We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, best holiday ever!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the Creta Maris in July this year, what a place!!!! not only do they have an excellent location, great facilities, fabulous food but they have the best staff I have ever come across at a hotel.

On arrival we got a free upgrade to the bungalows around the Steki pool and bar which were authentically greek and absolutey lovely, spacious and had great views.

I don't even know were to start with the food, the buffet restaurants had so much choice and everything was of a very high quality, the times of service were great and the snacks at the pool bars were handy. In the afternoon staff also brought watermelon and raki around the pool.

The al a carte restaurants were very nice for a change of scenery and also did lovely food with great atmosphere's.

The main pool was lively with excellent entertainment staff who tried to involve everyone but didn't pester but there was also the Steki pool if we wanted a bit of quiet.

Bars and drinks were all of a great standard with water fridges across the resort to refill your room fridges. The only complaint my partner had was that the beach bar didnt serve brandy in the evenings so we couldn's spend much time there (we are coming back next year so please can you put a bottle of brandy behind the beach bar!)

I must end with the staff because without them the hotel would be good but it wouldn't be the same amazing experience, by the end of the holiday we felt like the staff were long time friends. A special mention must go to the staff at the Maris building romantic bar, Yiannis, Stefi and Sofia but especially Popi at the Steki bar who was always happy to make us whatever we wanted to eat and always happy to see us.

I was always a person who said I would never go to the same place twice as why would you, well the Creta Maris is a reason to go back and we can't wait until next year when we can get back there!

Thanks to all the staff at the Creat Maris and see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are really happy you had a wonderful time at Creta Maris! I will pass your request about the brandy to our F&B Manager. We are all looking forward to seeing you again this year in our hotel!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just arrived home from the Creta Maris Beach Resort where we stayed for one week. We cannot fault this hotel at all, after many all inclusive holidays I can honestly say this is one of the best. The staff were very accommodating, the food was very varied (we can highly reccommend the Greek al a carte evening) and rooms exceptionally clean and the views were outstanding. This was our first visit to Crete and we will def be returning to this hotel in July 2013 with our daughter and granddaughter. The only negative thing we can say is the weather...it rained a couple of times but still didn't dampen our spirits.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your possitive feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays even though you had a couple of rainy days.. October in Crete usually has some rainy days but is still warm for holidays. I am sure you will not have any weather problems in July! We are all looking forward seeing you again in July!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

we spent 2 weeks at crera maris ,this resort caters for everyone of all ages.we went at the end of the season for our 40th wedding aniverary,where they laid on a champagne breakfast in our room.the staff in the restaraunt were polite and friendly.food was good .the waitress in the bar were really friendly and we we had a good laugh with them ,stephenia and natalia you really did look after us many thanks.would definatly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishyindonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel! We really hope to accommodate you again very soon at Creta Maris.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I read all the reviews about this hotel before I left and I was very surprised by some of the negative comments about this hotel. 6 of us spent a week here from the 12th - 19th of October and had a very good time. On the negative side a lot of the facilities were closed for the season but we still found plenty of other options to meet our needs. The food was very good although sometimes a little change in the menu would be a good idea. Also it would help if people read the notice at the entrance to the dining room at the evening meal which read PLEASE OBSERVE THE DRESS CODE. and a member of the restaurant staff could show you to a suitable table. (Staff take note.) Full marks go to the bar staff who do a tremendous job meeting everybody's different requirements A special mention goes to Stephanie and friends who waited on customers at the romantic bar very nice, polite, and well mannered. A good holiday overall.

Room Tip: The Terra building was closed for the season and we were allocated rooms in the bungalow area. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your possitive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris. We will take into consideration your comments and do our best in order to improve our services. We hope to see you very soon to our Romantic Bar again!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our 2nd stop on a short greek islands tour and we were highly disappointed with the hotel. It was outdated and just average. The beach and pool was nice. The food was Terrible!! Many nights we opted to go out to restaurants in town rather than eat the meal included at this hotel. Staff was not overly helpful. We did have a safe key until 3 days into our trip. I would NOT go back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry our services did not reach your expectations. All products used in our restaurants are local and high quality following traditional recipes from Crete, Greece and Mediterranean. We hope you have mentioned your dissapointment to one of our staff members so we could have done anything during your stay in order to ameliorate your vacations. We hope to have another chance in the future to offer you a better accommodation experience.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and i have just returned after a great 11 days in this excellent hotel.People who dish this hotel reallly are idiots or do not deserve great sevice as they would not know it if they saw it.Is it 5 stars?.I would say not by a uk standard but you are not in the uk and you are not paying uk prices.Does it get everything spot on? Not always but the people are great, always smiling and helping and it is still a great standard.The food is good not great, but again if you are going all incllusive at a buffet restaurant what would you expect?.It is good enough and dont forget as many of my uk citizens seem to it is not just for us but many nationalities and many people at busy times because they dont have steak pie on is not a crime.I have worked in 5 star operations in the hotel industry so i can speak from experience at the price and quality issues and this is as good as it gets in this type of hotel.So a big thank you to this hotel for a great holiday and keep up the good work and as for the people who moan about this hotel....GET A LIFE !!!!

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad you appreciated our services and enjoyed your holidays. Our new philosophy "Green Cretan All Inclusive" offers the oportunity to all guests to experience the Cretan, Greek, & Mediterranean cuisine cooked with high quality local products. In September the resort was certified as the 1st hotel with "Quality label of Cretan Cuisine". Enjoy the winter and hope to see you in the summer!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would like to start off by acknowledging I have read most of the bad reviews for this hotel. We just got back yesterday after spending a glorious week at this resort and have high praise for the experience. That being said, we ensured we would have a fantastic time by researching all the options prior to booking.

You can pay for a garden view, or sea view room and this will have a massive impact on your perception of the hotel. More than half the rooms face away from the sea, and although there is some green space around all sides of the hotel, there is also a chance you will be looking out on a road or another building. We booked the sea view room and had a fantastic large balcony (more like a roof deck really) where we spent most of our sunbathing time.

We went during their 2nd to last week of operation prior to shutting down for the season. This meant only 4 swimming pools were open, 4 bars (including 2 on the beach) and 2 of the al a carte restaurants (which alternated). Also, whole Terra building had been closed. Even though half the facilities were unavailable, what was left was still more than we needed/expected and it also meant the volume of guests was half (which we did appreciate).

The quality of food was fine; it was not the best-of-the-best, however we are not fussy eaters and therefore the massive selection afforded us enjoyable options at every meal. If you are looking for a gourmet experience, you probably know better than to go to an a resort as they have to cater to easily 2 dozen different nationalities, all with different tastes and interests. For a resort of this size, calibre and rating, the food was what one would expect.

The staff were lovely. Now, this is where I have to input a caveat; if you speak to them with respect and dignity, they are the nicest people you will deal with. If you address them with any sort of hostility (intended, or not), they will be curt and you will walk away thinking they are rude. This is where the cultural differences come in; some peoples come off in an aggressive or pointed way when they have an issue (I witnessed this with Germans, Russians and Israelis during our trip) and they were not satisfied with the resulting lack of help offered by the hotel. On the other hand, we always addressed the staff with a smile and in a courteous tone, even when we had a minor repair to report, and we received a warm and friendly response. The response the staff gives is in direct correlation to the type of attitude afforded to them. Now that being said, there was one grumpy bartended on the main pool bar who was miserable and unfriendly to everyone. But out of a staff of hundreds, one bad apple didn't ruin it for us as we made friends with the bartender at the other beach bar.

We usually holiday in Italy and avoid these types of resorts as it's not the type of pampered holiday we usually choose. We would gladly come back as we had a fantastic time and felt it was most definitely money well spent.

Room Tip: Pay for the beach view as it's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank allstaryvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your possitive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris and hope to accommodate you again very soon.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 184 in Hersonissos
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $190 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing