We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and tidy.”
Review of Cretan Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cretan Garden
Ranked #14 of 28 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Neat and tidy.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Back from 10 days at the Cretan Gardens. The hotel itself was great for the most. The room was very clean and tidy, the bedroom section was upstairs. There were two balconies but unfortunatley these were in the shade for most of the day. The pool area was a good size and there were always plenty of sunbeds at all times of the day. The food was good and plentiful but the choice was somewhat limited. The desserts was always melon plus a piece of cake. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Ask and they provided the answer. If you want a restful and quiet hotel then this is ideal. The only down side being for people with mobility problems. There is nowhere to really walk to in the evenings. To walk into Hersonissos takes about 50 minutes and is up and down hill all the way. There is a good level walk to Analipsi along the sea front which also takes about 50 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mox37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    19
    10
    20
See reviews for
34
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cymru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sad it was only for one week, but this is an absolute gem of a place to stay. We had a wonderful sea view from our balcony, we had great food with plenty of choice at every meal (we were all inclusive), and wonderful people running this family hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our rooms were kept spotlessly clean, and the location--if you want peace and quiet, which we do--is perfect: a short walk to the beach (turn right once you get there, over the rocky outcrop, for great snorkelling); walk up the road and turn right for a short walk for brilliant views across the bay past Hersonnisos and Malia towards Sissi; catch a bus for a short ride to Hersonnisos (1.60) or a bit longer to Heraklion (3.70); hire a car in the village for a day or two; pick up some postcards or lovely local produce or gifts in one of the village supermarkets; catch the tourist train for a 2-hour round trip (10.00); or just stick around at the hotel and relax with some lovely people--guests, owners and staff. A really welcoming place where you will be made to feel at home. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

very clean and tidy gardens are well kept, all the other reviews say it all.although very quiet not much to do. even down by the beach only one very small cafe/taverna, you could walkover to hersonissos take about 20mins.just go up the hill to the small crossroad next to the big blue ,straight across keep going take first left keep going you come across lidl supermarket. turn left about 900yds HERSONISOS. while in hersonisos try SOKAKI traditional greek restaurant very good food and not bad prices,located on evagelistrias st next to church down a side street to the left off the main rd

Room Tip: upgrade to superior rooms larger and newer plus you get a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 197DJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from an 11 night stay at this wonderful hotel.

We arrived at about 11pm and were greeted by Connie who showed us to our room and were then provided with a nice plate of food.

The room was spacious, clean, modern and is situated in their new 'block'. The bathroom has a double shower, nice large mirror over a good sized sink, wall mounted hairdryer and WC. The rooms are cleaned every day except Sunday with clean towels every second day. The room had a double and single bed with dressing table, bedside tables and a sink, fridge cupboards and a large double wardrobe and wall mounted TV. Air conditioning is available at an extra charge (7 euros/day if I remember correctly) although we didn't find it necessary to use it.

Set in its own very well kept grounds there are views northwards to the sea and to the south the awesome backdrop of the mountains. There is a good sized new pool area adjacent to the bar which also has a small plunge pool for youngsters.

This is a family run hotel with Connie, H, Mary ('Mom'), Tony, Evie and the crew all making you feel very welcome and offering a friendly first class service - Tony's mojito's are the stuff legends are made of and Evie's food is awesome. We really felt like part of the family.

All in all this is an excellent choice if you want a smaller more intimate, chilled and personal environment.

The narrow beach is about 600m north of the hotel (all downhill) and from our brief look does not appear to have too many facilities like taverna's etc. Hersonissos is a short drive or taxi ride away where you can find pretty much everything you may need - it is however a typically busy resort town.

We used Cretan Gardens as a base from which to visit much of the island .... and there is plenty to see and explore, from mountain ranges and villages to small villages on the coast with great beaches and traditional taverna's, historic sites such as Knossos to the old venetian town of Chania.

Now don't think about it ... book a stay at the Cretan Gardens!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block are the larger more modern rooms with balconies/garden areas facing generally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 days at this lovely hotel.From the moment we arrived, we were met by the lovely Connie.who welcomed us both.We felt instantly, at home.( you do become family).We had paid for one of the superior rooms.( which we were very impressed by)we had a choice of 2 balconys, both having lovely views, depending on what time of day it was.to use.as it was extremely warm during our stay ( not complaining though!)
The staff all work extremely hard, working long hours.They just want you to have a lovely holiday. nothing being to much trouble!.I have to give a big mention to a few of the staff..the lovely Evie.She was a like a rocket.not sure where she got the energy from, especially in the heat.never stopped. always had a smile on her face,always cared..Miss you Evie..
Tony in the Bar..his positive energy, laughter.always keeping people amused..The word..
"PIZZA" will never be the same again..( Go there and find out, what we mean)..Miss you Tony.
The gardens are beautiful, the gardener takes alot of pride in keeping them that way.you also see him helping in the restaurant..
The hotel is in a quiet area, but it was what we wanted, what we came for. The area is beautiful.Herssonisos is close by if you are looking for a busier place and more nightlife.
We hired a car for 4 days.worthwhile, to getting around and seeing parts of this beautiful island.
The food was alway freshly cooked..there could have been alittle more variety, but what we ate was always excellent..can not fault it !
We can not wait, to go back next year..untill then Cretan Garden..our now second home..

Room Tip: Superior rooms were well worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freespiritmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucarest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

me and my wife were for the first time in Crete and we are very contents about our decision. We spent 7 nights at Cretan Garden Hotel in Anissaras , half board , a very nice place, with a large pool, an wonderful garden and a friendly family which run this hotel. the beach is about 5 min. walking, but in Crete you must see as many beaches as you can see. So you must rent a car (i strongly recomend Travelcar where you'll find Andreas a very kind guy who is a real touristic guide). We rented a Fiat Panda (30 euros/day plus full insuarence 5 euros/day) and we made 1000 km. You must see Ierapetra (if you have time you can visit chrissi island), Vai (a palm tree beach), Matala (not so spectacular as described), Balos lagoon, Elafonissi Beach, Samara National Park (a kind of Cheile Turzii in Romania), (we did't visit the last 3 places mentioned) Lasihti Plato and Diktiana-Dikteon Andron grave and so many other places you can find in tour guides. You must know that the roads are very good and as you leave the coast, you are in mountain zone. We can say we had an wonderful holiday and if you choose Crete, we recomand you Cretan Garden Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with pool (sea) view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tatayeoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful holiday that me and my boyfriend spent at Cretan Garden Hotel! It was an excellent choice from every point of view. The hotel is situated in Anissaras, a small village close to Herssonisos which is bigger, with more shops and night life. But if you are looking for a quiet and lovely place to spend your holiday, i recommend this wonderful hotel. We had a double-bed room with a beautiful terrace into the garden and very quiet ( the rooms have two views: to the garden and to the pool and sea but these are more expensive and you have the posibility to upgrade your room when you get there). The room was clean and the house cleaners came everyday except from Sunday. The staff was very nice, always smiling and greeting. The food was very good and tasty, not much to choose from, but this didn't matter as long as we ate that good. We had booked a half-pension holiday but if you were feelling hungry in the middle of the day, you could have eaten lunch at the hotel for only 7 euros (including a drink). The pool is very nice and quiet, never crowded, everytime we went to it we found sunbeds to stay and it was very clean. The beach was also nice, you have to walk for about 5 minutes to get to it. Unfortunatelly, into the sea there where many rocks because Crete is an island, but this didin't stop us from swimming into the clean and lovely sea (and very salted). And I've almost forgot to say a few words about the hotel's garden which was so beautiful. I love nature and seeing a lot of flowers and palm trees was so nice! And of course, the oleander is a very beautiful tree...There is not much to do around the hotel, there are 2 supermarkets near of it where you can buy what you need including souvenirs at a good price (not different from what you find in Herssonisos). The taxi to and from Herssonisos was 7 euros, but you can walk till there for about 20 minutes. And we did this for a few times. You have also the opportunity to rent a car from everywhere, and this is what we did ( a Chevrolet Matiz for 40 euros/ day) and was very nice. We went to Agios Nikolaos, a place i recommend because it's wonderful) and after that to Voulisma Beach, a beach with just sand and also in the water there were no rocks. It was amazing! We also took the bus from next to the hotel (the bus station is in front of Chrissi Amoudia hotel) and went to Iraklio ( 7,40 euro/2 persons). Iraklio is the capital city of Crete where you can find nice places to see, a lot of shops and an unique cafe called Outopia, which serves foundues with different types of chocolate (you can see in the pictures) and the foundue for two persons was 15 euros (it was delicious!). All I can say is that we had a wonderful stay at Cretan Garden Hotel and a beautiful holiday and Crete and I'm sure I will come back to this hotel in a few years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ştefania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anna Maria Village
Anna Maria Village
#49 of 171 in Hersonissos
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annabelle Beach Resort
Annabelle Beach Resort
#28 of 171 in Hersonissos
929 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Garden

Property: Cretan Garden
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 5433, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cretan Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cretan Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Garden Hotel Chersonisos
Cretan Garden Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing