other benefits.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank RaduCostea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always trying to offer the best quality to our guests! We hope you had a nice time at Creta Maris and come back very soon!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We travelled to Crete in April 2012 and we have spent the Easter there. The island is fascinating, Chania and Rhetymno are a must when exploring the island, so is gorgeous turquoise Matala hippie :) beach at the Sea of Libia.. Although April might not be the best time of the year to explore the island as some natural attractions ( like the Vai beach and reservation) are unavailable outsided the hifh season. The hotel - Creta Maris- was ok, we stayed in the main building. The cretan village housing seemed truely a better option. The hote situated in a good location, close to the capital and airport Heraklion, although some of its facilities are not all five stars. The food was the the highlight of the services received... all natural, local products were served, indeed an authentic culinary experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roxyti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our new philosophy "Green Cretan All Inclusive" during your stay. All materials cooked are high quality and local, following traditional recipes from Crete and the Mediterranean. We do hope to accommodate you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here quite some time ago, but have just joined tripadvisor so decided to write a review of the poor experience we had in this hotel.
In summary, the hotel resort is very nice but the standard of the bedroom/bathroom facilities is nothing short of awful, i.e. Equivalent to a 4 star hotel with 1 star bedrooms.
After highlighting our dissatisfaction with our room on arrival, we were shown alternative rooms which we declined to accept, and eventually were "upgraded" to a bungalow adjacent to the hotel. A slight improvement but poor quality accommodation with extremely shabby bathroom facilities was still an issue. We wrote an official complaint complete with pictures to our travel agency on return home but were fobbed off with a "no international 5 star standard" mantra, which I found unacceptable but could do nothing more about it. Maybe it's karma but that agency went out of business the next year.
As for the Creta Maris, if they could get their accommodation sorted I would visit there every year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Analogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am not sure if I am correct but from your sayings you haven't visit the resort for a long time (as you mention the travel agency that provided you the service went out of business after a year, so your visit was even earlier.. and not in 2012 as you state). I would like to let you know that all main building rooms have fully renovated bathrooms and that this winter we are fully renovating a great part of our Bungalows. As you can see, we are striving to always become better and offer a great accommodation to all our guests. We do hope to accommodate you again in the future and offer you a better experience of our resort and its new philosophy "Green Cretan All Inclusive".

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We took a two week holiday at Creta Maris in August. Two adult, two children, we stayed in the Maris Building our room was great and much better than anticipated, two bedrooms and two bathrooms, one with shower and one with a bath and two sinks! Bathrooms were very modern the rooms very spacious, balcony was enclosed but this was fine and safer for the children. Rooms were cleaned daily. We experienced some noise from the road some nights but this cannot be helped.

Food was good lots of choice there was normally something that we could all eat. You have to remember to book the day before you wish to eat at one of the a la carte restaurants and make sure you book in the morning otherwise they tend to get booked up. We tried all of them and really its down to personal choice but we liked the Limoncello and Cochlias and during the day Steki would cook you a mixed grill and chips which was really good and freshly cooked.

We never had a problems getting a sun bed and never got up early either but tended to stick to the Terra Building Pool as the main pool was too deep for the children. It was really good that you could have a clean beach towel every day. Drinks were always available and a very good variety the only trouble was deciding what to have, ice cream was available for an hour twice a day but that was enough really.

This was the first time we have been abroad for many years and our children's first time, so we had really looked forward to this and was not disappointed we all loved it here and if we were ever to go back to Crete would not think twice before coming here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Crazywomen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your possitive feedback. We are very happy you and your family had a great time at Creta Maris! We really hope to accommodate you again in the future in our resort!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends in October for a 4 day weekend. This hotel was fantastic for all inclusive! Our first time to Greece and this hotel made the trip worth it! Wishing we would have stayed longer. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! I The food they offered was one of the best parts. Anything you could want from traditional Crete food to their spin on american cuisine. Bars opened early in the morning for those who need a morning pick me up ;) I would recommend getting to the beach early to save some lounge chairs if you want a good spot :) Oh and don't be scared by the dozens of cats that roam the hotel grounds. I am not sure if this is a Greek thing, but they started to grow on me! This hotel goes for miles, there are louder areas by the pools which I would recommend for the younger crowds, and an entirely quiet area in the hills behind with several pools and restaurants that is more low key and quiet. I would for sure go back to this hotel!! Loved it!!

Room Tip: Rooms near the main pool are louder, and have a younger crowd feeling. The manager at the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank a_kings_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your possitive feedback. We are really happy you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris. We hope to accommodate you again for a longer stay this comming summer!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we booked a week at this lovely hotel , for a relaxing break for my wifes birthday 26th oct . we had a great time here , the hotel is beautiful with brilliant staff especially the girls in the romantic bar well done girls .the two lads at pool bar , also the manager of the resturaunt by the pool . everyone in crete and greece in general are so kind and considerate we dont really want to go anywhere else for our hols . the creta maris is spotless . our room was lovely but on the wrong side of the hotel so we asked for a sea view which we got but the room was quite small so we wished we had stayed where we were . never mind . the food was ok . we went to the italian and greek nights which were a lot nicer . on my wifes birthday we had italian and a birthday cake was brought out while everyone sang happy birthday that was great .also a nice gift and card in the room . everything is done really thoughtfully . the rep stacey was good too . it was the last week of season . we went on a trip to spinalonga , the tour guide ROULA was BRILLIANT she looked after us all day and wanted everyone to know about her beautiful country and people . if you go to this part of crete go on this trip youll love it . ps they cooked our lunch on the beach , the tasietst pork ive ever eaten . we are thinking of going back next summer as it was a little bit too quiet for us in october . i understand the concerns about buisness people but it states in brochure conference centre . so i wasnt totally surprised . all in all a very sophisticated holiday . thank you .

Room Tip: rooms on side of hotel are slightly smaller with bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vonnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your possitive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris and hope to accommodate you again this summer during a more busy period maybe!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

21st - 31st October 2012
We had quite a different holiday in Crete and overall were quite disappointed with it. Although it was half-term, there were only a few families there for our first few days. Then, the hotel began to literally close around the few remaining holiday makers. Facilities were reduced to one dining room for all meals and there was no entertainment. The hotel, although extremely large and pleasant on the face of it, certainly was not a five star hotel.
Upon arrival, we were firstly taken to a room, quite pleasant but when we drew back the curtains to see our view it overlooked what can only be described as a waste/sewerage stream on the ground and a wall directly facing us of the adjoining building. Needless to say we went back to reception and asked to be moved to another room with some sort of view - preferably a sea view. After a flurry of activity with the staff, we were told we could have another room but it would cost us another £200!! We said that we had paid for our holiday already and were not prepared to pay any more. This debate was then passed to the personnel manager, an extremely pleasant young lady, who took us to see another room. This room had a lovely view overlooking one of the pools and the sea.
We have nothing but praise for most of the staff (the few there remaining). They were pleasant, friendly, hardworking and putting in long working hours.
The poolside 'security' man however, who was in charge of the worn, tatty towels and grubby sun umbrellas, had had a personality bypass and appeared to take great offence if you tried to put an umbrella up without his permission. I joke not.
The sun bed covers were really appalling, stained and worn and only fit to be burned. I can appreciate that this was the end of the season but really, standards should remain the same throughout the duration of guests holidays.
Our biggest complaint however, was the seminars/conferences that literally monopolised the hotel. During the middle of our first week, an international conference took place that wasn't too imposing initially but after they had gone a new one started with over 400 delegates. They literally took over the place. On their first evening, a grand welcoming party had been arranged for them in the foyer/lobby; with food , champagne and the proverbial welcoming committee. We, and the other (very few) remaining guests were discouraged from going anywhere near it. When I asked one of the managers if we could join in as the bar, Wi-fi, lounge area was all being utilised, I was told that certainly not, we were not invited. I asked why and was told that we had not paid for the privilege. I curtly told him that we were also paying guests but was stared down. The only place available was to sit on the balcony overlooking the pool 'Romantic Lounge' area. (A very pleasant and usually quiet area).
After all the delegates got completely rat legged, they too started to come out on to the balcony. The noise of voices was absolutely deafening. Wading through these people, I went to Reception and asked to speak to the manager and complained. Obviously this had no effect whatsoever. We learned later that the revenue from the first seminar alone was 1.5million pounds. God only knows what the second one cost. Throughout the rest of our holiday the delegates took over the lounge areas with their lap-tops, phones and Skype - very noisily. Each night, as they became more inebriated, they were raucous and rowdy. We were woken every night between 2-3 am with drunken people making loud conversations peppered with laughing on their way to their rooms, on the same corridor as us' opposite and next door. This continued with some groups in rooms continuing with their party and scraping chairs etc.
What was puzzling was that this hotel has the facilities to provide for both conferences and tourists. Across the road, there is another huge complex purpose built to accommodate these functions entirely separately without impinging on the holiday makers. I can only deduce that by confining everybody meant less staff needed to be employed and costs overall were kept to a minimum. Unfortunately, we didn't pay a reduced amount for our holiday to incorporate limited access to the amenities that we expected to fully enjoy. The food was repetitive, and just warm; the heater for the plates wasn't working so the plates were cold.
All in all our only regret was that we were there for 11 nights. Never before have we been so relieved to get on a plane home after a holiday. Would we recommend the place. A strong resounding NO.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rosanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we haven't met your expectations during your stay. We will read your comments carefully and try to ameliorate our services as we always strive to become better. We hope to have another chance in the future to accommodate you again and offer you a better experience from Creta Maris Beach Resort.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 184 in Hersonissos
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $192 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing