We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden treasure.. family run perfect get away - fantastic !”
Review of Oasis Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasis Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden treasure.. family run perfect get away - fantastic !”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My brother and I booked to go away for a week in Crete in August and having never been do this part of Crete before I was a little apprehensive as to what to expect.
My brother and I went half board so we had breakfast and evening meal included in the price.

We pulled up to the hotel though quite late in the evening so couldn't really see much of the area.
We had the most welcoming arrival from the two brothers Manos and Dimitris who asked if we were hungry and produced a fantastic plate of Greek delicacies which was outstanding !

We then went to our room which was had very modern decor and air conditioning at a set price per day although we didn't feel we needed this as the room was cool enough.
The beds were very comfy to sleep on and the best bed I have ever slept on in any hotel !
The bathroom was also very modern with a fantastic jet shower system which shoots water at you from the sides as well as through the shower head giving you a massage experience. The bathroom has a hairdryer built in which came in very handy.
The room also has a fridge with a separate freezer compartment for the ice. Plenty of storage for clothes also which was great.

Our room had a fabulous sea view overlooking the gardens which were beautifully kept with lots of greenery and gorgeous flowers.

When we woke in the morning we went down to the dining area for breakfast where we had a lovely greeting from Mum Heidi and Dad Marinos. The hotel is family run and they cannot do enough for you to make you feel at home. Heidi explained all about how breakfast works and the times etc, the breakfast was continental and there was always plenty of choice and fresh fruit and bread each day.

Heidi is very fluent in many languages and was always smiling and friendly and helpful at all times. The family pride themselves on their business and it shows because the hotel is run perfectly.
Heidi and Marinos would run the hotel by day and Manos and Dimitrius would run the hotel in the evening.. they are a fantastic team !

The hotel consists of 40 rooms so it is small but perfect for couples, single people or families with children. I personally don't like big hotels with lots of noise and this hotel is quiet if its a relaxing holiday you are after. The pool was very clean and a good size, and there are plenty of sun loungers to go around.

The beach was literally minutes walk from the hotel so if you fancy a change from lounging by the pool then you can stay by the beach all day. Sun loungers on the beach are 6 Euros to rent for the day.

The hotel is situated in a fab location with just a taxi ride into Hersonissos which cost around 15 Euros. Here you will find your bars, clubs restaurants and shops, there is something here for everyone !

Having our first evening meal at the hotel was an absolute pleasure, the choice of food was absolutely fantastic ! Manos and Dimitrius would explain what each dish was every night so we knew what they were serving. The dishes were traditionally Greek and of the highest quality. The cuts of meat were the outstanding and all the vegetables and salad dishes were very fresh and we later learned that they are organically grown on site and picked for eating.

After lunch one day Heidi and Marinos brought my brother and I a sample of the Figs that they grow in their garden. I have never tasted anything so good in all my life, they were absolutely out of this world. You can tell that they have a true sense of pride for their Greek culture and for the heavenly food that they produce.

Heidi, Marinos, Demitrius and Manos are always on hand to offer any advice about the area or places of interest to see. They recommended some fab places for us to go and were extremely helpful.

My brother and I are between 28 and 33 and we found plenty of things to do in the area.. I would highly recommend the Star Beach, New York and Paradiso. Some of the pubs you have to be careful as they offer deals of buy one get one free but if you sit outside you cannot see the alcohol they put in the drinks so I would recommend sitting inside as they put the correct amount in your drinks.

On our last day we had to check out at 12pm however we were allowed to keep our cases in storage and then there were rooms in the hotel downstairs where we could wash and change before leaving for our flight.
Heidi and Marinos even waved us off when we left which I though was very touching.

Overall our holiday experience was fantastic and I cannot say a bad word about this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone, a beautiful family run hotel which prides itself in its cleanliness, customer service, fresh food, helpfulness and it's Greek culture.

A beautiful hidden paradise and I would recommend to everyone !

Thank you so much Heidi, Marinos, Dimitris and Manos for making our stay perfect !

Hope to return very soon,
Julia and Simon, Wales xXx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    40
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have just spent two very relaxing weeks in crete with my partner.We stayed at the oasis beach hotel which is family run.Although it's a little lost in it's area it's not difficult to walk to the beach or be able to hire a car from the many rental places.We did not hire a car but took advantage of the local buses, it was a 20 minute walk to the nearest stop but very handy and inexpensive.We used them quite a bit to get to aghios nikolaus, malia, heraklion,hersonissos -the more tourist places.The hotel was simple and the family very helpful to cater for any needs.The food was good, rooms clean.Would definately go back again.Weather a little unpredictable - but only 4 bad days out of the 14 we had there.we love greece and this holiday did not let us down.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bevvy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

If travelling to Crete this hotel is an absolute must to stay in. It is a family run hotel/business and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. We returned last evening from a fantastic week and already look forward to a repeat trip sometime in the future. Heidi, Marinos, Dimitrios & Manos all made us feel very welcome and within minutes we felt completely at home and at ease. We had a sea view room which was immaculate and had everything in it you needed. The food is excellent and a very good choice each evening for a small hotel. Although it is in a quiet location, it is only minutes from the beach and within walking distance to the local bus stop. We decided not to hire a car and we used the buses. We have to say the bus system is brilliant and basically runs to time and doesn't cost a fortune. A bus journey to the next town was just a mere 1.60 euros each. We encountered a little rain for a couple of days, but this was the first they had had since May!, so generally speaking the weather is great. Some days the temperature got to 28 degrees which is fantastic given it is October. Heidi and family make you so very welcome that they really make your holiday. Our only regret is that we were only there for a week and we wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same and of an immaculate standard, but obviously a sea room is best if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stonehaven-pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Travelling as a family of 5, we spent 1 week at the Oasis Beach hotel and we all loved it. We were very sad to leave having prebooked to spend our second week on Crete in a different location further west. During the second week we all commented on how much we missed the Oasis Beach and wished we'd spent both weeks of our holiday there.
The hotel is very friendly and relaxed. The owners do all that they can to ensure that you have everything you need and will readily advise you on the surrounding area and day trips. My husband likes to run in the morning and Marinos, the owner, drove him around a running route that he recommended!
Food was superb. Pool was quiet and very relaxing - kids spent hours in it, often having the whole pool to themselves. Rooms are modern, extremely comfortable and well equiped. Great location - just a few mins walk from the beach.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bests77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Being the first Italian-Canadian person to stay at this hotel, I am writing to say how pleased I am to have stayed 3 weeks at this excellent hotel. My fiance and I do not like the big box hotels and enjoy the small, more quaint family-run establishments such as the Oasis...and being native Greek he is even more difficult to please. We just got back from the Oasis and I already miss Heidi, Marinos, Manos and Dimitris !!!
They run a hotel the way a hotel should be run...they offer personal service and are ready to help and meet all of our needs and it is all sincere and heartfelt. The hotel is not easy to find, nestled in olive groves and when my boyfriend called for directions Dimitris jokingly said.."we are behind the giants..." t\he hote is surrounded by monster hotels but once you stay here you will realize what it means to be surrounded by staff that own the hotel and were raised in the area and live and breathe their culture. They have a sense of pride to be Cretans and readily display their Cretan hospitality !! You will get firsthand information on Crete, the town, the sites and the culture. Every day we would ask Heidi and Marinos about local sites and every day we were off on a new adventure discoveringa secluded beaches, a tranquil Monastery or shopping expedition...

Marinos and Dimitris are graduates of a fine Hotel Management School in Germany thus are also fully-trained chefs...They can bounce around from one language to the next with ease and their German tops Heidi's (German born but living in Greece for the last 30 years). Marinos (the father) had the hotel designed and built and you can feel his enormous sense of pride when you explore the actual hotel and wander the lovely breathtaking gardens. He has a vast organic vegetable garden which he cultivates and the chef uses for all the meals at the hotel...so everything is seasonally fresh and bio. Marinos also grows watermelon and I was fortunate enough to enjoy the first pickings and I can honestly say it was the tastiest, juciest watermelon I have ever had (and I have been to Italy many times) His fruit orchard is filled with fig, lemon, lime and apricot trees (am sure I am forgetting more ...)

As a trained chef myself, I cannot stop raving about the food...it is authentic, fresh and traditionally Greek. Manos and Dimitis will gladly explain the evening's fare and your taste buds will bounce.

About the accommodations...well the rooms have been entirely renovated so unlike the other "traditional" hotels, you have luxurious rooms in a traditionl setting. We kept Oasis hotel as our base hotel and ventured on several day trips, staying in "traditional hotels" outside Oasis and I can honestly say the beds and mattresses could not compare to the ones at Oasis. I kept complaining of a sore, stiff back when I had not slept on a bed at the Oasis. The rooms are modern, the bathrooms are luxurious with massage showers and modern sinks and faucets...something truly rare in "traditional quaint establishments" you really do get the best of both worlds at the Oasis.

We plan on returning to this magical place...and while we were there I overheard a couple say the hotel is wrongly-named....it should be called ..."the little hidden paradise..." They are soooo right !!!

Yasoo Heidi, Marinos, Dimitris and Manos we miss you!

Enza and Kostas

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnzaKostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The hotel is in quiet location. Minutes from the beach. The family that own this hotel will make your holiday! Heidi is fantastic and nothing is too much for her. We went at the end of June and had the pool to ourselves on most days.No need to put towels out here as there are no Germans. There is however a cosmopolitan mix. The food at the hotel is excellent. The dining room is small and friendly. The hotel is spotless. The rooms are excellent with a lovely balcony. The only negative regarding the accomodation is the bathrooms. They are modern but the shower cubilces are tiny. This hotel is ideal for a weeks relaxing break. It is surrounded by all inclusive hotels therefore all the other bars are very quiet. I am usually ready to come home after seven days but would have happilty stayed therefor longer. I would recomend car hire as the island has lots of places to visit. Manos the son of the owners will show you places to visit. Many thanks to Manos (still haven't got my mercedes) Heidi and Marinos . 7 STAR SERVICE!!!! 4 STAR HOTEL.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colinheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Was our first time to Crete and even thought the weather was indifferent on a daily basis (1st week in May) this didn't stop us having a lovely time and felt we had made a good choice for our stay.
This Hotel isn't and doesn't pretend to be a lively fun filled place to stay but more an old fashioned friendly base to stay that has very clean an modern rooms to stay in (shower no bath in bathroom) and if you stay on a half board basis like we did the food was good enough for most peoples tastes.

There was a couple of downsides to our stay in the Hotel but mostly to do with it being only the second week of the new season and certain things not yet up an running as you'd expect, example being the pool not properly cleaned although some people chanced a small dip but we never and by the end of the week the pool cleaner was busy at work trying to sort it but i would have thought knowing around 15 people would be staying at the time we did it could have been sort prior to our arrival but having said that the only other fault was the shower not being hot on several nights but that was (as we were told) down to the weather being cloudy on a few days so the solar powered roof panels couldn't cope so when this was brought to light the good old electricity was switched on and the water was red hot.

The family who own and run the Hotel are lovely people and very happy you are there, they will happily chat to you and try and make you laugh and also explain all the different dishes that gets served up at the evening meal, breakfast is a little hoch poch as you gather you cereal, bread, jams,tea/coffee etc from off the bar, those people expecting a good old English breakfast be warned there isn't one but after a day or so of what is on offer you get used to it.

The family are there or there abouts for most of the day but things seem to revolve around the mum Heidi, you can ask her anything about the area or just mention you need a taxi into near by Heronissos Town or you have to ring the transfers office to confirm your pick up and she's on it like a flash and doesn't ask for payment to use the phone like you would in a big impersonnal Hotel.

The beach is about a 10min walk away and quite nice, bit shingly but at the time we were there almost empty and from the look of it would probly get fairly busy but there was plenty of sun loungers and parasols so doubt you'd not get one even in the hight of the season.

There's a few super markets (mini ones) around the place and a couple of bars, the best being Captain Bar which is quite modern but again the people friendly and food served there is good value as 1 club sandwich with fries easily does 2 people at lunch.
Found things a bit expensive as the Greek economy worse than ours but its only like eating and drinking out at home so be prepared if you haven't booked meals at the Hotel.

So all in all to sum up our stay in Anissaras although were not the type to go back to the same places we've been to before if we did go to this part of Crete we wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Oasis Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sugalips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.7 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#6 of 13 in Analipsi
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Anissaras
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
#45 of 171 in Hersonissos
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,880 reviews
42.2 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Hotel

Property: Oasis Beach Hotel
Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oasis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing