We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a really good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Creta Maris. We had paid in advance for a room in the Maris building with a sea view. We arrived late and were told that we would get out keys when we had eaten and that golf buggies would take us to the restaurant which they did but nobody thought to tell us how to get back again! However, one of the waiters called for a buggy to take us back down (not difficult to find your way around in daylight but it felt as though we were miles away from anywhere in the dark).

We were shown to our room and unfortunately it was one of the rooms that I had read about on Tripadvisor with the closed-in balcony and only partial sea view. We asked to be moved and the second room had a lovely open sea view but only twin beds. We were asked if we would stay for the night and they would push the beds together and make them up as one the following day, which they did.

The rooms are a little tired - not 5* - but they are kept spotlessly clean. We were disappointed to find though that there was nothing in the room to tell us what time meals were, where the restaurants were OR that we needed cards to be able to get towels - I have to assume that was because we arrived late and the staff wanted to make sure we got to eat.

The sunbed situation at the main pool? Forget it - I believe this is a major, major problem at the Creta Maris and something that needs addressing as a matter of urgency. Being around the main pool didn't matter to us and there are lots of other, quieter pools around the complex but if you intend to stay with a young family or you are indeed yourselves young, please be aware of this.

The food is excellent and surely must suit even the most fussy of eaters.

Before I come to my final point, I have to say that the greatest asset that the Creta Maris has is it's workforce - they are without doubt some of the best I have ever experienced. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them and it is very hard to single out one person but I want to say a special "thank-you" to Popi at the Stekis pool bar for providing our lovely Greek salad and mixed grill luncheons washed down with a beer or an Ouzo or two!

Finally Creta Maris management team - please do not try and mix corporate events with holiday makers - you have separate facilities for this so use them. For the last 3 days of our stay a large part of the restaurant was reserved and the usually very quiet and peaceful Stekis pool was overtaken by a large group of attendees who were playing water polo as part of their "team building" day - some of these people were very drunk and most of the people around the pool decided to leave.

Would I recommend the Creta Maris? - probably. Would I go again? - probably not.

Room Tip: Probably go for a bungalow - they are very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathw399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to inform you that within this coming winter we will renovate a part of our Bungalows and re-organize our beach in order to solve the matter of sunbeds. We hope to have a second chance to accommodate you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,296 - 1,302 of 3,190 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and myself stayed for 10 days in September to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary - this was the first time abroad for a number of years. well, the management and the staff made us feel like Royalty throughout our stay.This was our first time in Greece and how welcome we were made to feel. The food was excellent such a varied choice, also As for the food, we tried all the restaurants. While all of them were good, our favourite by far was the Cochlias. Don't miss the BBQ Night there - in addition to great food there was an amazing musical performance by a small band and also the Restaurant manager and the waiting staff entertained us by dancing while we had a memorable evening . The daytime entertainment around the pool and beach was excellent - again very friendly staff., enhanced by the bar and restaurant close to the pool again how well the staff made us feel throughout the holiday. The room was spacious with shower and bath, cleaners ensured that the rooms were clean daily. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, we will definitely return again because the holiday was fantastic - A BIG THANK YOU to the management and all the fantastic staff at Creta Maris .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kevo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are really happy you had an excellent stay at Creta Maris Beach Resort. We wish you all the best for your 30th Wedding Anniversary and many more to follow!! We really hope you return very soon!

Best Regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Such a beautiful location, very friendly staff. Me and my husband were here on our honeymoon and we enjoined ourselves so much that we have decided to go back next year with our two young children. The food was Devine and such a huge choice. Our apartment with pool view was perfect and well cleaned on a daily basis. Have nothing bad to say about this resort.

Room Tip: If you want to keep away from the lively scene of the main pool choose a bungalow with pool view, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad you had a wonderful time in our resort! We really hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Creta Maris for the last week of september. Overall we had a fantastic time there and have only positive things to say about the resort, except for one minor annoyance (which I will explain later). We had booked a room in the Terra building, but upon arrival we were shown to a nice sea view bungalow instead. The room, although it could use some refurbishment, was kept very clean for our entire stay.

As for the food, we tried all the restaurants. While all of them were good, our favourite by far was the Cochlias. Don't miss the BBQ Night there - in addition to great food there was an amazing musical performance by a small band while we ate. Except for the Cochlias we preferred the food at the Cosmos buffet restaurant over the other two ala carte restaurants, but try the Pithos and Limoncello for the atmosphere at least.

I also tried a full body and face massage at the spa, and it was a wonderfully relaxing experience. I can't compare it to other spas when it comes to quality or price, though, since I've only tried one massage like this once before. I would have complimented my great masseuse in this review, but sadly I forgot to ask her name.

The beach was very good, and within a few minutes walk from our bungalow. There was a rocky belt a few meters into the water, but there were places where you could navigate between it to get out into the sea proper. There was enough sunbeds for everyone, and a lot of them came with parasols. Now here comes my only complaint with the resort (which has also been commented by several other reviewers) - the sunbeds were two different kinds, and the most comfortable ones were also the ones with parasols. Quite early in the morning (usually a little after 9, all of the "good" sunbeds had been claimed by people putting their towels on them. However, at this time less than half of them were actually in use. People just reserved their favourite sunbeds in order to return a couple of hours later. On one occation we managed to get two sunbeds around 9.30, while noting that the two sundbeds directly in front of us had been reserved. The couple who had reserved them didn't show up until 14.00... The hotel information board clearly states that sunbed reservation is not allowed, and that towels will be removed. However, this is just an empty threat, as the policy is not enforced.

To sum up - we had a wonderful time at Creta Maris and have no hesitations to recommend it. If they could find a way to deal with the sunbed issue it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PKF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your message. We are happy you had a wonderful time at Creta Maris Beach Resort. We apologize for any inconvenience concerning the reserved sunchairs. We are doing our best in order to solve this matter. We hope you return very soon!

Best Regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived very late in the evening and was told that our room had a sea view, but because we were on the 1st floor in the Terra building you could not really see the sea, the receptionist was only too willing to move us to the 3rd floor which was nice. I would have given 5 stars but felt that the room we stayed in was very dated, the bathroom was definitely in need of refurbishment. After having dinner in the Terra restaurant for 3 nights, the food was good there but not much variety so we walked to the main hotel the food here was lovely and varied, I cannot understand how anyone could complain about the food, we didnt have one bad meal. We went to the greek bbq which was lovely, and visited the italian resturant which was ok. We hired a car out for a week so it was really nice to see other parts of Crete, word of warning DO NOT hire a car from Traffic (which is just near to the hotel) I have never in all the years of hiring cars out had such a bad vehicle, I dont think it had been cleaned for years and really shouldnt have been on the road. Wish we had hired our car from the hotel. Thoughly enjoyed the disco in the evening, was nice to see that the hotel catered for adults in the evening. Stefano one of the animators was really nice and friendly. Was good that you didnt have to pay for sun beds on the beach or for a safe in your room. We went on a boat trip with Poseidon, they are based at the harbour, which I would hightly recommend. Weather was lovely every day, I was told that September is the best time to visit Crete. There are lots of nice areas to sit and have a drink. Would recommend this hotel we had a great 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tratjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad you had a great stay in our resort. We really hope you return very soon at Creta Maris Beach Resort,

Best Regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is so nice, all the crew is kind and helpfull.
we stayed 5 nights in this hotel and still heve not see all of it...
the food was great...
it is seeting rith on the beach and in a walk distenes from the center ofthe city.
i highly recemend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris Beach Resort. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just spent a week on a family holiday. The horel was great, good food and the most obliging and friendly staff i have come accross in many a year. The facilities (pool etc) are well maintained. We stayed in the older part of the hotel. The accommodation is more than adequate, not quite 5 star but fit for purpose for a holday. The staff on the ither hand are definately 5 star. We particularily liked the extensive provision of local Cretan food sourced locally. The main pool area is only a few yards from the beach. The beach has a small headland and is well suited to snorkelling. We saw many mediterranean fish but also cuttle fish and a stone fish, all in less than 10 feet of water. In many years of scuba diving i have not seen cuttlefish as close. I would definately holiday at this resort hotel again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy you had a great stay in our hotel. We really hope you return very soon!

Best Regards,

Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,421 reviews
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
20.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $157 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing