We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Oasis Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oasis Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I chose this hotel on reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The main reason was the good write ups on the food. Well what a disappointment. Ok if you like pork!!. Pork every day, some days in 3 dishes. We had watery fish once in 2 weeks and chicken twice, which was little knuckle bits with not much meat. The food was not varied. ok if you like vegetables, lots of them from owners own garden Stewing steak once. The breakfast wasn't too bad but no toast. Bread and jam meat and tasteless cheese. If you didn't get there early all the melon was taken, which left tin peaches. This hotel is mainly occupied by Germans only 2 other English there when we went. The owners wife is German. We didn't eat as much as the Germans for breakfast and wanted to take 2 slices of bread back to our room for later. The owner told us off for this. The other English wanted to take a plate out to chop up fruit on, they were told no!
The swimming pool is cold and the first week was covered in flies. The sun beds are uncomfortable but plenty of them.
The rooms are clean but 5 Euros a day for air con. Sheets changed once a week and towels every 3 days, if you can call them towels. They were thread bare and old. On the last day we were herded out of our room dead on 12 and we had 12 hours to wait to be picked up for airport. We were told to shower at the swimming pool outside in cold water and change in the small wooden hut outside. We asked to pay extra to keep our room but this was denied.
This hotel is no good for children, nothing for them to do.
In the evening there is nothing to do, the bar doesn't even play music. The area itself has 2 supermarkets and 2 gift shops ,one bar and one taverna. The captains bar is good for a full English breakfast. 2 eggs,3 bacon,large sausage,tomato,beans,2 toast & jam, coffee and fresh orange juice all for 6.5 Euro. No entertainment anywhere. Most of the other hotels are fully inclusive Mikes supermarket is the cheapest and the man serving is very nice. Good place to buy your cigarettes . Beach sandy but rocks in sea. Sea was always too rough to go in.
Well worth a trip on the little train for 10 Euros. Don't take a trip from Sparrow Travel. We booked to go to Spinalonga at 45 Euros. Coach full of different nationalities. On island one hour only and guide arrived 20 minutes late so missed a lot about the island. Then we went for a barbeque where they took us to a heap of rocks for 2 hours. Ate on boat. Pork once again. Finally ended up at Agios Nicholias for an hour. The boat went from Elounda which looked lovely but we weren't allowed any time there.
If you go to this area for a holiday you definitely need a car , or pay for taxis, didn't see any buses. I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at back ground floor good. But hotel quiet every where. would not like a room attached to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

they say you should never go back to the same place twice! how wrong! for the second year running, we went back to this beautiful, friendly, family run hotel. We were greeted like old friends and had a super room overlooking the pool. The food was great, the family are simply wonderful, and I'm glad that nothing has changed! It was so relaxing, knowing who we were going to, and what to expect. I've read a few reviews from people who complain that the breakfast is a tad simple. Its a comprehensive continental! On offer is, bread, croissants, cake, jam, marmalade, chocolate, honey, cereals, meats, salads, yogurt, cheese, tea, coffee, hot choc!! do people honestly want more than this at breakfast?? apparently some do! for those who want a big english fry up, i have two suggestions, pop down the lane to the captains bar or stay in england! or better still, stay in Malia, where apart from the sun, its like a dodgy area of soho! english pubs, sick on the pavement, you know the kind of thing! but if you want peace, calm, good food, lovely people, up market area, then this is the hotel for you! Our special thanks go to heidi and marinos for the lovely welcome, manos and demetri for the excellent food and bar service and claudia for keeping our room so beautiful! The evening dinners are some of the best we've ever had, authentic, tasty and plenty of it. The dining room has a lovely calm and well mannered feel to it, no one rushes to heap their plates up, its all so civilised!
well done oasis beach!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here in August. I agree the evening meal was delicious and varied but breakfast not so good - bread tasted stale and cheap ham and cheese slices. Only scrambled egg that was cooked - cake was very good though! We stayed as a family and once the kid's bed was in situ there was no room to move about. It was like 3 of us sleeping together! Double bed comfy though. Bathroom ok but dark and no hot water for a wash in the morning. Also soap dish (which weighed a ton) wasn't fixed properly and fell on my foot causing a lot of pain and bruising! Pool area was nice and at least had a shallow end for kids (unlike some hotels in Crete). Overall not too bad but wouldn't go back - depends whats an issue for you.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank sue1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Most of the reviews have said all the great points of this hotel so I wont repeat them, they are all true and for the value / rating of the hotel it has to be one of the best we have stayed at in the Greek islands, and these include hotels with 4 or 5 star ratings. The areas that matter to us include; cleanliness, room standards, quality / choice of evening meal (very very good), and friendliness of staff all rate very highly at the Oasis Beach hotel.

The only very minor areas which could do with a little improvement is the breakfast. This is continental (which is fine) however it was identical everyday, with processed cheese and ham available which was tasteless with only peaches and melon available if you want fruit. I am sure with little imagination they could think of changing a few items as it became samey every morning.

The other thing is finding the hotel if you are arriving at night - was a little tricky and we had to get Dimitris out on his motorbike to find us about a mile from the hotel! They could do with getting their exact location fixed on Google maps (which I believe they are intending to do next year). . . apart from that no other issues with this hotel and would highly recommend it if you want a good, quiet, relaxing base for your trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a great position as they face the lovely gardens / Olive fields. We had a pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this family run hotel between the 20th -30th Sept where we spent a fabulous 10 days.

How can I make my review a little different from all that has been written before, because all of that is true?

The family are really friendly and help you relax into your holiday where you instantly feel at home. The food is really beautiful, a lot of the vegetables being home grown and picked from their gardens the same day as they appear on the menu. Dimitri really does takes great pleasure in telling the guests what each individual dish is and how it has been cooked. Manos who is ever so slightly in the shade of his elder brother is hilarious if you spend a few minutes listening to him....going to great lengths to show the guests he is the younger of the brothers (7 years) even shaved his beard off to prove the point. Heidi (Step-Mum) runs the hotel in true German fashion, impeccable timing, efficient and highly organised.

In the interests of honest review writing.....(but in no way did it impair our holiday)......I feel I should point out a couple of things that fellow guests might wish to know

It is on a major flight path and if you arrive at any time after 11.00am the front door is locked and you have to go into the hotel down the side via the poolside bar ( we arrived at 12.45am) so this was very disconcerting trying to juggle cases down the ramp/steps. To be fair despite the lateness of the hour our welcome was brilliant and the hotel had thoughtfully kept two cold food plates for us to enjoy....and we did with much gusto! The same rules apply during the day when the front door is locked so when you return after your day out you have to go via the pool bar and collect your key.....no problem for us because we used it as an excuse to have a drink each night before going up to the room to get changed.

The beach is practically on the doorstep out of the hotel and turn right walk down the road until you get to Mikes Supermarket (we bought all our provisions here including duty-free cigarettes for family) prices are very reasonable and if you like rose wine I recommend one called Greco something or other for two euros and 90 cents! Mike is really helpful and can tell you a lot about the area having moved from South Africa back to Crete in 1989.

The sunbeds on the beach are charged at 3 euros each with a parasol thrown in, we took the ones in front of Captains bar, the young lad was very pleasant and would offer to bring any drinks you wanted out onto the beach (a sort of waiter service) The beach is very clean. There is a land train that runs two different routes one for half a day and one for a couple of hours, this is 10 euros each but you can get on and off at Hersonnisos Port and Old Hersonnisos. If you are really brave you can walk to the port (we did) it took us approx 45 minutes and was a good excuse to stop on the way back and have lunch at a taverna called Alvi. The food was lovely and the view was magnificent (Did I mention there is a very large hill you need to climb before you get there?)

The bars are mainly on the front near the beach and we drank at Captains because they had a lot of sky sports channels showing English football but we loved the bar just along to the right of Captains called Mylos. Lovely ambience with hammocks and lazy chairs dotted around the bar.There is a bus stop just opposite the car rental business next to the hotel and these will whisk you away into Hersonnisos (10 mins) where the selection of bars and restaurants is immense and are mainly located around the very pretty harbour and port.

We loved it! The holiday was brilliant, the weather was superb 28-30 degrees every day, the hotel was fabulous and the family....Well what more can I say that hasn't already been said? they are the reason beyond a shadow of a doubt that we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeybee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband,Myself and our friends stayed at Oasis Beach Hotel from 5th Sept until 19th Sept, and loved every minute of our holiday!!.
This Hotel is run by a very Lovely, Welcoming & Friendly Family, who made our stay even more perfect!!. The rooms are lovely, clean, spacious, and bright. They all have Balconys that are lovely to just sit out on, and look out at the lovely view, We had a Sea view and it was divine!. Communal areas are just beautiful!!!Heidi spent some time with me telling me what flowers were what,and when they were planted, She also gave us some interesting facts when the Hotel was built,etc...which made it more interesting and lovely to stay in!.
The Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were always so enjoyable!!, We mainly ate out at lunch time as we were at the beautiful beach during the day and afternoon, but had the odd occasion when we sat by the pool and had lunch. You had so much to choose from at breakfast and dinner time (and lunch too), Heidi was always so helpful at breakfast time and always had a smile in the morning,aswell as her lovely husband!,You had fruit,gorgeous greek yoghurt,breads,cereals,meats,jams,honey,crossiants,etc..at breakfast time,and always so many options of salads,meats,fish,pasta,veg,breads,rice,and other dishes at dinner time, aswell as yummy puddings! Manos and Dimitris were always so helpful and inviting at dinner time-always with a smile too!.
It was both my husbands birthday and mine when we were there, and Heidi was so lovely as she had some of their fresh, wild flowers cut,and put into a vase for us!So caring and thoughtful!.
The whole family work so hard,aswell as their other staff!Their cleaner, Claudia, is also very friendly and helpful, she always had our room cleaned so nicely!and very pleasant too. They are all so lovely and such wonderful people to be around.
The beautiful beach(Anissaras) is just a walk away-also full of lovely and helpful people, with a lovely little shop just as you approach the beach (Mikes Beach),the gentleman in there is also very helpful.There are some wonderful bars along the beach too-We would definitely recommend Captain!!The barmen,food and drink in there is soo lovely!!, Also Havanna bar too!.
You just feel so at peace and feel so relaxed and chilled out!.The weather is beautiful, and so is the food and drink when you go out to Hersonissos-which has so many lovely and welcoming bars!The cocktails are amazing!!!.
We are definitely going back to Oasis Beach Hotel in the future and will be visiting everyone who made out holiday so perfect again!!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank destiny1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely family run hotel, which really suited our first holiday with our nearly two year old. Very helpful with highchairs and the travel cot was very clean and safe. The food was great and we would love to go back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Anissaras
1,103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 173 in Hersonissos
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Serita Beach Hotel
Serita Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Anissaras
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Hotel

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range: $75 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oasis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing