We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Anywhere”
Review of David Vegera

David Vegera
Ranked #12 of 216 Restaurants in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open after 17:30, Sunday close
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Best Anywhere”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I'm greek visiting for years from abroad where I work now, but i'll write in English as the Greeks know this place. Simple: the best greek food anywhere. Fresh; good portions; service; and authentic. Been here near 30 years and the only place in the village people queue for 30+ minutes to eat at. Why? Because Lefteri and his family have got it right. Dont expect 'main courses' of chips, salad, meat etc. You choose from a meze style menu and build a meal that has these but separately. Stunning fresh ingredients and very well priced. Walk past the touts trying to get you in to their restaurants on their way to the only restaurant where nobody stands outside to do the same. The only people you might have to wade through are those waiting: that tells you something. And even then you usually get seated in reasonable time. And you are never rushed. We can't wait to eat each time we are back. Bravo. Efxaristo.

Aleko ke koritsia from London.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chocka-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefteris P, Owner at David Vegera, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
thank you very much..!! hope to see you again soon :) :) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    95
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really nice traditional Greek Taverna”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant The taxi driver also knew it well and said it was excellent. We could not phone in advance for a reservation. When you go, you will see why!!! Don't think they have a phone.

It is a traditional Taverna with a difference. The waiter does not take your order but gives you a form with lots of menu items to tick. Very simple and our kids loved it. Very different.

Place was very popular with people queuing outside. We sat inside, which felt a bit like sitting in the kitchen come lounge - but that is all part of the experience.

Highly recommended. Go and try it!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefteris P, Owner at David Vegera, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice food but go early!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This place was recommended by some people at our hotel so we tried it, go early though so you don't have to queue! We went at like half 6 and got seated straight away but it gets busy from 7pm onwards with queues up the street. The food was really nice but not going to lie, we had better and cheaper meals elsewhere in Koutoulafari. Definitely worth a try if you like tapas though!

Helpful?
1 Thank SJD_224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefteris P, Owner at David Vegera, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's worth the wait!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This is definitely the best Meze-place in Crete! It's the place locals go to, and most of the time it's so packed you'll find yourself waiting in line to get a table. If you're looking for fine dining, this is not the place. If, however, you're looking for good meze in a wonderful atmosphere, in one of the nicest small towns in Greece, this is definitely worth your while!

Helpful?
Thank RHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefteris P, Owner at David Vegera, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the wait on the wall !”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

On advice from my Father and Mother I was a place we had to try whilst on Holiday in Hersonissos,Crete. After a walk up the hill from our apartment and a short walk down the road we found Davids. Its not a large place but it was full when we got there at 20:30.
We asked the waiter if there were any tables for 4 but she said they were full and a table would be about 20mins, Knowing the food was going to be good we said that would be fine. We took a perch on the wall opposite and waited in anticipation.
10 mins later we were usherd over to a table and given instructions on how to order and more importantly how many plates to order!!!
Its dead simple, look ate the photos in the book and indicate how many you want on the pre printed order strip.
They bring the stuff that does not require cooking almost straight away, but stuff that requires cooking is done to order, that said we did not have to wait long until all 10 plates were on our table.
Every plate of food was fantastic, if you like fish the fried sardines were heaven. Its one of the best meals I have ever had.
The staff are fantastic and remain calm even though the place is full. 10 mins after we got there the "Wall" was very busy but the waiters kept those waiting in order so all is fair. Its the only eatery where no one was trying to usher you in. Belive me just GO

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sowts71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefteris P, Owner at David Vegera, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
thank you very much :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Vegera also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to David Vegera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing