We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax, standard of room puts some 4/5 Star Greek hotels to shame!”
Review of Oasis Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oasis Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Most of the reviews have said all the great points of this hotel so I wont repeat them, they are all true and for the value / rating of the hotel it has to be one of the best we have stayed at in the Greek islands, and these include hotels with 4 or 5 star ratings. The areas that matter to us include; cleanliness, room standards, quality / choice of evening meal (very very good), and friendliness of staff all rate very highly at the Oasis Beach hotel.

The only very minor areas which could do with a little improvement is the breakfast. This is continental (which is fine) however it was identical everyday, with processed cheese and ham available which was tasteless with only peaches and melon available if you want fruit. I am sure with little imagination they could think of changing a few items as it became samey every morning.

The other thing is finding the hotel if you are arriving at night - was a little tricky and we had to get Dimitris out on his motorbike to find us about a mile from the hotel! They could do with getting their exact location fixed on Google maps (which I believe they are intending to do next year). . . apart from that no other issues with this hotel and would highly recommend it if you want a good, quiet, relaxing base for your trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a great position as they face the lovely gardens / Olive fields. We had a pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this family run hotel between the 20th -30th Sept where we spent a fabulous 10 days.

How can I make my review a little different from all that has been written before, because all of that is true?

The family are really friendly and help you relax into your holiday where you instantly feel at home. The food is really beautiful, a lot of the vegetables being home grown and picked from their gardens the same day as they appear on the menu. Dimitri really does takes great pleasure in telling the guests what each individual dish is and how it has been cooked. Manos who is ever so slightly in the shade of his elder brother is hilarious if you spend a few minutes listening to him....going to great lengths to show the guests he is the younger of the brothers (7 years) even shaved his beard off to prove the point. Heidi (Step-Mum) runs the hotel in true German fashion, impeccable timing, efficient and highly organised.

In the interests of honest review writing.....(but in no way did it impair our holiday)......I feel I should point out a couple of things that fellow guests might wish to know

It is on a major flight path and if you arrive at any time after 11.00am the front door is locked and you have to go into the hotel down the side via the poolside bar ( we arrived at 12.45am) so this was very disconcerting trying to juggle cases down the ramp/steps. To be fair despite the lateness of the hour our welcome was brilliant and the hotel had thoughtfully kept two cold food plates for us to enjoy....and we did with much gusto! The same rules apply during the day when the front door is locked so when you return after your day out you have to go via the pool bar and collect your key.....no problem for us because we used it as an excuse to have a drink each night before going up to the room to get changed.

The beach is practically on the doorstep out of the hotel and turn right walk down the road until you get to Mikes Supermarket (we bought all our provisions here including duty-free cigarettes for family) prices are very reasonable and if you like rose wine I recommend one called Greco something or other for two euros and 90 cents! Mike is really helpful and can tell you a lot about the area having moved from South Africa back to Crete in 1989.

The sunbeds on the beach are charged at 3 euros each with a parasol thrown in, we took the ones in front of Captains bar, the young lad was very pleasant and would offer to bring any drinks you wanted out onto the beach (a sort of waiter service) The beach is very clean. There is a land train that runs two different routes one for half a day and one for a couple of hours, this is 10 euros each but you can get on and off at Hersonnisos Port and Old Hersonnisos. If you are really brave you can walk to the port (we did) it took us approx 45 minutes and was a good excuse to stop on the way back and have lunch at a taverna called Alvi. The food was lovely and the view was magnificent (Did I mention there is a very large hill you need to climb before you get there?)

The bars are mainly on the front near the beach and we drank at Captains because they had a lot of sky sports channels showing English football but we loved the bar just along to the right of Captains called Mylos. Lovely ambience with hammocks and lazy chairs dotted around the bar.There is a bus stop just opposite the car rental business next to the hotel and these will whisk you away into Hersonnisos (10 mins) where the selection of bars and restaurants is immense and are mainly located around the very pretty harbour and port.

We loved it! The holiday was brilliant, the weather was superb 28-30 degrees every day, the hotel was fabulous and the family....Well what more can I say that hasn't already been said? they are the reason beyond a shadow of a doubt that we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeybee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband,Myself and our friends stayed at Oasis Beach Hotel from 5th Sept until 19th Sept, and loved every minute of our holiday!!.
This Hotel is run by a very Lovely, Welcoming & Friendly Family, who made our stay even more perfect!!. The rooms are lovely, clean, spacious, and bright. They all have Balconys that are lovely to just sit out on, and look out at the lovely view, We had a Sea view and it was divine!. Communal areas are just beautiful!!!Heidi spent some time with me telling me what flowers were what,and when they were planted, She also gave us some interesting facts when the Hotel was built,etc...which made it more interesting and lovely to stay in!.
The Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were always so enjoyable!!, We mainly ate out at lunch time as we were at the beautiful beach during the day and afternoon, but had the odd occasion when we sat by the pool and had lunch. You had so much to choose from at breakfast and dinner time (and lunch too), Heidi was always so helpful at breakfast time and always had a smile in the morning,aswell as her lovely husband!,You had fruit,gorgeous greek yoghurt,breads,cereals,meats,jams,honey,crossiants,etc..at breakfast time,and always so many options of salads,meats,fish,pasta,veg,breads,rice,and other dishes at dinner time, aswell as yummy puddings! Manos and Dimitris were always so helpful and inviting at dinner time-always with a smile too!.
It was both my husbands birthday and mine when we were there, and Heidi was so lovely as she had some of their fresh, wild flowers cut,and put into a vase for us!So caring and thoughtful!.
The whole family work so hard,aswell as their other staff!Their cleaner, Claudia, is also very friendly and helpful, she always had our room cleaned so nicely!and very pleasant too. They are all so lovely and such wonderful people to be around.
The beautiful beach(Anissaras) is just a walk away-also full of lovely and helpful people, with a lovely little shop just as you approach the beach (Mikes Beach),the gentleman in there is also very helpful.There are some wonderful bars along the beach too-We would definitely recommend Captain!!The barmen,food and drink in there is soo lovely!!, Also Havanna bar too!.
You just feel so at peace and feel so relaxed and chilled out!.The weather is beautiful, and so is the food and drink when you go out to Hersonissos-which has so many lovely and welcoming bars!The cocktails are amazing!!!.
We are definitely going back to Oasis Beach Hotel in the future and will be visiting everyone who made out holiday so perfect again!!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank destiny1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely family run hotel, which really suited our first holiday with our nearly two year old. Very helpful with highchairs and the travel cot was very clean and safe. The food was great and we would love to go back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a relaxing week at the Oasis Beach Hotel. The rooms are maintained to a high standard and well equipped, beds are comfortable and the bathroom was perfectly useable. Communal areas, especially the wonderful gardens, are kept well, there are always plenty of sun loungers, the pool is clean and the bar area gives plenty of space for all outside. There are two things however that set this hotel into a different league to other 3* hotels and they are the food and the staff. Breakfast gives you masses of choice each day if you can manage not to fill yourself up on piles of Greek yogurt, with fresh breads and cake along with meats, cheese and eggs for those with a more savoury tooth. There is a good menu at the pool bar if you wish to buy lunch, which offers masses of choice at very reasonable prices plus good coffee and lovely freshly squeezed juice. Dinner is excellent. Masses of fresh salads which taste amazing, soups, hot mains usually offering at least 3 choices plus vegetables and desserts of fresh fruits, ice creams and local pastries.
The family made us feel welcome from the minute we stepped off the bus, attended to our every need with a smile and provided great entertainment in the bar in the evenings! All in all the Oasis Beach offered one of the best value holidays we have ever had and I'm sure we will go back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legomoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you are looking for something relaxed, calm and an escape from the hustle and bustle of the rest of Crete then you have found your oasis! We booked last minute as we were unable to get the hotel we want and my god, we're glad we did. I twas possibly the most perfect week ever, we were hugely lucky! Heidi and Marinos are possibly the best hotel owners EVER and their sons Manos and Demitrios were equally wonderful... nothing is too much of a challenge! They welcomed us with open arms, showed us to a really wonderful room with a great view of the gardens and then proceeded to explaint the set up of the hotel... the beach is at most a 5 minute walk and there is a multitude of bars to take your fancy. Although Anissaras is mainly an all inclusive area, there are some great selections. At the hotel, the food never ceased to amaze me. I have a high standard when it comes to food, but I was really really wowed by the quality, time and care that was put into every meal... and the best bit, everything is grown on site or bought locally from butchers/bakers etc. The rooms are lovely, very simple but very very clean and modern. The bathroom was awesome and seems to have been re-done very recently. And there is no bad view, with every room overlooking the gardens that are clearly a cheerish possesion of the hotel. I really can't complain about anything. It was perfect. It's not a hugely busy place, but the bus takes all of 5 minutes to Hersonisos where my boyfriend and I spent the afternoon before eating at a harbour fish restauraunt which was equally brilliant! I really would reccomend this hotel to anyone. The family are just the best thing about it, you won't find any better hosts, anywhere ever, I'd put money on it.

Room Tip: They are all FAB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zoe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

As other said (great job Teresa C), it's great value for the money. I guess German lady owner put some order there :) But, on the other hand, some standard Greek services that you'll get even in low budget places were missing.

No real Greek yogurt for breakfast, for the first time during my visit to Greece. I guess they count on people not tasting real one. I can not forgive them that one. And margarine instead of butter :( Breakfasts really did not match up to dinners at all.

Sheets and towels. It's summer, they should change them more often (although they do warn you in advance :). And hot water was missing quite often.

Everything else, better than expected.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria9444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
#46 of 172 in Hersonissos
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
1,082 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#15 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 172 in Hersonissos
761 reviews
1.0 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Hotel

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range: $58 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Oasis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing