We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hersonissos
Post
Inbox
Search

“Slow service and an attitude problem”
Review of Myrtios Restaurant

Myrtios Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 271 Restaurants in Hersonissos
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: French, Greek, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Myrtios Restaurant at Hersonisos Heraklion Hersonisos, Crete Island, Greece. In the central square of Old Hersonissos, there is Myrtios, a stone built traditional tavern. The family owned restaurant welcomes visitors to join the warm environment and taste the authentic Cretan recipes. The restaurant operates for more than 22 years. On Mondays, there is a special celebration at the square of the village with plenty of food, wine, ​and Cretan dances. The cuisine has unique tastes. All dishes are prepared with Cretan ingredients and high quality olive oil.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This seemed more like more a pizza restaurant than traditional Greek but we stopped off here early evening while deciding where to eat. We were shown to a table and given menus but just ordered cocktails so the menus were whipped away. Maybe they were annoyed that we hadn't ordered food, but it must have taken at least 20 minutes for the cocktails to arrive. We were the only people there, so they weren't rushed off their feet! The cocktails were lovely, but we decided not to eat there because of the attitude.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Service
Thank ClaudelVeronceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgelO6735XX, Eigenaar at Myrtios Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review for our company, thanks for the feedback.


Dear regards Georgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On holiday in Crete and we went to the Hersonissos old town for dinner. There are a bunch of restaurants there - in the region of 6/8 places to eat. The menus are similar so it a question of people making their own choices, which one your fancy. You do have to run the gauntlet since they all try and entice you in. We had been to The Oasis, so thought we would try another one. Myrtois have a wood burning oven, and the pizza's looked great. Four of us ate, and the food was good. There were a coupe of Gyros, risotto and greek salad ! All was taste and reasonably large portions. At one stage the waiter started dancing... and 3 plates ended up on the floor... was not sure if it was the music or the raki !
All in all, was good fun, with tasty food and a bit of banter with the staff. Meal for 4 with wine and some beers was ~€80.
(as usual Raki and fruit at the end of the meal!)

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank GoldJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgelO6735XX, Eigenaar at Myrtios Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gold Jack, thanks for the great review we are so happy with this that you enjoy your stay at our place

Hope to see you soon again

Dear regards, Georgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

Went here on a Monday night when the ‘Greek night’ is happening on the square. When asking for vegetarian options (before being seated) we were told “no problem” but then the menu really didn’t offer any veggie mains (besides salad) and the waiter just said ‘that‘ s all!’. So ordered one of the veggie starters as main (which obviously was brought with the starters then...). Overall food was not more than ‘okay’, very greasy and nothing special, along with the pretty arrogant service - we will definitely not come back.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Foody2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgelO6735XX, Ιδιοκτήτης at Myrtios Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Άλλη μια κριτική για το εστιατόριο μου που δεν είναι αληθές. Θα έπρεπε να μην επιτρέπετε σε αυτούς που έχουν βάλει μόνο μια ή δυο κριτικές στην ζωή του να περνιέται. Ευχαριστώ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner last night.
Very nice village setting.
Extensive menu. Staff very good with food ok.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank FalmouthRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgelO6735XX, Owner at Myrtios Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Thank you Rob for your great review

Dear regards Georgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

The business would probably blame a power cut which occurred before we arrived there. However the food was poor and the managers were still beckoning people in when the clearly could bot cope. Now the food which was served an hour and a half after ordering, My wife chose Rigatoni with four cheeses, it was obviously three cheeses short as the sauce was so thin. We bolstered this by adding a lot of Parmesan. I chose spaghetti carbonara, the ham was very scarce, again this was improved by adding parmesan. My sisters Moussaka was served by the waiter, he said " it has collapsed, but it is deliscious" not so, it was as poor as the other dishes.
Other customers were disappointed too as we heard the complaints. This was the first and last time we visited this restaurant. In later evenings we went to the smaller Fokias next door which we could not fault for Quality, service and price.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnnyfastgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgelO6735XX, Eigenaar at Myrtios Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

This is absolute a fake review from another fake costumer, we made a rapport about this and send it to TripAdvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myrtios Restaurant also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Piskopiano, Hersonissos
 

Been to Myrtios Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing